We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out”
Review of Hotel Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Ranked #257 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watch out”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked this hotel based on their location, which is excellent, and pictures of rooms on their website. Unfortunately, we were given a dark dreary hole of a room. The "window" looked out on a ventilation shaft. The security gate was broken. Curtains had to be kept closed anyway as opposite window was only a few feet away. We were told that since the hotel was full they had no other room for us .... Even though we'd booked months ahead. Apparently, it's first come, first served, no matter what you book.
To the hotel: at least redecorate this room (107) with bright pastels and reduce the price for it. You could also switch the desk and armoire locations to improve at least the illusion of having a window.
Internet was excellent.

Room Tip: You take your chances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontGrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    346
    102
    24
    24
See reviews for
104
300
94
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Right off the Plaza Mayor and easy walk to Puerta Del Sol. Our room was clean and fairly large by European standards. Bathroom was large and modern, very clean. We had the room with the window right behind the flags so we had a nice view of the square that leads to the Plaza Mayor. Hotel staff was so nice and very helpful. Breakfast was simple but very good and fresh. Could have as much coffee as I like. Excellent value hotel for Madrid. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

There is nothing to rave about at this hotel per se, and that is probably part of its charm and the reason it remains affordable in such a fantastic location. It is simply a clean, well-maintained, affordable establishment with an accommodating staff in the city's perfect location.

I opted for a superior room, and it was well worth a few extra euro, as it put me in the corner of the second floor (third story), facing the intersection in front. That said, it is not a heavily trafficked intersection, so noise was never an issue. Just a lot of great light, with it's floor-to-ceiling windows. The décor is very simple and modern, so what it may lack in character or charm it more than makes up for in efficiency and comfort. I had plenty of space to move around in the corner unit, with a king bed and writing desk. And the wireless signal was strong and reliable. Very clean WC, the shower with good pressure and hot water; all of the necessary amenities provided.

The staff is very friendly, and all appeared to be English-proficient. As I arrived well before check-in time, I was offered early check in for a small fee (a most welcome offer, following a 12-hour commute from Lisbon).

The breakfast buffet provides something for everyone, and the vending machine in the lobby has beer. (Beer can be placed on the window sill to keep chilled during the Spanish autumn, but you didn't hear that from me.)

And this place is where you want to be, mere steps from Plaza Mayor (of course), and a few blocks from Puerta del Sol, from where you can catch a train to pretty much anywhere in the region. It is walking distance from most of the tourist destinations, and the area is rife with bars and restaurants -- including the world's oldest!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are, well, roomy! And a corner unit will provide you with a lot of window, but be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rwckennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a must stay hotel. The location is excellent but the most important aspect of this business is the staff who try to make the stay as good as it can be. I had a wonderful stay for 3 days at the Hotel Plaza Mayor and would recommend it to any traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oztraveller998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Tiny room with double bed.
Can barely get around the bed which kept sliding around.
The biggest problem with my room, and i suspect most others, is that the only heat in the room comes from the a/c conduit near the ceiling! No matter how high the heat, you create a cool draft around bed level where one spends most of the time in the room...And, of course, the otherwise new bathroom is compromised.
Madrid has many cold days, like this time starting in late Fall. This problem really needs to be rectified.
Poor light for reading.

Room Tip: If you need some heat in your room, choose another hotel. Otherwise the top floor rear is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Iklin,Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very central and within walking distance to most places, lot's of restaurants in the area. It's situated in a quite area just off plaza mayor. We found it to be quite cosy and comfy, The hotel rooms were clean and we had a street view. Very nice friendly staff. The breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: We chose two single bed room smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanicaFalzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located, and we could walk to most attraction places - gran via, puerta del sol, San Miguel etc. it's close proximity to puerta del sol and plaza mayor makes it really convenient and shops close much later so there is no problem in getting a late dinner. There is a small Chinese provision shop along the street infront of the hotel (can check with the front desk), but we got our water and snacks from a supermarket near San Miguel. From sol, can take the metro to almost everywhere with ease.

This guy at the front desk who checked me in and out was really cheery and friendly. I got a corner Room on the 4th floor and it was spacious and clean with daily housekeeping service. They have a new laundry service available (chargeable by number of pieces), otherwise can just go to this laundry shop at calle no. 7 - one wash at €4, €1 if dryer is required. Each wash is about 30 mins.

I booked an airport transfer from hotel to airport via aerocity and read some reviews that some travellers were not picked up for their transfer and had to get a cab instead. Being afraid that the same thing will happen, I tried to ask the front desk (a lady) to help me to call aerocity and confirm but she told me it's not necessary or I can call myself in the room (I thought it will be easier for her since I don't speak Spanish). The same happened when I checked with the friendly guy, so I suppose they feel that there is nothing wrong with aerocity service. Lucky for me, the service came and picked me up just slightly after the stipulated timing.

Overall, good hotel in central location and very affordable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellainsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#51 of 435 in Madrid
603 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#60 of 435 in Madrid
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#229 of 435 in Madrid
216 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#79 of 435 in Madrid
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Atocha 2, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Madrid
#149 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel opened its doors in 1997, in 2007 the hotel was reformed and extended its rooms until the present 33 rooms and our Palomar Suite.We offer all the advantages of careful and personal. Our personnel will serve as aid offering you all the information that you need during your visit, person to person.We are an excellent election for the independent traveller who’s looking to discover the traditional flavour of Madrid in a different and calm way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Plaza Mayor Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing