We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location v safe & well connected”
Review of Hotel II Castillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel II Castillas
Ranked #100 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location v safe & well connected”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our last night in Madrid at hostal CASTILLA (we stayed in3) ok a budget hotel but v authentic cleaned daily quiet & everything is in walking distance. We had a 2day sightseeing pass which €24 each was good value. No need to use metro or buses. Lots of bars & restaurants nearby but be careful dont go for tourist menus at €10 rubbish food. Order separate tapas. We found a good Italian on calle de Leon & Chinese at la fang she C/. Luis Velez de Guevera both 5 mins walk away. For a cheap coffee goto Burger King around corner €1. Don't bother with churros & chocolate anywhere total ripoff ... Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chocca94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    327
    70
    11
    3
See reviews for
113
326
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days in madrid. Our hotel was in a brillant location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was all you could eat with plenty of tea and coffee. We were within walking distance from all the sights. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
The happy travellers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

me and my father stayed at this wonderful hotel for 4 nights, and enjoyed every minute of it.

Hotel II Castillas has it all:
* prime location, right in the middle of everything. metro (callao/sol) is only 2-3 minutes walk.
* rooms are big, nicely decorated and well-equipped. the bathroom is very convenient.
* public spaces, including lobby and breakfast room, look great.
* breakfast is excellent. wide range of meat, eggs, bread, pastries, cheese, tea & coffee, juices and vegetables.
* very very clean. house-keeping works great.
* service is efficient, fast and polite. for exemple, i have sent the hotel an e-mail prior to our arrival, asking for an early check-in. someone answered me in about an hour, saying they will do their best. when we arrived to the hotel (11:30am) they check us in immidiatley and gave us the room. impressive.

what can i say? simply a bargain! Hotel II Castillas is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in, even better than many 4 and 5 stars hotels. don't hesitate, book it!

Room Tip: room 511 has no view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alon-not-alone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located and the complimentary buffet breakfast will fill you up for you to go around Madrid through the day. Most of the attractions can be done on foot if you like to walk - and you should walk to experience the beautiful city of Madrid - its alleys and the recessed houses with brightly painted walls. The train station is a quick subway ride away. I found the hotel great for a couple of nights stay but it was a bit noisy especially in the early hours of morning when revellers from the nearby Puerta del Sol come hurtling down the streets. And the internet never worked in the room, which was a big disappointment. The staff was overall helpful but not super friendly to receive a thumbs up. I will stay again just for sheer convenience and the price, and hope the internet works!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the high floors away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RupaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I want to first start off by saying that one of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because an amenity was air conditioning. It was the end of May and we prefer to sleep comfortably at night and air conditioning is hard to come by in Europe. Our first experience at the hotel: Was in a great location and the atmosphere was very pleasant, everything was going well until we talked to reception. The staff member that we spoke to at the front desk was very uninterested in helping us with a recommendation on where to go for dinner. The second problem was when arrived to was our room it was extremely hot! But this was not a problem because we had air conditioning right? NO, WRONG! We called the front desk and they said that since it was not "summer" that the air conditioning was turned off. After talking with them and explaining that it is the end of May in SPAIN and my husband and I were uncomfortably hot they told us that they would turn on the air conditioning. I guess it just did not work in our room because we both felt sick from the heat. Again, this was one of the main things we were looking for so we could have a good nights sleep and it was a flat out lie in the description. If your only going to offer air conditioning 4 months a year you should probably put that on your website. On a positive note their breakfast was very great with an extensive selection of cold cuts, pastries, and cheeses. Our stay would have been much more enjoyable if we could have got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatDrinkTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aci Castello, Sicilia, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of this place couldn't be better - we walked everywhere! The restaurant next door is INCREDIBLE. Service was great and the food was excellent - we actually ate there twice b/c the tapas were so delicious and authentic. The breakfast is decent but could use more variety. Great value for the price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SBXTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was a great choice from the get go. The location was very easy for our taxi driver to find, the hotel lobby was very inviting and the reception staff was very friendly. Check in was very quick and fast and we got a great quiet room at the back of the hotel where you hardly heard anything.
The bathroom was clean and modern, the room itself was very clean and tidy and the beds were quite comfortable to sleep in. We felt comfortable leaving our personal belongings in the safe and had no trouble with it at all.
The room had enough space for 2 people to move around and the closets were big enough to put all our things in so that we weren't tripping over anything.
When we needed advice on where to go, what to do, where to eat, the hotel staff was very helpful and gave us some good tips on cheaper places to eat, out of the way tourist places to see and the best way to get around to see things.
When we asked about a particular tour groups tour to a Flamenco show, one of the reception staff directed us to a quieter, smaller, more intimate flamenco club which was much more intense and far more entertaining that one of the bigger places that we had thought of going to because it catered to tourists. The place he sent us to was much more intimate.
Overall a great hotel, worth the money, not too expensive and the service was excellent. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, much quieter and you hardly hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plavaseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#38 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel II Castillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel II Castillas

Property: Hotel II Castillas
Address: Calle Abada 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#119 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel II Castillas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel II Castillas is located in the heart of Madrid, exactly between Gran Via Street and Preciados Street.Recently opened. It´s the perfect hotel if you want to visit the center of the city. Ideal either for business or leisure. Main museums 12 minutes away! Right next to metro and bus stations. All of our rates have breakfast included. FREE WIFI!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel II Castillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ii Castillas Hotel
Ii Castillas Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing