We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel II Castillas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Liabeny(Madrid)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Anaco(Madrid)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveler rating
276
368
78
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
368
78
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationperfect basedecent breakfastdel solcentral locationwalking distancemini bara lot of noiseminute walkon footnoise from the streetgood sizehot watermajor attractionsthree nightsroyal palacereception desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 737 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at II Castillas for 6 nights. Rooms are properly sized and very clean. Even though wifi is free, the signal in the room is very weak but you can certainly use it in the lobby. The breakfast was ok but not anything special. The hotel location was great (3min walk from Sol or Callao metro station and within walking distance from the main shopping districts) and the staff very polite (many thanks to Antonio!). No major supermarkets around though except for the food hall of El Corte Ingles.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaux_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from an excellent weekend in Madrid, enjoyed all the more because of the facilities and service at II Castillas Hotel.
Superb location being just off the Gran Via with easy access to 2 metro stations. Very comfortable rooms, we were on 1st floor and not disturbed by any noise from busy streets outside. Good wifi access which is all important when going away with teenage sons. Very helpful reception. Good breakfast, lovely coffee.
My only gripe was the size of the shower. We are not large, but found the shower very wee. We also had to run the water for a long time before we had hot water coming through. But these are only small gripes and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: Our sons had a twin room with a bath and shower, so it would be worth checking the size of the bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Close to the main buzz of the old city, but far enough to get sleep. Average decor. We had a slight problem with our first room. Perhaps the people in the room before us brought some unwanted friends? We went to the front desk and they were very accommodating. Switched us to a different room and even offered to do our laundry, even though it was Sunday. Breakfast has nice selection of hot and cold foods. Good overall stay for the value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A basic hotel just a few moments walk from Gran Via Metro station taking no notice of the Ladies of the Night who were, apparently, doing a day shift as well! Only one armchair to sit in and the flat screen tv on the wall was very small. Wi-fi was fast and constant and available free of charge in the room. Helpful. The bathroom promised a shower with jets of water all over the body but, sadly, the water was only from overhead - the spa bits just did not work. The entrance hall to the hotel is notable. Comfy waiting area if you have to. The included breakfast had a reasonable range of foods. Room was very clean and quiet even though we faced the street outside. Probably worth three and a half stars but not quite four in my view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We happened upon Hotel II Castillas through an on-line "pay before you know location" site. It turned out to be a real find! We had a little problem at check-in as our reservation for 2 rooms for some reason indicated only 1 person in each room. The hotel staff insisted that we pay an extra $25 per night per room. We grudgingly obliged, and this turned out to be the only negative for our stay. Our room with king bed was very spacious and the room with 2 double beds was not cramped by any means (compared to some of the rooms we stayed in while in France and London!). The bathrooms were sizeable enough and even had a towel warmer! The included breakfast was very nice, but would have been even better had it included more of a "Spanish" style breakfast rather than european; eg. papitas, and mexican-style eggs, rather than plain scrambled eggs. However, the breakfast overall was pretty good. The best part about this hotel, however, is its proximity to Puerta Del Sol and the Plaza Mayor. Puerta Del Sol is only about 3 minutes away (which has a Metro station) and Plaza Mayor only about 7 minutes away. We walked to the Prado Museum in about 15 minutes and encountered a number of smaller plazas along the way. All in all, our stay in Madrid was enhance by us staying at the Hotel II Castillas, and we would stay there again if we had the chance.

Room Tip: We had a room on the north side and the garbage trucks at 3:00 am sounded like an army conducting military excercises outside our room! The other room was on the front side of the hotel which is on a very small street with little to no traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews