We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Ranked #125 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

is a very nice modern hotel with very good breakfast included next to the metro station clean and very big rooms is a vey big hotel with conference rooms just a few minutes from the airport............,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    353
    113
    14
    11
See reviews for
135
259
48
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was a non planned trip. I had to replace a colleague and had to go almost without notice.
I made a quick check on the hotel's website and it seemed OK!
Well, it had to be since it is a 4 star hotel...

I have to say that the personnel is very friendly and helpful and the room decoration, although simple, was nice and it had enough space.. And the TV was big! A real TV. Not a 20" micro mini sized screen.

The worst came at night. The mattress was too soft and you could perfectly hear people talking on the corridor or having bath. On the other end, there was no sounds from the outside and no light passed by or through the curtains.

The temperature on the room was nice and could easily setting a new one. As long as one does not minded the noise of the air conditioning.

On the morning you can have a big room for your breakfast, which I found complete and, again, with very nice staff, ready to get your requests.

That said, the hotel was nice in general but does not deserves the four stars. Something between the three and four would more fair.

Room Tip: I would say top floor last room on one of the wings since the chance of getting people passing by ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjaa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear jjaa1974,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room amenities and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the mattress and noise during your stay. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Despite being quite far from the centre of Madrid, this hotel is not a bad choice for those looking for good-value accommodation. It is about a 3-minute walk from the nearest metro stop, which will get you to the centre of town on Line 5 in about 20 minutes. In the other direction, it's about a 10-minute drive from the airport.
Our room/bathroom was not the most modern, but did have a large flat-screen TV and an amazingly comfortable bed (note: a double not 2 singles pushed together, which was a definite plus point) with high-quality white bed linen. It was also extremely clean and very quiet and despite the curtains not blocking out light from outside, we slept very well here. There was a large range of good toiletries, but which bizarrely, did not include soap, so we had to wash our hands with shower gel, which was not replenished when our room was cleaned. The hotel has free wifi and internet reception was fine in the room (there were also computer terminals with internet access next to the lobby).
Breakfast was excellent: jugs of fresh coffee and steaming milk brought to us within 2 minutes of sitting down and a buffet with a huge range of choice and something for everyone: fresh fruit, hot food including amazing tortillas, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, salad, yoghurts and pastries, biscuits and churros. Everything was plentiful and looked and tasted fresh.
The individual staff were friendly and helpful without being pushy, but I felt that in general, the management lacks a little attention to detail, e.g. reminders to replace toiletries when finished and providing guests with a little more information, for example, informing/reminding guests about the free shuttle bus at the time of booking.
Can't comment on the spa, gym or restaurants as we did not visit them.
All in all, I think the Velada is a great choice for those looking for pool, gym and spa facilities at a great price in a convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissy_vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Lissy_vs,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel from the metro stop and enjoyed our breakfast selections. We would like to apologize for the over all experience you had that did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Terrible hotel! Тhis is not a four star hotel. Rooms do not correspond to the pictures, very old furniture, faded linens, creaky bed, a disgusting smell in the room, even though we asked for when booking a non smoking room. After the check-out, we left our bag in the luggage at the front desk. After we returned the desk clerk said that they gave our luggage to others. We had to go to the police and to write a statement. In the end we went home without our things. After 33 days!! our departure, the hotel sent us our bag, but there's no a few personal belongings worth about 200 euros!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Alice L,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala, Spain. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

A decent hotel with good size rooms, a swimming pool and a gym. The minibar was well stocked and reasonably priced and the hotel bar is quite nice. The hotel is also in a good area with some great restaurants mentioned in the mitchellin guide and some good tapas bars. It is about a 20 minute metro ride to the centre of town but the metro is close so this was not a problem and the price of the hotel reflected this. My only gripe was about the swimming pool as this was a little small and was quite often booked with classes for non-hotel guests thus meaning only one lane was free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel has the potential to be very good but there are a few things that I have marked it down for.
Positives: The rooms are clean, bathrooms spotless, great complimentary toiletries including the bonus ones such as shaving and toothbrush/toothpaste kits. Not centre of Madrid but very easy to get there either by metro (station just 2mins down the road) or by car (15mins approx.). It is also very conveniently located only 3km from the airport and the hotel provides a free shuttle bus that you need to book in advance. Breakfast is wonderful - lots of choice including a great variety of cheeses, pastries, cakes, hot items, including totilla and the delicious churros.
Also really good gym in the hotel and a swimming/sauna area.
Negatives: Ordered room service and it took about 45minutes to arrive... I only ordered a sandwich and it was fairly early in the evening so it shouldn't really have taken so long. When it arrived and the porter left, I discovered they had brought me the wrong sandwich so I called and asked for it to be replaced which was brought to me in a much quicker time but it looked a bit thrown together when it arrived.
The bathroom had a jacuzzi style bath, but unfortunately I discovered once I had run my bath that these pumps didn't work! Bit of a disappointment.
In conclusion, this hotel is in a convenient location for both the airport and the centre of Madrid and you pay much less for the rooms than if you were to stay somewhere central. Staff are also very friendly and helpful which always makes your stay more pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near lifts as the rooms themselves are not so well sound insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewbyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
225 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My room 204 was ok during my 5 night stay. Big spacy bathroom with a nice shower. Because of the stickers indicating 'that Madrid needs water', I didn't take a bath. Big box with lots of amenities.
The bed was ok although a bit hard. The small old TV needs to be updated with a flatscreen.
Downside is that the room can't be made completely dark as the curtains were not able to fullfil that taks as spotlights of the inner square gave too much light in the room.
Big buffet breakfast, which is ok, but no slices of bread to be found, neither Nutella...
Very well equiped gym with splendid spinning bikes. Use of the pool early in the evening can be forgotten as it is occupied by children taking swimminglessons.
I didn't like the food in the bar. The first night I took a burger, but it was not cooked enough and the french fries and calamari were swimming in fat. So, didn't eat there the other nights.
Price, as indicated in the room, was 310 euros per night. Not that I had to pay it, but still I find it too expensive for this hotel.
Distance to Madrid centre is 20 minutes by taxi in the evening or by metro.
As my return flight was only at 20:00 I asked for a late check-out, but that could only be honoured if I would pay for it, and it could only be confirmed in the morning. As there was a public transport strike I didn't go for it in the end.
Conclusion: I've been in much better hotels, but also worse. That's why this review gets only an average score.

Room Tip: If you want a completely dark room avoid those that are on the inner square side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#171 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#249 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#126 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#157 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#97 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala

Property: Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Address: C/ Alcala 476, 28027 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Velada Madrid Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#92 Family Hotel in Madrid
#104 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#106 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Madrid, the economic, political and social centre of Spain, Velada Hotels present a hotel designed to cater to your every need, located on one of the city’s main thoroughfares, the Calle Alcalá. The hotel is strategically located in the city centre, minutes from the Congress and Convention Centre (IFEMA) and Barajas Airport, making it an ideal destination for any type of trip. Opened in the spring of 2003, the Velada Madrid Hotel has a total of 261 rooms spread over four floors, with all kinds of services and amenities to ensure an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velada Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing