We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$230
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel(Madrid)
$128
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Castilla(Madrid)
$172
$146
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon(Madrid)
$152
$98
Ayre Hoteles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Alcala Norte(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$73
$62
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel(Madrid)
$225
$112
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
ILUNION Atrium(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$91
$72
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Chamartin(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$137
$69
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nuevo Madrid(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$64
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
32
91
113
57
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
91
113
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle bedwalking distance to everythingbathroom doorhotel is locatedplaza
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 320 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is not a one star hotel, let alone a 3 star hotel. We had booked here for 4 nights through a travel agent after looking at the pictures on the internet, the pictures certainly painted a different picture to what we saw when we arrived, we stayed only one night.. We checked in and were told they had given us a nicer room!!! God help anyone who didn't get a nicer room. The staff we did deal with were very nice, but this review is based on the hotel and not the staff.
We were overlooking the street and we didn't sleep a wink for the noise in the street. The door onto the veranda ( if you can call it that, would not open) The door was about 6 inches from the bed, so to open the door we would have had to move the bed. The aircon blew hot air, which was obviously being taken in from outside and circulated through the room, we had a very uncomfortable night with heat. The corner shower cubicle did not close properly at the bottom, so we had water everywhere when we got out. No plug in the sink. Every, and I mean every floor board creaked when you walked across the floor. the whole place had a smell!!!the place had a dingy feel about it, the ceilings were dark purple which made the place very dark too. There were two lifts and only one was working. We could not get out of the place quick enough in the morning so we didn't have breakfast.
The hotel has since refunded the three nights we didn't stay, which was very decent of them I suppose!!. I am not sure if this hotel is next in line for refurbishment in the chain , but it certainly needs it. I don't know when the pictures of this hotel were taken, but they make it look a lot nicer than it really is.
We have been told a lot of reviews you read either come from the hotel itself if its a good one, or if its a poor one it comes from the competition, well let me assure you, we are neither, this is from a genuine traveler who would certainly not use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The description says international TV channels but word of warning as there it's nothing in English. Not even the news!!! All rooms are supposed to have hydro showers but this is false as they dont work. Both issues reported to reception and no action.

The only good thing is location but you can get many other options in this range

Not recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

What a terrific place to stay. Just below the main drag of Madrid's retail district. A place to rest your head at night after a long day of walking around town. Three block from the Gran Via Metro stop. I found myself one day walking down the hill towards all the old historic buildings and gardens, miles beyond the hotel, and as luck would have it, not trouble finding a Metro stop to find my way back.
There are great restaurants just down the plaza. Great people watching area. The cafe connected to the hotel has great food, but the wait staff is aloof.
The hotel staff was beyond helpful. I couldn't have asked for a better group of people to help me enjoy my two night stay in Madrid.
A fun fact about the hotel lobby: it used to be the stables for horses.
The Petit Palace chain is quite good, but again, the staff at this particular location made it worth while.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotAFoodieBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M, Revenue Managent at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Small comfortable hotel in great location. Staff were accommodating, breakfast was sufficient & heating was awesome. Noisy if windows open but in the heart of Centro Madrid it would be ignorant to expect otherwise. Don't understand why there are no double beds but single mattresses were comfortable if not lonely.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,171,964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M, Revenue Management at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guest’s satisfaction is our reason of being.

We regret to know just now that you preffered double bed. Please, let us know your preferences next time and we will do our best to get them.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Last minute booking for five (5) nights. Good points - excellent location, good wi-fi, staff very friendly, helpful and could not fault them and price was reasonable. Bad points - room a little bit on the small side, hallways very narrow, small reception and breakfast area very small, noisy and busy (we skipped breakfast for this reason), noisy floor coverings and the lift very noisy and door opening and closing, which does not help when the hallways are on the small side. Would I stay again - No.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TYA180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M, Revenue Management at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Client:

First of all, we are apologies about the inconveniences during your stay. We are sorry to hear that the sizes of the hotel are not of your pleasure, but we are working to improve our services for the clients to have a pleasant stay.
We remain, sorry, for the inconveniences, and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve through your opinion

Kind regards,
Alfredo Torralba, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews