We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel II Castillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel II Castillas
Ranked #103 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect. It was walking distance from the bars, metro, and shops. I was impressed with the number of bars/restaurants within a 5-10 min walk. To get to the hotel was super easy too. You take the metro from the airport, and change trains twice. It was less than 5 euro. I forget when you get off, but when you do, its a 2 min walk to the hotel. My husband and I stayed for three nights. The room was a standard size, and the bathroom was clean and modern. It had a dual sink, which you don't find in hotels. The internet worked well in the room. The front desk was helpful with tickets, and information. They also scheduled my airport transportation. The taxi to the airport was 40 euro. We will definitely return and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    320
    69
    11
    3
See reviews for
112
321
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is so central to everything that it makes it is the perfect place to explore Madrid from .Firstly getting there from the aiport is simple with two changes on the metro your almost directly outside the hotel about 50 yards away,we are lucky our son works in Madrid and so he explained the system when we arrived we bought a 10 trip ticket for the metro allowing us to travel to most places in the city, although to be honest we walked most of it, its a bit like Paris in size compact and sites easy to get to.
The hotel is ideal and the staff very helpfull, the rooms are clean and have everything you need, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the breakfast at all, when you leave they have a safe room for your luggage which you can collect at any time and the return journey to the airport took half an hour.
Madrid appears to be a young and vibrant city with pleny to see and do safe and clean, plenty of bars and restaurants, oh and when we went there it was warm made such a diffrence after such an awful winter weve had this year.
Have a ride on the cable cars over the natural park , do it one way and walk back , head for the lake and sit at one of the bars. The view of the snow capped mountains in the distance is wonderful, Visit the bull ring for a tour fasinating. The palace is very impressive from the outside we didnt go in.The Parque del buen retiro (park) is worth a visit. We are lucky our son showed us to the best and hidden bars around, some on the street and some on top of buildings with great views so search around, the Plaza Mayor is impressive and if you do go there to find the oldest restaurant in the world its not in the square its outside of it, and took me and hour to find it :)
In summary the hotel is great the city is fun and its well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Dont worry your there to visit the city oh and the Rib Restaurant right outside the hotel is also v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent, as it is located in the center of Madrid. Gran Via is just a few steps away, while within a walking distance you could visit all sights and enjoy the wonderfull city. Also, Callao metro station is very close to the hotel. Our room was on the 6th floor. The room didn't had a view, but it was very quiet, comfortable and warm. The hotel offers free wi-fi but the connection in our room was not good. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensDimitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Quite a bargain really. Excellent, well furnished bedroom with huge (Queen sized?) bed, faultless bathroom plus large 'L' shaped terrace. All spotlessly clean. Sadly, no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Ideal location - just a few strides from the Callao metro on the bustling Gran Via yet the hotel was surprisingly tranquil both day and night. Buffet breakfast more than adequate though staff ought to do more to guide guests to the right table - annoyingly couples occupying tables for four at busy times. The hotel's Norte restaurant is first class and well worth the extra few Euros you'd pay in the many nearby tapas restaurants. Not the easiest access from the airport by public transport - two changes on the metro but wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I spent a week at the hotel for a vacation in Madrid.
The hotel is in perfect location.
the breakfast was mediocre.
We had a problem with our flight (it was canceled) and they where very helpful in extending our stay with a price even lower than the one we got originally at "Hotels.com".

Room Tip: 1. in every floor the wireless in a different area so some room have good wifi and some dont. if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A comfortable place to stay in the heart of Madrid within easy walking distance of all of the sights in the old city. Room was comfortable and clean, all be it a little small. Wi-fi worked well so we were able to keep in contact with outside world. Breakfast was hearty and fare was traditional European, ham, ham, and more ham...coming out of Egypt...what a treat!

One tip, if you are arriving from the airport book a ride in with AEROcity, they are cheap and will take the stress out of finding any hotel if you are unfamiliar with the city. The published rate on their website was E24 for two but we ended up paying E22 each way...great deal no lumbering roller cases over cobbled streets!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the street, I can imagine that in high season this would pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalandua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location for sightseeing as situated 1 minute away from Gran Via and 5 minutes walk to Playa Sol. Hotel spotlessly clean with good room service everyday. Reception staff very helpful as willing to go beyond reception duties. Unfortunately I could only connect to Wi Fi in the lobby as apparently it would not connect on 6th floor but this was a small inconvenience only. Weather late February was sunny but coldish, coat and gloves needed but certainly manageable. Breakfast plenty ofchoice with good service, Be aware that approximate cost of taxi from airport ( meter reading zero at start of journey) to central Madrid €28 to €30. All in all a very relaxing 4 days. Would return to this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank moll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#90 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel II Castillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel II Castillas

Property: Hotel II Castillas
Address: Calle Abada 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#119 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel II Castillas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel II Castillas is located in the heart of Madrid, exactly between Gran Via Street and Preciados Street.Recently opened. It´s the perfect hotel if you want to visit the center of the city. Ideal either for business or leisure. Main museums 12 minutes away! Right next to metro and bus stations. All of our rates have breakfast included. FREE WIFI!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel II Castillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ii Castillas Hotel
Ii Castillas Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing