We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean and comfortable”
Review of Hostal Cruz Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Cruz Sol
Ranked #285 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean and comfortable”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is located in a charming "plaza" on the 3rd floor. Elevator works perfectly, big enough for me and my bags. Less than a minute distance from Plaza Mayor and close to a lot of other sightseeing places.
Great value, would recommend to friends and family. Private room is small but very comfy, with a double bed and private bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaY224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    123
    51
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
144
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked a single room with private bathroom for 2 nights in February for 30 euros per night. Situated just next to Plaza Mayor and only few minutes from the Sol metro station, your location cannot get much better. Arriving to Hostal Cruz Sol too early to check-in (11:15 am), I was welcome by an older lady who did not speak much English but what she lacked in English, she totally made-up by her helpfulness. She explained that my room is not ready and to come back at 12:30 but I was able to leave my luggage and use the bathroom which was what mattered to me. When I came back, I was taken to 1st floor to my room, small but cosy with a large bed, a wardrobe, TV on a small table and 2 chairs. The room was thoughtfully decorated and both the room and the bathroom were clean. The window was to a side street with many cars during the day but with the window closed, I could not hear them much. The heating was on at night, so no chance to get cold. And if you just cannot make the stairs after a full day of walking in Madrid, there is a lift. The room was cleaned ok on the 2nd day. Check-out is at 12, so you can sleep in or do whatever and come back to check out. It is possible to leave your luggage and use the bathroom after checkout. Btw. to security: During the stay you have a card that allows you to enter the building (open during the day but closed at night), to your floor (all floors are closed off) and your room - so you can just come and leave anytime and the place feels very safe too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hostal Cruz Sol gave us exactly what we were expecting. As everyone here has said, the location is phenomenal - it is right next to the Plaza Mayor and very near the Mercado de San Miguel, and many attractions and wonderful restaurants are within walking distance. You'll want to walk anyway, the old sections of Madrid are enchanting, with new bars and restaurants around every corner.

On top of that, it was a great value. The rooms are small but adequate, and that should be expected in this price range. For the location, I don't think you can do much better. I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolalu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If a clean comfortable place to stay in a great location but no extras is what you need I would recommend the Hostal Cruz Sol. The hostel was located at the plaza Santa Cruz (.Just next to the plaza Mayor) and is located on 3rd floor of the building. The room was very small but very clean. Also the bathroom was very small but clean and lots of towels. There was no breakfast served but when you live surrounded by eating joints literally who cares??? For the price …. it was perfect….When you enter, you either walk up an ancient flight of stairs or take a tiny elevator up to the third floor, where you are checked in by a housekeeper who doesn't speak English but a smile, lots of gestures and basic words go a long way!!!!. Our room was 308 facing the square and simply superb!!! It had a convertible bed as well as 2 singles…very nice!!!! A safe to keep you imp stuff is good too, Pre book to get good prices. Across the Plaza is the Mercado de San Juan, a glass covered market full of tapas bars Plaza Mayor is next door and the Royal Palace was a 10 minute walk away. In the evening we were entertained by the sounds of guitars and violins and songs sung by groups of three or more….and all this from our balcony from the 3rd floor. Room and building very secure, We were provided with a swipe card. Airport 30 mins away via Metro station Sol.All the tourist info you need is at the Plaza Mayor next door as are the city tour buses. Great shopping along the streets too!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza..If travelling in threes ask for 308.. it will give you 3 beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonaijanowahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilia-romagna
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I spent 5 nights at Cruz Sol and I can say it provides great value for the money. Location is perfect, just next to Plaza Major and most of nightlife and attractions are at walking distance, Rooms are very basic but clean. Lady at the reception was nice and helpful. It's located at the second floor but there is an elevator.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trappolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Not luxury, but who cares when you're so close to the action!
We thoroughly enjoyed our quick stay here.

we traveled back in 2008

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lozza_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sure, this place isn't a luxury hotel by any means. When you enter, you either walk up a rustic flight of stairs or take a tiny elevator up to the third floor, where you are checked in by a housekeeper, and they don't really speak English. The rooms are small, and the shower faucet wasn't attached to the wall, but otherwise, everything was perfect. It is a clean, comfortable room, in the most perfect location. It is a 1 minute walk from Plaza Mayor, a 3 minute walk to Puerto del Sol, and a block away from the metro. Literally, the location couldn't be any better. The price point is perfect, definitely worth it, and I highly highly recommend it for budget travelers!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#223 of 435 in Madrid
216 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#232 of 435 in Madrid
243 reviews
Centro
Hostal Hispalense
Hostal Hispalense
#298 of 435 in Madrid
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal la Macarena
Hostal la Macarena
#242 of 435 in Madrid
198 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#96 of 435 in Madrid
596 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#195 of 435 in Madrid
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cruz Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cruz Sol

Property: Hostal Cruz Sol
Address: Plaza Santa Cruz 6 Pl, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cruz Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Cruz Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Cruz Sol Madrid
Hostal Cruz Sol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing