We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Ranked #358 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is not a one star hotel, let alone a 3 star hotel. We had booked here for 4 nights through a travel agent after looking at the pictures on the internet, the pictures certainly painted a different picture to what we saw when we arrived, we stayed only one night.. We checked in and were told they had given us a nicer room!!! God help anyone who didn't get a nicer room. The staff we did deal with were very nice, but this review is based on the hotel and not the staff.
We were overlooking the street and we didn't sleep a wink for the noise in the street. The door onto the veranda ( if you can call it that, would not open) The door was about 6 inches from the bed, so to open the door we would have had to move the bed. The aircon blew hot air, which was obviously being taken in from outside and circulated through the room, we had a very uncomfortable night with heat. The corner shower cubicle did not close properly at the bottom, so we had water everywhere when we got out. No plug in the sink. Every, and I mean every floor board creaked when you walked across the floor. the whole place had a smell!!!the place had a dingy feel about it, the ceilings were dark purple which made the place very dark too. There were two lifts and only one was working. We could not get out of the place quick enough in the morning so we didn't have breakfast.
The hotel has since refunded the three nights we didn't stay, which was very decent of them I suppose!!. I am not sure if this hotel is next in line for refurbishment in the chain , but it certainly needs it. I don't know when the pictures of this hotel were taken, but they make it look a lot nicer than it really is.
We have been told a lot of reviews you read either come from the hotel itself if its a good one, or if its a poor one it comes from the competition, well let me assure you, we are neither, this is from a genuine traveler who would certainly not use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    81
    99
    49
    24
See reviews for
63
101
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The description says international TV channels but word of warning as there it's nothing in English. Not even the news!!! All rooms are supposed to have hydro showers but this is false as they dont work. Both issues reported to reception and no action.

The only good thing is location but you can get many other options in this range

Not recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

What a terrific place to stay. Just below the main drag of Madrid's retail district. A place to rest your head at night after a long day of walking around town. Three block from the Gran Via Metro stop. I found myself one day walking down the hill towards all the old historic buildings and gardens, miles beyond the hotel, and as luck would have it, not trouble finding a Metro stop to find my way back.
There are great restaurants just down the plaza. Great people watching area. The cafe connected to the hotel has great food, but the wait staff is aloof.
The hotel staff was beyond helpful. I couldn't have asked for a better group of people to help me enjoy my two night stay in Madrid.
A fun fact about the hotel lobby: it used to be the stables for horses.
The Petit Palace chain is quite good, but again, the staff at this particular location made it worth while.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAFoodieBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M, Revenue Managent at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Small comfortable hotel in great location. Staff were accommodating, breakfast was sufficient & heating was awesome. Noisy if windows open but in the heart of Centro Madrid it would be ignorant to expect otherwise. Don't understand why there are no double beds but single mattresses were comfortable if not lonely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7171964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M, Revenue Management at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guest’s satisfaction is our reason of being.

We regret to know just now that you preffered double bed. Please, let us know your preferences next time and we will do our best to get them.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Last minute booking for five (5) nights. Good points - excellent location, good wi-fi, staff very friendly, helpful and could not fault them and price was reasonable. Bad points - room a little bit on the small side, hallways very narrow, small reception and breakfast area very small, noisy and busy (we skipped breakfast for this reason), noisy floor coverings and the lift very noisy and door opening and closing, which does not help when the hallways are on the small side. Would I stay again - No.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TYA180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M, Revenue Management at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Client:

First of all, we are apologies about the inconveniences during your stay. We are sorry to hear that the sizes of the hotel are not of your pleasure, but we are working to improve our services for the clients to have a pleasant stay.
We remain, sorry, for the inconveniences, and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve through your opinion

Kind regards,
Alfredo Torralba, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My reviews of this hotel are so all over the place that I have no idea what to rate it. The part that were good were SO good that I would give it a 5. The parts that were bad were so bad that it makes me want to cry.

So let's just work our way through it.

The Good: Miguel at the front desk is one of the nicest, most helpful folks we ran across in Spain. The morning we arrived our family sized room wasn't available so he put us in a regular room and comped our breakfast for the next day. He was continually smiling and cheerful and helpful the entire week we were in Madrid.

The family bedrooms - opt for it even if you are on a business trip by yourself. The extra 4 square feet of space makes it SO worth it. Especially in the bathrooms! I'm not a large person and still had to squeeze sideways into the shower in the regular room.

Location for this hotel is EXCELLENT. Being right on Gran Via you are a 15 minute walk from everything. My daughter and I even walked to the museum district one day on our own (took about 30 minutes). Everything that you need is close by including a number of amazing restaurants.

The Bad: Breakfast is *horrible* at this hotel. Opt to go out to one of the local restaurants, get a cup of cafe con leche and a croissont because the 20 plus dollars for cold instant eggs and boxed pastries just isn't worth it.

The Ugly: The hotel is very very loud. You can hear every movement in the hallway and the first night when we were in the regular room on the side street there were people shouting and playing music and partying up and down the alleyway until 5 in the morning. I understand that this is Madrid and that's the lifestyle and it's awesome - but not when closing the windows doesn't even block it out.

The hotel in general is a bit run down although you can see that most of the staff genuinely tries.

The beds - two super hard twin beds pushed together to make a queen. My back didn't recover for weeks - although from my understanding this is typical of European hotels?

We had a terrible time checking out - we were there on a business trip and the card had already been pre-approved and just needed to be run but the desk clerk refused to run the card saying that we had to pay on our personal card. We were very lucky to have a dear friend there who could translate for us. 45 minutes later a manager finally came at our request, said "no problem" and ran the card. Lucky for her we weren't late to the airport to miss our flights.

Room Tip: Always opt for the family sized room - it's worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M, Revenue Management at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Client:

First at all we want to thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff. We are working to improve anytime a little more.
We are disappointed with your experience at the breakfast time, because we have a nice buffet with big variety of cold and hot food, bakery, fresh juices and coffe.

About the incident at the check out time, I have to inform you that at we ask for a credit card only for a guarantee, but has to be the client who pay at the end of the stay showing a ID. In case the company pay for you, has to sent an ID. showing who is the owner of the cretid card that appears on the reservation.

I hope next time we could do your stay nicer.

Kind regards

Alfredo Torralba
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The best thing of the hotel is the location and it's super fast free wifi. The best free wifi I have ever experienced. The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Most of the main tourist attractions are in walking distance from the hotel. The bathroom is very spacious for the European standards. In the room, the beds are good even the extra bed is also very good and comes with a side protector in case you have very small children and afraid they may roll down from the bed, with the side protector this is no longer an issue. The air conditioning is also good, though we were there in the end of September and the weather was no longer hot.

Things that can be improved:
1) Should include a kettle in the room as this is very important for travellers with babies or very young children where they need hot water.
2) The rooms should be better protected from noise as it can be very noisy outside the streets as well as the noise from the corridor. The noise from the streets can be clearly heard. Perhaps better windows?

Besides the noise, this hotel is well worth they stay considering other hotels with the similar standards in the same area.

Room Tip: Rooms are very noise if facing to other streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAnotherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary review of HT. We appreciate your comments however I can understand your disappointment with not having a kettle.
Hope you will join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#225 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Aquaria Negresco
Hotel Aquaria Negresco
#258 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#342 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#103 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Gran Via

Property: Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Address: C Mesoneros Romano 14 | (esquina Gran via 33), 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Avenida Gran Via)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Gran Via 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Hotel in Madrid, in the heart of the Gran Via Hotel Gran Avenida is a Hotel in Madrid that is located in a privileged location in the Spanish capital, in the heart of the Gran Via and just a few minutes walk from the Puerta del Sol, the Plaza Mayor and the old Hadsburg Madrid. Hotel Gran Avenida is surrounded by theatres, cinemas, department stores and restaurants, as well as being magnificently communicated with the metro and bus network. Due to all of this, it is a perfect accommodation option for a business or a tourism trip to Madrid. LOCATION More central imposible We are located in the heart of the Gran Via in Madrid, closet o the Puerta del Sol, the famous Km 0 of the city and emblematic monuments of the city such as the Royal Palace or Almudena Cathedral. Surrounded by shops, famous department stores, restaurants, cinemas, theatres and leisure centres, Hotel Avenida Gran Via is your perfect accommodation option to fully enjoy Madrid. We are located in the heart of the Gran Via in Madrid, closet o the Puerta del Sol, the famous Km 0 of the city and emblematic monuments of the city such as the Royal Palace or Almudena Cathedral. Surrounded by shops, famous department stores, restaurants, cinemas, theatres and leisure centres, Hotel Avenida Gran Via is your perfect accommodation option to fully enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Avenida Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Avenida Gran Via Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing