We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ILUNION Alcala Norte
Ranked #111 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what was needed”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Room was spacious and very comfortable. Free internet usage was a bonus. Food was excellent value for money. Not far from the Metro, there are a couple of useful shops nearby and a couple of restaurants which was really handy. Could do with adding a couple more English channels to the satellite selection e.g. movie and entertainment.
A very relaxing week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    304
    110
    21
    12
See reviews for
120
260
42
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This can probably be called an "airport hotel" given the proximity to Madrid's Barajas international airport---which is what I chose it for laying over a night before a long flight home to California. The property seems pretty new, 4-*** and well maintained. It also appears to market small conference meetings also.
As the final test of any hotel--it gave an excellent night's sleep with quiet rooms and comfortable beds -- just what I needed before my next day's 30-hour odyssey to reach the west coast of the US !.

One problem with Madrid's airport district is the pretty fair distance from the city center. Taxi fare will be about 20 to 25 euros to get to many "airport hotels" like this one (a metro is possible with one transfer stop in between which could be inconvenient if you're hauling major luggage). One way to save is on trips to the airport if you could find other guests going there too and split the cab fare with them.

The complementary Wi-Fi was fine which was a help and the price (relatively speaking for Madrid) was a good offer via www.hotels.com

The BEST thing about my stay was the incredible guest service given by Ms. Cinta Correa Castano, Reception Manager. She very efficiently recovered a wrist watch I forgot in my room in an anxious rush to get to the airport.
When I realized my error and called from my departure gate before boarding the staff swept my room, found my watch--and then she arranged to get it to my Spanish residence within 24 hours via mensenger service. The watch has high sentimental value and would be hard to buy again---and she treated my concern like her own in coming to my assistance. BRAVO !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHIIPAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

There are always surprises. I got this as a result of Priceline and I was freaked out when I looked at its location and more freaked when I tried to find one cold December evening. The walk from the Suanzes Metro stop was dicey to say the least in that it was a brisk fifteen minute walk to the metro station on the number 5 line. When I finaly arrived, I was pleased that the huge bunker of a hotel had large rooms and a super duper large bathroom. The staff is really competent and not only that, they are down to earth yet very professional.
The walk to the metro was ususally long, past showrooms and a gas station BUT I soon learned another way.
If one gets off the metro at Ciudad Lineal and waits for the 105 bus which runs on Julian Camarillo, one can skip the walk altogether and arrive after the bus makes a left turn on San Romualdo.
The breakfasts in the restaurant are a great deal on the weekends if they are having a special discount. Otherwise, the food is just alright. The free and very swift wifi is a great feature in the hotel that other properties, even those which are more pricey would be wise to emulate. When weeks later I was stuck without wifi because another nearby hotel had no connection to the internet ( right? ) the staff here was nice enough to remember me and let me use the two free pcs in the lobby. Very nice.
The only drawback besides the remoteness is the lack of a gym. the building is huge thing and though there is parking, no gym? I guess they are hoping people will walk to the metro. Nearby there is a park to run but I did not try it. I would later try another Confortel in the Madrid area and was disappointed after staying at the Confortel Alcala Norte.
The rooms are huge for Madrid and I think that one could do worse by booking a hotel in Madrid, centrally located or not, and not giving the Confortel Alcala a chance. One just should get used to a little hike.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fattycrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

I've been travelling a lot to the "Poligono Julian Camarillo" Area because of business lately and tested several hotel in the area. This one is OK, but there are better options. Rooms are small, minibar was empty and Aircon noisy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonntags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I stayed there only two nights on Christmas. I was lookig for something cheap, not necessary close to the city centre.
The room was good, the staff very kind and the property very quiet wich is important I think, specially in Christmas time when everything outside is crowded and noisy.
I'm very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passenger86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

New, modern and clean. There are only two English channels on the telly, and both are 24-hour news channels.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tacotaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

This hotel is cool, in a sense that it is clean and nice. I went with my bf and we only have a tiny suitcase (handcarry one) so walking to and form the station to the hotel its ok. Althought it include some going up the slope ..but it is afforable. Or even if you have got one of the day passes, you can take the bus adjecent to the hotel and you can dump off the next stop this takes you closer to the metro station.

The most beautiful thing about this hotel is the free minibar, you know how expensive drinks could be, and they are giving out all of those for free. So everynight we would get some food in and enjoy the lay in...

Staff are friendly and air con work perfectly fine. Area is not that amazing and it is about 12 stops from the central, i think it is about half an hour metro from central. or 5 stops from the bull fight (ventas) area.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeymlai2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#106 of 436 in Madrid
825 reviews
ILUNION Atrium
#92 of 436 in Madrid
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#135 of 436 in Madrid
1,457 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#167 of 436 in Madrid
1,036 reviews
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#253 of 436 in Madrid
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Alcala Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Alcala Norte

Property: ILUNION Alcala Norte
Address: Calle San Romualdo 30, 28037 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Alcala Norte 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ILUNION Alcala Norte is located in an expanding business area, next to the Juan Carlos I trade fair centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ILUNION Alcala Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Alcala Norte Madrid
Confortel Alcala Norte Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing