We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Friendly and Great Breakfasts”
Review of Hotel Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Ranked #257 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
northern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, Friendly and Great Breakfasts”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My family began our Europe vacation here in late June 2011. It was a referal I read about on TA and the rooms had been perfectly described and we had a delightful experience with everyone at the desk. We had two rooms, one triple for our teenagers and a double superior. All our bathrooms and fixtures were very modern, everything was clean and the beds were fine. When you walk as much as we did, we call fall asleep anywhere. The location in the center of old town was perfect...Breakfasts were very satisfying and accomodating for the two of us that had to be Gluten-free.....We walked to the Prada and the Parque de Retro with their lovely gardens and lake. We explored Toledo via train, booked a tour once we got off which was great and it included the Toledo Cathedral. In 2 short days, we realized our teens really appreciated the Art and the Cathedrals...we were set. There is a great dinner/flamingo show just 10min walk from the hotel we read about in one of the map designed brochures. We just headed down Atocha, away from Plaza Mayor,,,great guitar and dancing. Book no later than lunch the day before. We were there in late June and didn't pre-book anything for tours and made out just fine. Don't bother with the tram, not worth the ride even if you are bored.....What we enjoyed most besides the paella, were the late night wanderings throughout the city.....so many families and groups of all ages. WE felt safe everywhere we wandered. The main train station is a long walk away, doable, but not if you are in a hurry. It's a lovely station with an indoor park-like setting of plants and koi and turtle ponds.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the busy streets and taxis were always dropping off travelers, but we didn't fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    346
    102
    24
    24
See reviews for
104
300
94
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I visited Madrid, Spain in 2011. It is one whole square & the structure is simply amazing. It does look old from far, but a lot of history is made at this place. I also heard the ring area was used for bullfighting scenes?

There is also tons of souvenir shops just around the corner, & stepping into one...it seems the whole country is very passionate about their football.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chapter1_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was the second trip to Madrid for my wife and me. We stayed at this hotel both times. The first time we had one of the more expensive rooms which was fairly large. This time we decided to keep costs down, and went for a less expensive room. Both were a good value for the appropriate price. The location is excellent for walking to all major sights, and public transportation is convenient for those sights outside the central area. Breakfast is not included, as is typical of Spain. The buffet breakfast offered was worth the price for the two mornings we ate at the hotel. There are other places nearby for purchase of all levels of breakfast, and also a Starbucks (for those Americans who need that daily "fix"), which is about a ten minute walk..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye42_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

this hotel is in an amazingly good location - convenient yet away from the main crowds. service was also really good, hotel was clean and prices reasonable. nothing too fancy but had everything i needed to make my stay a pleasant and eventful one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Polska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Hostel Plaza Mayor is in the central of Spanish capital. Hostel is in old building but inside is clean and quite and friendly. Everyone speaks English so is no problem with ask about something. Hostel has good connections; bus stops and metro.

Room Tip: Take a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paweł A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Hotel Plaza Mayor is small (about 15 rooms on three upper floors), inexpensive (111 Euros in February 2012 for a single that was actually a small double if you're really good friends!), and a firm mattress that felt like it had a bed board underneath.  It's  very well located about 150 feet from the southwest entry to Plaza Mayor, a short walk north to Puerta del Sol and another walk south to Cava Baja and Cava Alta where the non tourist tapa bars reside.  I walked back to the hotel from The Prado about a mile along Calle de las Huertas, a pedestrian street.   I had room 203, the front corner with three large windows, two of which I could have opened but for the freezing climate.  Also a full size tub and shower but with minimal shelf space.  Room 201 is a very tiny single. The others are doubles.  Full breakfast is included, scrambled eggs one day and fried the second. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xyz113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I travel in various parts of Spain every year, and usually fly in to Madrid. We always stay at the Hotel Plaza Mayor for a few nights on our way in or out. It is a very pleasant, friendly smaller historic hotel in a great location, just steps from the Plaza Mayor in the centre of Madrid. It is easy to get to by taxi from Atocha, the main train station, with a vast number of cafes, restaurants, and tapas bars close by. You can walk to the main shopping streets and many of the attractions in Madrid (the Prado, the Retiro, the Royal Palace) from there. The hotel is a real bargain for Madrid, whjch can be an expensive city. We also enjoy their personal touch, which is lacking in the larger "chain" hotels.

The hotel interior is nicely designed to retain the architectural features of the building, which is over 200 years old. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished, with comfortable large beds and spotless bathrooms. The hotel staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful (they recognize us now) and speak several languages well, not just English. They will provide advice, call you a taxi, print your boarding passes etc. The breakfast is good quality; a variety of the usual European breakfast food (excellent tortilla!), nice coffee, and is convenient. It's busy in the Plaza Santa Cruz outside the hotel during the day, but quiet at night. We always ask for the second floor room that occupies the front corner of the hotel. It has lovely big windows that look out over the street and the plaza beyond.

Overall, this charming hotel is a very good value for anyone who wants to enjoy the "ambiente" right in the centre of old Madrid.

Room Tip: We always ask for the second floor room that occupies the front corner of the hotel. It has lovely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OntarioPacked2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#51 of 435 in Madrid
603 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#60 of 435 in Madrid
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#229 of 435 in Madrid
216 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#79 of 435 in Madrid
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Atocha 2, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Madrid
#149 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel opened its doors in 1997, in 2007 the hotel was reformed and extended its rooms until the present 33 rooms and our Palomar Suite.We offer all the advantages of careful and personal. Our personnel will serve as aid offering you all the information that you need during your visit, person to person.We are an excellent election for the independent traveller who’s looking to discover the traditional flavour of Madrid in a different and calm way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Plaza Mayor Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing