We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small central Hotel”
Review of Hotel II Castillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel II Castillas
Ranked #103 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small central Hotel”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in February 2014 on a B&B basis. The hotel is just of Gran Via and you can walk to many places of interest. it is also well served by restaurants and transport.
The room was warm and clean although there was some noise from the street during the night/early morning. (ear plugs would be advisable)

The staff were friendly and helpful with a reasonable breakfast being served. Overall this was good value and I could recommend a short stay at this hoel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 227Alan717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    327
    70
    11
    3
See reviews for
113
326
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Dos Castillas hotel in late January, 2014. It was an excellent choice for many reasons. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel was pleasant, spotlessly clean and warm. The rooms were not luxurious but perfectly adequate with a good bathroom, comfortable beds and a television which worked well. The buffet breakfast offered plenty of variety in an attractive room with staff who greeted us with a smile.
The location of the hotel was really excellent. It was only 150metres from Callao metro. There were very many shops, stores and restaurants in the immediate surroundings. Many tourist attractions are within easy reach both on foot and by metro.
We have been to Madrid several times but this hotel would be our choice if we were to return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the street but we experienced no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel from 26th January 2014 on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is very easy to find, being just a two minute walk from Callao metro station and is situated very close to a huge choice of shops, restaurants and bars.
On arrival we were warmly greeted by reception staff and given room 202 which is a corner room and probably a little larger than most rooms. The room had a small balcony from which you could see Gran Via.
The room was very nice and clean and well appointed. The bathroom had two sinks, bath and shower and toiletries were provided.
Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereals, cold meats,cheeses and yoghurts as well as bacon, sausage and tomatoes. There was also a good selection of pastries and cakes and plenty of tea, coffee and fruit juices.
Throughout our stay the staff we came into contact with were all very polite and helpful and friendly.
On the day of our departure we were able to leave our suitcases in a secure room in reception.
Although our stay was only short we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and particularly it's central location. I believe that this hotel and it's staff provides very good service and value for money, bearing in mind it's City centre location and would not hesitate to stay again when we return to Madrid.

Room Tip: We had room 202 which was a corner room and this had a small balcony. The room's double glazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

II castillas is a perfect place to be if you want to visit Madrid. it is centric, close to callao metro statio, plaza del sol and sol metro station, plaza mayor, mercado san miguel, gran via, chuecas, alcalá, el retiro, museo del prado... all on foot. It is a very clean place with very nice people working in it.
The price is not that low but it is worth the comfort and the proximity to the main visitable places in Madrid especially if you're not staying for long.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel. We have previously stayed at many other hotels in Madrid (all 4 star hotels). Due to the very favorable client comments we decided to try this hotel and were not disappointed. What we loved most is the excellent location and the professionalism of the hotel staff. In fact we liked it so much we have already booked again for 3 nights !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikestevens2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is slap bang in the middle of the city. Everywhere I needed to go was within a few minutes walking distance. Breakfast was included which is a plus and there was a good choice of food. Staff are also very helpful. I will defiantly be back if I visit Madrid again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reuben_Grech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very nice Hotel in a great location, just 3-7min walking distance from the Puerta Del sol, Mayor Plaza and Plaza Elizabeth II. The room was clean and comfortable; Breakfast was good; The staff was very nice and helpful. Wi-Fi in the room was complimentary but the signal was quite weak (on the 4th floor,strong in reception).
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieKatie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#87 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel II Castillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel II Castillas

Property: Hotel II Castillas
Address: Calle Abada 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#119 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel II Castillas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel II Castillas is located in the heart of Madrid, exactly between Gran Via Street and Preciados Street.Recently opened. It´s the perfect hotel if you want to visit the center of the city. Ideal either for business or leisure. Main museums 12 minutes away! Right next to metro and bus stations. All of our rates have breakfast included. FREE WIFI!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel II Castillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ii Castillas Hotel
Ii Castillas Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing