We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT CHOICE OF HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel II Castillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel II Castillas
Ranked #102 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CHOICE OF HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location for sightseeing as situated 1 minute away from Gran Via and 5 minutes walk to Playa Sol. Hotel spotlessly clean with good room service everyday. Reception staff very helpful as willing to go beyond reception duties. Unfortunately I could only connect to Wi Fi in the lobby as apparently it would not connect on 6th floor but this was a small inconvenience only. Weather late February was sunny but coldish, coat and gloves needed but certainly manageable. Breakfast plenty ofchoice with good service, Be aware that approximate cost of taxi from airport ( meter reading zero at start of journey) to central Madrid €28 to €30. All in all a very relaxing 4 days. Would return to this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank moll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    320
    70
    11
    3
See reviews for
113
321
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HONG KONG
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Choosing the II Castillas is definitely an enhancement to our recent visit to Madrid. The reception staff (they spoke very good English!) handled our check-in in a friendly & efficient manner. When we entered our room, we felt "this is it!" meaning we were given all we needed. Our room(#203) was nicely furnished; very comfortable beds, the clean & spacious bathroom with a bathtub. In a very centre of Madrid, not many hotels/hostels can provide such amenities considering the budget. We also enjoyed the breakfast which offered a great choice of food including my favorite Spanish cheeses & strong coffee. For dining & shopping, not to worry at all. El Corte Ingles is just across the street, and reasonable bars & restaurants are in the neighborhood. Will we choose the II Castillas again for our next trip to Madrid? No doubt!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggm_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our last night in Madrid at hostal CASTILLA (we stayed in3) ok a budget hotel but v authentic cleaned daily quiet & everything is in walking distance. We had a 2day sightseeing pass which €24 each was good value. No need to use metro or buses. Lots of bars & restaurants nearby but be careful dont go for tourist menus at €10 rubbish food. Order separate tapas. We found a good Italian on calle de Leon & Chinese at la fang she C/. Luis Velez de Guevera both 5 mins walk away. For a cheap coffee goto Burger King around corner €1. Don't bother with churros & chocolate anywhere total ripoff ... Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chocca94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days in madrid. Our hotel was in a brillant location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was all you could eat with plenty of tea and coffee. We were within walking distance from all the sights. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
The happy travellers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

me and my father stayed at this wonderful hotel for 4 nights, and enjoyed every minute of it.

Hotel II Castillas has it all:
* prime location, right in the middle of everything. metro (callao/sol) is only 2-3 minutes walk.
* rooms are big, nicely decorated and well-equipped. the bathroom is very convenient.
* public spaces, including lobby and breakfast room, look great.
* breakfast is excellent. wide range of meat, eggs, bread, pastries, cheese, tea & coffee, juices and vegetables.
* very very clean. house-keeping works great.
* service is efficient, fast and polite. for exemple, i have sent the hotel an e-mail prior to our arrival, asking for an early check-in. someone answered me in about an hour, saying they will do their best. when we arrived to the hotel (11:30am) they check us in immidiatley and gave us the room. impressive.

what can i say? simply a bargain! Hotel II Castillas is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in, even better than many 4 and 5 stars hotels. don't hesitate, book it!

Room Tip: room 511 has no view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alon-not-alone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located and the complimentary buffet breakfast will fill you up for you to go around Madrid through the day. Most of the attractions can be done on foot if you like to walk - and you should walk to experience the beautiful city of Madrid - its alleys and the recessed houses with brightly painted walls. The train station is a quick subway ride away. I found the hotel great for a couple of nights stay but it was a bit noisy especially in the early hours of morning when revellers from the nearby Puerta del Sol come hurtling down the streets. And the internet never worked in the room, which was a big disappointment. The staff was overall helpful but not super friendly to receive a thumbs up. I will stay again just for sheer convenience and the price, and hope the internet works!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the high floors away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RupaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I want to first start off by saying that one of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because an amenity was air conditioning. It was the end of May and we prefer to sleep comfortably at night and air conditioning is hard to come by in Europe. Our first experience at the hotel: Was in a great location and the atmosphere was very pleasant, everything was going well until we talked to reception. The staff member that we spoke to at the front desk was very uninterested in helping us with a recommendation on where to go for dinner. The second problem was when arrived to was our room it was extremely hot! But this was not a problem because we had air conditioning right? NO, WRONG! We called the front desk and they said that since it was not "summer" that the air conditioning was turned off. After talking with them and explaining that it is the end of May in SPAIN and my husband and I were uncomfortably hot they told us that they would turn on the air conditioning. I guess it just did not work in our room because we both felt sick from the heat. Again, this was one of the main things we were looking for so we could have a good nights sleep and it was a flat out lie in the description. If your only going to offer air conditioning 4 months a year you should probably put that on your website. On a positive note their breakfast was very great with an extensive selection of cold cuts, pastries, and cheeses. Our stay would have been much more enjoyable if we could have got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatDrinkTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel II Castillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel II Castillas

Property: Hotel II Castillas
Address: Calle Abada 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#119 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel II Castillas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel II Castillas is located in the heart of Madrid, exactly between Gran Via Street and Preciados Street.Recently opened. It´s the perfect hotel if you want to visit the center of the city. Ideal either for business or leisure. Main museums 12 minutes away! Right next to metro and bus stations. All of our rates have breakfast included. FREE WIFI!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel II Castillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ii Castillas Hotel
Ii Castillas Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing