We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and super fast free wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Gran Via

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Ranked #369 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location and super fast free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The best thing of the hotel is the location and it's super fast free wifi. The best free wifi I have ever experienced. The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Most of the main tourist attractions are in walking distance from the hotel. The bathroom is very spacious for the European standards. In the room, the beds are good even the extra bed is also very good and comes with a side protector in case you have very small children and afraid they may roll down from the bed, with the side protector this is no longer an issue. The air conditioning is also good, though we were there in the end of September and the weather was no longer hot.

Things that can be improved:
1) Should include a kettle in the room as this is very important for travellers with babies or very young children where they need hot water.
2) The rooms should be better protected from noise as it can be very noisy outside the streets as well as the noise from the corridor. The noise from the streets can be clearly heard. Perhaps better windows?

Besides the noise, this hotel is well worth they stay considering other hotels with the similar standards in the same area.

Room Tip: Rooms are very noise if facing to other streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAnotherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary review of HT. We appreciate your comments however I can understand your disappointment with not having a kettle.
Hope you will join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    77
    96
    49
    24
See reviews for
62
99
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in september 2012. This hotel has very good location, close to everything. Very helpfull staff who always ready to answer all your questions and please you. Thank you for that. Thou room that we were staying in (Triple room) was way too small, they probably rolled in extra bed and you can hardly squeeze between these two beds. There was a space of approx 20 cm between beds. Also, the room not clean enough, Dust everywhere especially in the corners on the floor, our shower was not clean, had soap scum from previous guests.
Also, a bit noisy at night being in central position with pubs and clubs around.
I still would recommend this hotel based on location an friendliness of reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Online sales department at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your good comments.
However, if you had gone to reception most likely would have changed the room at that moment there was always able to do so, and offer an interior room.

We hope see you again in one of our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hotel has an excellent location but at the same time most of the rooms are really small and run-down. Nice, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Terhi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Host:

Thank you very much for your comment and for the confidence placed in High Tech for your stay in Madrid. As you point out our hotel is perfectly located in the center of Madrid. We regret the details that were not to your liking. We hope we get another chance to show our future improvements.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Rose Hill Maurtius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

The Hotel is well situated in the city,very close to several food outlet plus the vicinity of El Corte Ingles - departmental store with a food market attached. Puerta del sol, the centre of Madrid is a
mere klometre from the Hotel.

The place is 3 stars hotel & the guys at reception are quite friendly though French is barely spoken.The room is comfortable & good standard, with free WIFI connection.

The negative side:

I think a hospitality tray in the room, would brighten the day..98 % of T.V channel is in Spanish

A treat for those who would like to take a Spanish crash course !! The complimentary news paper
are also in Spanish.

Room Tip: No particular tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comments and also staying with us while visiting. We appreciate your comments however I can understand your disappointment with not having T.V channels and news papers in English. We are working for you have it in your next visit.

Thanks,
Yours sincerely

Online Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The best location in the city.. Located in the center of Madrid and convenient to all places we wanted to go. Hotel employees were all friendly and very helpful. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Nestor

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank nestor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M, Departamento de Ventas Online at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Client,

I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay. Thank you for recommending us.
I hope you will join us again in the near future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The location was good but thats about it. I was traveling with my husband and stayed 3 nights. On our last night, we were expecting another couple who were also visiting from the US. We kept asking at the reception if they have checked in and were told repeatedly that they had not, and there was noone by that name on their list. Our friends had indeed checked in, and were never given the message we had left for them. Later at night we called reception again and with very poor english were told that maybe our friends checked in at a different Petit Palace! We were upset that we couldnt see our friends and all because someone at the reception couldnt understand enough english to sort out the issue.
The sub block curtain in the room was torn so we couldnt completely block our the street lights (Room 402) and there was not a single english channel on TV. Not even an international news channel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shivani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#223 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Centro
Hotel Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Aquaria Negresco
Hotel Aquaria Negresco
#263 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Arosa
Hotel Arosa
#231 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#324 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Gran Via

Property: Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Address: C Mesoneros Romano 14 | (esquina Gran via 33), 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Avenida Gran Via)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Gran Via 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Hotel in Madrid, in the heart of the Gran Via Hotel Gran Avenida is a Hotel in Madrid that is located in a privileged location in the Spanish capital, in the heart of the Gran Via and just a few minutes walk from the Puerta del Sol, the Plaza Mayor and the old Hadsburg Madrid. Hotel Gran Avenida is surrounded by theatres, cinemas, department stores and restaurants, as well as being magnificently communicated with the metro and bus network. Due to all of this, it is a perfect accommodation option for a business or a tourism trip to Madrid. LOCATION More central imposible We are located in the heart of the Gran Via in Madrid, closet o the Puerta del Sol, the famous Km 0 of the city and emblematic monuments of the city such as the Royal Palace or Almudena Cathedral. Surrounded by shops, famous department stores, restaurants, cinemas, theatres and leisure centres, Hotel Avenida Gran Via is your perfect accommodation option to fully enjoy Madrid. We are located in the heart of the Gran Via in Madrid, closet o the Puerta del Sol, the famous Km 0 of the city and emblematic monuments of the city such as the Royal Palace or Almudena Cathedral. Surrounded by shops, famous department stores, restaurants, cinemas, theatres and leisure centres, Hotel Avenida Gran Via is your perfect accommodation option to fully enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Avenida Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Avenida Gran Via Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing