We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifty Fifty - Might just give a pass”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #24 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were group of 20 people from office, visiting Madrid for our annual industry exhibition. The hotel was booked by our travel agent saying best place to be in city centre.

Indeed the hotel's best thing is its location, walkable distance to every citi centre attraction and night life.

But that's it.....the rooms were such that it made me feel claustrophic, poor lighting. The worst thing was Gym, I decided to hit the gym at 6 AM one day and to my surprise the staff says it opens only at 9 AM (whoa......what a suprprise)

Except the reception staff other staff was a bit high headed. May be just my perceptions.

Positives
- Location
- Nice Bathroom with shower and batch tub sections differentiated, large wash basin with artistic floor
- Nice Bar at the receptions area
- Decent Breakfast (routine and monotonous though, ate same things for 3 days of our stay)

Negatives
- Claustrophobic rooms
- Wired internet (we are in Europe, where is Wifi?)
- Gym (Opens only at 9 AM)

Not business traveller friendly at all and the rates are too high compared to services.

Room Tip: Chose front or side rooms, back side rooms make you feel you are in some closed n dark place in pris...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDPharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Urban, thank you for taking the time to complete the recent Trip Advisor Review. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and we appreciated receiving your feedback.

First of all,. I have shared your comments with the entire team at the Hotel Urban. We have immediately implemented procedures to ensure to improve all the points you mentioned. We are actively pursuing corrective measures so that you will have a better experience, should you give us the chance to earn your future business. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we use the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

I would also appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay in additional detail. Please call me directly at your earliest convenience and I look forward to speaking to you so this matter can be settled to your satisfaction. I can also be reached via email as well if that is more convenient.

At Hotel Urban hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your consideration and I look forward to hearing from you.

At your Service,

Antonio Martin
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,976)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Urban
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

When we returned to Madrid we decided to try Urban instead of returning to ME Plaza Santa Ana. Unfortunately not a good decision as I found the bed to be uncomfortable and the pillows awful, whereas the Me was extremely comfortable.
In addition although you can can access wifi you have to log on every day, which is a pain. Spanish hotels especially 5 star hotels, really must provide unlimited wifi access.
We did eat at the restaurant for dinner, which was enjoyable food, but unnecessarily fussy and very expensive.
When we ordered room service unfortunately the person could not understand English well, and instead of a pineapple juice we got a plate of pineapple an we got 2 plates of chips we did not require
In fact we had breakfast out of the hotel which saved a fortune.
The TV had connections for Apple TV or the adapters that link an iPad to be able to watch downloaded stuff as the tV has limited English programmes

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodJill250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Urban, thank you for taking the time to complete the recent Trip Advisor Review. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and we appreciated receiving your feedback.

First of all,. I have shared your comments with the entire team at the Hotel Urban. We have immediately implemented procedures to ensure to improve all the points you mentioned. We are actively pursuing corrective measures so that you will have a better experience, should you give us the chance to earn your future business. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we use the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

I would also appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay in additional detail. Please call me directly at your earliest convenience and I look forward to speaking to you so this matter can be settled to your satisfaction. I can also be reached via email as well if that is more convenient.

At Hotel Urban hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your consideration and I look forward to hearing from you.

At your Service,

Antonio Martin
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, the staff were extremely nice, the service was excellent but the decor is so outdated... very not stylish. depressing. Breakfast was good, it is nice to have a bar in the lobby, every morning a large bottled water was delivered to our room. The staff were very helpfull in recommending restaurants and a flamengo eve.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SivanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is very stylish, modern and looks to be one of the hip place of Madrid.
Rooms are not too big but very modern and clean.
At the top of the roof there is a nice bar with many people especially at night.
Definitely a place were to go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottorsocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Signore,

Vorrei innanzitutto ringraziarla per i complimenti e i commenti che ha riservato al nostro albergo e il servizio offerto.

Siamo lieti che il suo soggiorno sia trascorso in modo del tutto soddisfacente, essendo nostro obiettivo principale far sì che tutti i nostri clienti si sentano a casa. Per questo motivo proviamo a migliorarci giorno per giorno.

Speriamo di rivederla nuovamente nel nostro hotel Urban, dove mi piacerebbe salutarla personalmente.

Distinti saluti,

Antonio Martin
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here 12/21/12 - 12/25/12 for 3 nights. Overall, a great experience: nice modern design, great location to the tourist sites, comfy beds, helpful staff. For Christmas eve, the hotel sent us a bottle of cava which was a nice touch. We had a standard room which was on the small side, but there was enough storage space for our 2 luggages and contents that we could put them away and out of sight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hersin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was looking forward to staying here for a short weekend trip. The hotel lives up to its trendy vibe an the service was good, but the room was the typically modern/smallish space that one finds in a new trendy spot. The beds are comfortable and pretty quiet. The bathroom seemed a bit dingy with the grouting looking a bit moldy. On the other hand, the location is excellent - and though we did not try it, it looked like the bar was warm and enjoyable. We were able to book at a significant discount -- which is what made it worthwhile, but I would not recommend paying full rates for this hotel. Our friends stayed at a 3 star hotel around the corner and seemed to have a similar experience to ours.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Urban, thank you for taking the time to complete the recent Trip Advisor Review. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and we appreciated receiving your feedback.

First of all,. I have shared your comments with the entire team at the Hotel Urban. We have immediately implemented procedures to ensure to improve all the points you mentioned. We are actively pursuing corrective measures so that you will have a better experience, should you give us the chance to earn your future business. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we use the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

I would also appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay in additional detail. Please call me directly at your earliest convenience and I look forward to speaking to you so this matter can be settled to your satisfaction. I can also be reached via email as well if that is more convenient.

At Hotel Urban hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your consideration and I look forward to hearing from you.

At your Service,

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Loved the decor of the hotel. Great service - we received two drinks upon our arrival. Only complaint is there was a set daily limit for free internet usage in the rooms. Very convenient locaton - walkable to the Prado, metro and other attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zip32183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 438 in Madrid
1,778 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 438 in Madrid
1,520 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $211 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing