We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet, simple way to stay in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ILUNION Alcala Norte
Ranked #110 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A quiet, simple way to stay in Madrid”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is Located no more than 10 mnts from Barajas International Airport in Madrid. Is easy to get there in taxi from 20 to 25 Euros. There is also a bus line that get you there. From the Hotel we moved towards Madrid for 1.5 euros per trip. The Bus stop is at Calle Cronos, a 3 minutes walk, and afterwards it will take aprx. 26 minutes to get to Puerta de Alcalá which is at the heart of the city. Remember Bus #28. If you please to take the Metro a 15mnts walk will get you to Suanzes Metro station (1.5 euros). The Metro is faster and will get "crowdy" at pick hours. (TIP: Look for a 10 trips ticket that could be used interchangeably with the Buss service as-well --for 12 euros.) The rooms are great fro the cost. We got two twin beds that were side by side. Bathrooms were extremely clean and offer what you will need to stay, the breakfast at the hotel was a plus, good food, great taste; service were always helpful (specially Rocío who is attentive and well knowledgeable in the orientation to get to places). The Hotel is always clean and safe. Because the food service works only until 4pm, you can always ask for a delivery through a desk call. (TIP: There is a gas station -Repsol- 12 mnts from the hotel on the same way to the Metro station in Alcalá St., that opens 24hrs where you can grab sodas and a snack). There are a few bakery's walking distance (TIP: Queretaro bakery on Julian Camarillo St. for a coffee and a 'mil hojas') and restaurants (TIP: El Rodizio for a brazilian steak - is a buffet style restaurant about 8 mnts walking). Overall the Hotel isn't different from what you can get at any other in the US. We always felt safe, well attended, clean, fed and comfortable. That is important specially when you are so far away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Localad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    306
    113
    21
    12
See reviews for
123
262
43
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stay was very pleasant. Special mention to Alvaro (frontdeskstaff), he tried his best helping us every question we asked him from directions on where to go to good places to go eat.

MANAGEMENT: Must have more ENGLISH speaking staff. It helps a lot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albbruck, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for 2nights during a business trip and left with a very negative impression. Even the price is low I rather pay a bit more and have a good rest, find motivated staff, get some amaneties, find a TV that works and a clean environment. All this though I missed when being here. Will avoid this hotel next time.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stoltinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
confortelhoteles, Gerente at ILUNION Alcala Norte, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for sharing your comment about your stay with us. I am really sorry to read that we have not met your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve as well as to learn of any missed opportunities. We do not really understand what it could has happened, since most of our guests leave the hotel very pleased, I assure you that we will work harder to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had booked this hotel because the rate was 50 euros per night and the pictures looked decent. I dint want an expensive one as i was only staying for 2 days. I was a bit doubtful about how it would turn out because of the mixed reviews from previous guests. It ended up to be much better than what I expected.

The airport is about 10-15 mins away. The only negetive about the location is that it's around 15 mins from the centre. You can take a bus right in front of the hotel and the metro station is a 5 min walk away. The hotel is extremely clean and the rooms are spacious and well-kept. The buffet breakfast served was great, had a lot of variety and it only costs 5 euros. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There aren't many people working in the hotel but they seem to manage it well.

My family and I had a lovely stay at this hotel and would definitely stay here again when we go back to Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lumyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Instead of staying in the airport overnight my boyfriend and I found a great deal on Hotwire.com and stayed for one night. We arrived at the hotel before our check in time but were told that we could check in since the room was ready. The room was perfect for the two of us and also had a balcony which was really nice. The balcony was basic but we had no idea we would be getting one in the first place. Diego helped us most of the time we were there and also made sure to call a taxi for us to get to the airport in the morning. It cost us €21 to get to Barajas airport and the taxi driver was waiting for us in the lobby (we were even early). Also there is free internet which was easy to access. The only things I didn't like was the guy who worked in the dining area. He may have been the only one doing the whole thing (making the food, taking orders, serving, & cleaning up) but he was a bit short and nasty to us. Also, the metro wasn't too far, but it would have been nice if it were closer. Maybe took about 10-15 minutes. The hotel is very modern and clean. There are also smoking or non-smoking rooms available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenglish09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzliya
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is located 20 minutes by bus / Metro from city center and offers very good services: Great , comfy rooms, a nice breakfast, very good and fasy service by all empolyees we stumbled by. They fixed the safe deposit box within minutes, printed out some material we needed by minutes, were very kind, polite and helpful explaining everything to us. The beds matreses are Visco quality I think, which is rare to find in hotels...

In short - definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel should definitely not be rated 4 stars. Super small rooms, tiny television with limited channels, maybe 1 in English. I woke up with the worst back ache ever from the horrible single beds they had. Their welcome package indicated hot coffee in the morning, when asked, (after getting them out of the office) they said they had no idea about a welcome coffee. Who would give 4 stars to a hotel that didn't have a pool, jacuzzi or gym. 1km is close to the metro? Absolutely nothing of interest in the area, barely even any tapas bars.

My whole outlook on the hotel star rating system has been shattered by calling this a 4 star hotel. I've stayed in hostals that were better than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
confortelhoteles, Gerente at ILUNION Alcala Norte, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I would like to express our sincere apologies. I am disappointed to read that we had not met your expectations on this occasion.

We do not really understand what it could has happened, since most of our guests leave the hotel very pleased about the hotel, I assure you that we will work harder to offer the best service possible.

Muchas gracias, un saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#99 of 435 in Madrid
867 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#170 of 435 in Madrid
903 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#154 of 435 in Madrid
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#254 of 435 in Madrid
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Alcala Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Alcala Norte

Property: ILUNION Alcala Norte
Address: Calle San Romualdo 30, 28037 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#80 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Alcala Norte 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ILUNION Alcala Norte is located in an expanding business area, next to the Juan Carlos I trade fair centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Alcala Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Alcala Norte Madrid
Confortel Alcala Norte Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing