We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Hotel Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Ranked #273 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed June 14, 2014

we stayed for two night in early june. we had two rooms, a double and a triple. everything was clean. we booked the most basic rooms so they were small and the triple was a bit tight. but a solid choice for a lower budget stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank MD O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 757 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms are small, of course, but perfectly clean and adequate. We had a "superior" room with two twin beds and a tiny balcony. It had three windows. The location's ideal: a few blocks from the metro, a few steps from Plaza Mayor, and walking distance from all the great restaurants we enjoyed. You can also walk to the museums from here - and we're New Yorkers, so we were fine with that - but the metro's an option, too. The San Miguel market is also very close. Sometimes it could get a little loud in the square.

Breakfast comes with the room and it's pretty good - the watermelon was delicious and fresh. There's also other assorted fruit, eggs, bacon, cereal, ham & cheese, coffee and tea.

The one down side is that the beds aren't great so our backs were hurting after a couple of nights. Also, our bathroom door wouldn't close and was never fixed during our time there. Other than that, however, the staff was very helpful and friendly, especially our buddy George, who mans the desk at night.

Room Tip: worth the money for a superior! if you're a light sleeper, i'd ask to avoid facing the plaza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bklyncullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in August 2013, peak season and only AU$110 per night.

A Hostal rather than a Hotel but good value for money. On arrival (in our hire car) I pulled up outside to unload the luggage but due to being located next to a government was quickly moved on by a Guarda Civil, that meant parking about 1km away and walking with our luggage to the hotel, which for those with a lot of luggage and not mobile could be a big problem.

Room was a habitacion matrimonial (a double bed) and with a lovely view. Nice and quiet with double glazing (for our siestas) and very clean with good facilities.

Staff were young and obviously inexperienced but friendly enough. Located adjacent to the main square this is a great location to base yourselves in. Easy walking distance to transport hubs and the hop on hop off bus routes.

Good value for money and highly recommended BUT not for those with mobility issues.

Walking towards the square is the Restorante Plaza Mayor (on right towards archway), highly recommended for pre-siesta/dinner drinks and you get vouchers for their bar/cafe in the main square itself. I'll try and write a review on that as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RossWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

OK this is a good two star hotel at a good price, so the rooms are not 5 star, but adequate and clean, staff friendly and helpful. Great location etc etc

BUT...yet again a hotel in Spain that advertises air conditioning but takes the decision on my behalf that it is not required until the end of May... If that was said in the advertising I would have gone somewhere else. If they are trying to save money put the charges up a couple of Euros...do not upset the customer when you do not need to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a fabulous low cost hotel just a steeping stone from Plaza Mayor and pretty much all the attractions you would like to visit on a 2-3 day stopover. Excellent, helpful English savvy staff. Terrific breakfast options with ex. Coffee. Rooms are small, but the so is the price, and after all, how long do you spend in them. Everything worked fine. This was the first of 18 hotels we stayed in. 9 hotels down, 9 to go and this was the cheapest of our stays and for location it can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms will have street noise, internal rooms no light but supremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My mother (mid-60's), niece (early-20's) and I (40) traveled to Madrid and stayed at the Hotel Plaza Mayor February 9-13, 2014. We traveled from Barcelona and arrived via high-speed train at the Puerta de Atocha train station in Madrid. We then took the Metro 4 stops to the SOL Metro station. After figuring out which way we needed to go out of the square we walked up a slight hill 5 minutes with our rolling luggage (in the rain) to Hotel Plaza Mayor. Note that Hotel Plaza Mayor is not in the main square, but just outside of it.

The lobby is on the main floor (only have to go up one step into the lobby). The lobby also is shared with a coffee bar and the breakfast room. The staff did speak English. Our room was located on the next floor up from reception and we could either walk up about 15 stairs or take the tiny elevator located down the hall. The hotel lobby and halls were clean, quiet and our floor had a few couches and books in the hall for the guests pleasure. Our room was a "family" room with three twin beds, a desk, small closet and good sized bathroom with a tub. We also had a balcony looking out onto the street. Since it rained most of the time (and even snowed!), house keeping turned up our heat to make sure we were warm upon our return from sight seeing. Also, we enjoyed grabbing picnic supplies at the Mercado de San Miguel (on the other side of Plaza Mayor) and having a picnic lunch back in the hotel out of the rain. We even purchased a bottle of wine from the hotel for our meal. Our room was clean, well taken care of and quiet for a standard (not luxury) hotel. No complaints here.

Location was good and central. Only a few minutes walk down a slight hill to Puerto del Sol (Madrid's Metro, hub and city center) and also to Plaza Mayor (another main square). Lots of restaurants and souvenir shopping near the hotel and in and around the plaza's. We enjoyed a Flamenco dinner show at Las Carboneras and a drink over at the "Bull Bar" or Torre del Oro Bar Andalu, both close to the hotel. A good 20 minute walk to Palacio Real (Royal Palace), Retiro Park and various Museum's. Even though it rained and cold most of the time on our visit we decided to walk and see the city to get a real experience.

Breakfast was good and consisted of tea, coffee, juice, meats, cheeses, bread/rolls, jam, canned and fresh fruit. The only thing we didn't like was sharing the small space with the coffee bar. Many customers came in off the street to get their morning coffee, which also brought in the cold air. The customers would stand around our table as we were eating which was a little awkward.

Upon our departure, we booked a taxi the day before with the receptionist. It was nice to have a taxi assigned to us waiting at the front door with a fixed price already arranged prior to departure to the airport.

If we are ever in Madrid again, we'd most likely stay here again due to cleanliness and location to sites. Price was competitive for other standard hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tcab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was the most pleasant hotel we stayed in while in Madrid. The staff is very helpful, & spoke English well. The room we had was facing the street with a tiny balcony and great windows. We enjoyed the breakfast included with our room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinggirl400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#230 of 443 in Madrid
227 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#231 of 443 in Madrid
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 443 in Madrid
1,812 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 443 in Madrid
648 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#60 of 443 in Madrid
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Atocha 2, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#149 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $67 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel opened its doors in 1997, in 2007 the hotel was reformed and extended its rooms until the present 33 rooms and our Palomar Suite.We offer all the advantages of careful and personal. Our personnel will serve as aid offering you all the information that you need during your visit, person to person.We are an excellent election for the independent traveller who’s looking to discover the traditional flavour of Madrid in a different and calm way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Plaza Mayor Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing