We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel II Castillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel II Castillas
Ranked #97 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first time in Madrid so we liked the location on this hotel. Perfect for our sightseeing tour.
The staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms clean an the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJADAMS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 712 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

I only had a one night stay here but thoroughly enjoyed it. The room, although a little small, was clean and comfortable and certainly big enough for one. It was on the 6th floor so was very quiet, but the wifi signal was quite weak (although very strong in reception). The breakfast was of a good standard. The reception staff spoke good English. The hotel is in a great location in the middle of the shopping district with plenty of great bars and restaurants nearby. Will certainly stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiet0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Comfortable stay at a reasonable price in the centre of Madrid, just a two-minute walk from the underground station Callao.Ideal location for tourists and shopoholics - there are El Corte Ingles, Fnac and numerous boutiques to shop for anything.
The staff speaks English and is very helpful and friendly. At the reception it is possible to buy a ticket to the popular excursions to Toledo, Segovia, Avila, El Escoreal Monastery, which are worth seeing. The excursions are organised by Pullmantur, the guides tell all the information in two languages - both in Spanish and in English.
We've seen two rooms. The first was not very large, but comfortable, the other was spacious with a king-size bed, but the air-conditioner was not powerful enough to maintain the temperature so we had to live the windows and sometimes it was rather noisy outside.
There is a good tavern in the building of the hotel and american style grill restaurant facing the hotel entrance.
It is possible to check out later than at midday for an extra charge, but it is possible to leave the luggage at the hotel for a while for free, if you leave Madrid in the evening. In case you plan to return to the hotel in a few days, you can also leave partially your luggage.
Before leaving it is possible to weigh luggage at the reception, which is important for those leaving by air.
We've really enjoyed our staying at Dos Castillas and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evoinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We try and visit a major town or city in Spain every month. We had visited Granada, Sevilla, Murcia and Barcelona. We decided that the Capital, Madrid, was worth a visit and we wanted to be Central in the City. II Castillas Madrid fitted the bill annd we duly booked a long weekend.
On arrival we were made welcome by a very informative and good reception, though like most hotels in Spain at the moment it would benefit from more staff.
Our room was on the first floor near the lifts as I have some mobility problems and although it is claimed these rooms can be noisy this one was very quiet.
A decent bed and excellent en-suite met all our requirements with plenty of storage space and the free WiFi was good. The idea was to visit Madrid via the Hop on Hop off buses and reception had all the details necessary to obtain a 2 day ticket. The bus stop was only about 100metres away on thhe Gran Via.
The Hotel had an excellent Dining Room though it was only used at Breakfast time, probably becuse we were slightly out of season plus we were surrounded by excellent Restaurants catering for most prices and tastes. The Bar was very pleasant and well decorated with some interesting touches, Also tables outside that gave a fresh air opportunity to sit and people watch.
Parking in the narrow street outside the Hotel was difficult and on meters so using the underground parking only 40metres away and very reasonably priced was a good move, the Hotel obtaining a discount.
In the evenings we would have a good meal in one of the Restaurants near the Hotel and then to a Square where we recovered from the days viewing of the many historical sites which are abundant in Madrid. We sat at a very friendly pavement Bar and did some more people watching.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, the room was good and the cleaning service faultless. What we had asked for was delivered and really exceeded expectations.
We left with a good impression of Madrid and the Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aylyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent three nights in this hotel in the hot summer days of July, and overall am very pleased with the service offered by the hotel.

Staff were extremely friendly and most were able to speak English so language was not an issue. Room was not that spacious (especially the bathroom which was quite compact) but since the room was on the 6th (top) floor we were lucky enough to have a sizable terrace. Although Wifi is free, the signal was rather weak and intermittent, but maybe this was the downside of being on the 6th floor!! Nonetheless, there is a good signal in the lobby and if you need to print off any boarding passes or online tickets to attraction in Madrid, the reception desk will be more than willing to print them off for you.

Breakfast provided a good selection of cereals, yogurts, fruit, bread, scrambled egg, cocktail sausages, bacon, tomatoes, salamis, hams, spanish jamon, cheeses, pastries and cakes. During some mornings we also had the Tortilla Espanola (spanish omelette with potatoes and jamon). Coffee, Tea, milk and juices are also available but beware that the coffee does not taste that great.

Location is fantastic, right in the middle and within 3-5 minute walk of three of Madrid's main metro stops: Callao, Gran Via and Vodafone Sol.

Would definitely consider staying again at this hotel, when in Madrid again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. Centrally located, superb and very professional staff with a wonderful personal touch. Healthy and great breakfast choices. Walking distance to large shopping centre, Prado, Thyssen, Reina Sofia. Great restaurant attached, Free WiFi throughout and comfortable lounge and foyer.
Tapas bars virtually next door and engaging and lively nightlife.

I will be back there again next year.

Donna from Australia

Room Tip: All rooms I viewed seemed excellent and the two choices I have made were great, right at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at II Castillas for 6 nights. Rooms are properly sized and very clean. Even though wifi is free, the signal in the room is very weak but you can certainly use it in the lobby. The breakfast was ok but not anything special. The hotel location was great (3min walk from Sol or Callao metro station and within walking distance from the main shopping districts) and the staff very polite (many thanks to Antonio!). No major supermarkets around though except for the food hall of El Corte Ingles.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaux_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Huertas
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
#102 of 440 in Madrid
1,178 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 440 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel II Castillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel II Castillas

Address: Calle Abada 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $77 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel II Castillas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel II Castillas is located in the heart of Madrid, exactly between Gran Via Street and Preciados Street.Recently opened. It´s the perfect hotel if you want to visit the center of the city. Ideal either for business or leisure. Main museums 12 minutes away! Right next to metro and bus stations. All of our rates have breakfast included. FREE WIFI!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel II Castillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ii Castillas Hotel
Ii Castillas Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing