We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay in Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #18 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay in Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay in the Urban Hotel. The location is excellent - 5 minutes from Sol, and just a short walk to the Retiro. The hotel is very nice and the reception staff couldn't have been nicer. I had booked one of the Duplex rooms with a small living room upstairs from the main bedroom. There were two disadvantages of this room: 1) small windows which didn't let in a huge amount of light and 2) reduced space for working at a desk. There were skylights which helped, but there wasn't much of a view out of them. I spoke to reception and a very pleasant man took me round every type of room in the hotel. I decided to stick with my room but if I return I'd be more likely to go for a Junior Suite or a standard room where there seems to be more of a desk for working.

The room itself was clean, comfortable and nicely designed. I never ate in the hotel so can't comment, but there are many restaurants and cafeterías around for breakfast or dinner. In addition to many tapas restaurants I also ate at the Italian restaurant just a few doors along - "DiBocca" I think - and it was excellent.

The only negative point of my visit - and what stops me from giving the hotel a 5* rating - was the speed of the internet. The hotel offers free internet but it seems that is just for basic browsing. I opted to pay 25€ for three days' access to "high speed internet", VPN, fast downloads etc. However, the speed was exceptionally slow: between 1-1.5mbps down and only around 0.1 up. If I'm in a hotel for business purposes I need fast internet for both downloads and uploads related to my job. This internet connection made my day-to-day working very difficult and I grudged paying 25€. I mentioned this on check-out and I was told to leave a review on TripAdvisor mentioning this.

Other than the internet, I was overall very pleased with the hotel. I will be back in Madrid on business a number of times over the next year and would happily stay at the Urban again if they can improve their internet speed.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the duplex rooms if you suffer from vertigo or if you want a bright room with a good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingScot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Urban

All kind of comments help us a lot to progress.

Regarding your comment on internet connection. I would really like to show you our improvements so if you travel back to Madrid and you choose Urban again
I kindly ask to contact me in order to be able to assist you personally.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    497
    134
    45
    16
See reviews for
200
961
91
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

When staying in Madrid, this is our only choice!
We have stayed at the Urban several times and we wouldn't ever consider another hotel. The situation is perfect...close to the Museums( walking distance) and the service is excellent. It is truly a little gem. The architecture quite remarkable as is the collection of Asian and African artifacts/antiques that make the hotel a museum in itself!

Room Tip: The rooms are small so if you want good space, you need a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golf-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Patricia at the front desk was like the best concierge, local guide, local friend and fairy godmother rolled into one. She took excellent care of us throughout our stay. The entire staff at The Hotel Urban was exceptional. The daily breakfast buffet was delicious, the rooms are cozy & clean --we felt immediately at home and well cared for the moment we arrived. Also the Hotel "Glass Bar" was always open and available whether for coffee, snax or champagne and the bartender is a real mixologist. We always enjoyed coming back to the hotel after long days and hrs of wandering the city. Madrid was rainy and dreary in March and yet we had a wonderful 5 days largely due to how much we loved The Hotel Urban and the staff. I highly recommend it and I will definitely look to stay in a Derby Hotel property again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corin304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Chic,cool haven from the heat of Madrid.

Found Madrid great value however not prepared for the begging, cafe owners appeared to tolerate begging at table.

Wonderful to return to dark, cool rooms after a day on the streets.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingus187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

First time in Madrid, could not have chosen a better location. The hotel was not so busy so we were kindly upgraded to a small suite. The rooms were clean and modern. The staff were extremely helpful. Special mention about the restaurant / bar manager Adrian who was one of the most professional staff members we came across during our entire trip. He went way beyond the call of duty to make sure we had everything we needed. Good luck in the future dear friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is perfectly placed in Madrid for a weekend visit. Everything you want to see and do is in walking distance. The staff are very professional and polite. We had a great stay here. The rooms are very modern and very clean. The Glass Bar on the ground floor is expensive but makes for a nice starting point on a night out. It is very popular so get in there early. I would love to go back in the summer when the pool area is open. One word of caution, the breakfast is VERY expensive and not very exciting considering what you could get for much less in Madrid. Solid 4* hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acekicker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good location, very friendly staff, nice rooms. But I expected more...

The internet wi-fi was only for 24 h before you had to renew it and the speed was, well, not speedy at all.

Very expencive breakfast. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

In the first instance, I want to thank you for expressing us your observations about the services of our Hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us to improve our services continually. I can assure you that we will endeavour to improve matters as quickly as we can.

I would like to inform you that the hotel has cable connection free in all rooms.

We have also a hospitality desk available free of charge for our customers during 24 hours.

Also you have wifi connection free during 90 minutes per day.


I sincerely hope that your next stay at the our hotel will be extremely pleasant, I will personally take care to ensure it.

I remain at your entire disposal.
Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing