We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”
Review of Plaza D'ort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza D'ort
Ranked #385 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The headline says it all. If you want to be in the center of Madrid during your stay, close to all the sightseeing places, clubbing scene (more or less), etc. then this is the place to be. I've got quite a cheap deal for the accommodation, thus I didn't have such high expectations in the first place. To be fair, I've seen and been to better places, but during 5-6 days of my stay in Madrid I've literally used it pretty much only for sleeping. The staff is friendly, though their English could be a bit better but ok. Only thing for me was that breakfast was a bit "weak", or at least to much sweet stuff for my taste, but that might be the "Spanish thing" dunno. All in all, very cheap for such location so I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 141 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Recently stayed 3 nights would not hesitate to recommend this hotel . on arrival service genuinely friendly and helpful . room bright and modern and spotlessly clean . breakfast served in morning by helpful owner .Excellent wifi connection in room . short walk to metro and all city sights . For the price of EURO45 for twin room this hotel would take some beating ...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnwhelan1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

3 of us were left stranded at the reception at Analina Rooms after bookings were confirmed by Agoda both by email and phone! (more on Analina Rooms and agoda in another review) so we had to literally go back to the streets with all our luggage in search for another accommodation (during the holiday season!) The angels in all the cathedrals we have visited so far must have been smiling on us as we stumbled upon this excellent hostel. The hosts (3 of them, one of the called Alfredo) were extremely helpful, gave the 3 of us a double room for 2 nights and fixed it up with an extra bed; they didn't even charge us extra for the extra bed. Space was really tight but that's the best we could do with such short notice. Furthermore, the guys at the hostel were so nice we just felt that we really had to stay there. Alfredo then helped us write an email to Analina rooms in Spanish as we told him that we wrote to Analina Rooms in English on 3 occasions prior to our flight to Spain to confirm our booking but no reply whatsoever from them. (no reply from Analina Rooms still and we are already back in Singapore now). I would highly recommend this hostel. It's a no frills place but it's clean and very centrally located. Only complain is that there is no lift so not the best place if you have too much luggage but the hosts were oh so willing to help lug our bags up and down for us. Such angels they are.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YSL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

After the awful experience with Analina Rooms, we managed to find Hostal Plaza D'ort! It is a god-send with EURO65 for ensuite triple sharing! Alfredo is very very helpful and friendly to guests. Wifi at level 2 reception area was wonderful too! As we were extremely tired after all the pushing and lagging our luggage to source for alternative accommodation, we only managed to 'carry' our luggage to the level 2 reception area. We had the last room at level 4, so it was rather quiet for quality sleep. Alfredo was very very kind to help us bring our luggage to our room and set the extra bed in our room, while we went out for our late lunch. Location is centralised with approx 20 to 30 mins walk to Prado Museum / Atocha Madrid Train Station, with great accessibility to lots of eating places / restaurants! Will stay there if back in Madrid!

Room Tip: There are no lifts/elevators within this building, so it is better to do backpack than bringing lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fm_usagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I liked everything about it - position couldn't be better and some excellent bars on the doorstep. I was a woman travelling alone and felt really safe I liked having to ring and be buzzed in as it felt very secure. Very quiet despite the street being busy. The owners were great and nothing too much trouble for them. The only thing is the room I had was a double and for two people might be a bit snug but how much time do you spend in your room when you are in the middle of Madrid. Loved the city and loved the hostal already planning to go back.

Room Tip: If you want quiet go for an internal room. Not so much light but the artificial light was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Buislesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hostal Plaza D'ort in Madrid is an excellent hostal, clean, confortable,affordable and very central with lots of bars, restaurants ,cafes and shops within minutes from hotel doorstep. It is a family run business and Esteban and Alfredo are very helpful and friendly to guests. Every time I am in Madrid, I always stay at plaza D'ort, been going there for almost 9 years now. And been introducing my friends to the hotel. Price is vey good, an ensuite single room won't set you back more than 38Euros.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hostal is right in the heart of Madrid within few minute walk to all the main attractions and museums. The rooms are all refurbished with the lastest commodities and very clean. The price is excellent and the service is fantastic they owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OrangeC0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#235 of 437 in Madrid
220 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#134 of 437 in Madrid
807 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#229 of 437 in Madrid
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#211 of 437 in Madrid
231 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#374 of 437 in Madrid
40 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#275 of 437 in Madrid
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza D'ort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza D'ort

Address: Plaza Angel 13, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $46 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Plaza D'ort 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with TV, telephone, Internet, air conditioning, safe, etc. Enjoy 24 hours with our customized attention in Hostal Plaza D'ort that is situated in the historic Madrid centre, at 200 meters from Puerta del Sol (km 0 of Spain), in "Arts Neighborhood" (“Barrio de las Letras”), area with its famous Calle Huertas and Plaza de Santa Ana, that's practically all was converted in a pedestrian area. In the area most historical, commercial and touristic in central Madrid. Close to the Royal Palace, Almudena's Cathedral, CAixa Forum Center and the museums: Prado, Thyssen-Bornmisza and Reina Sofia Art Center. Likewise, the best cinemas and theaters. Also around, all kind of shops, malls, bars, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plaza D'ort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing