We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for exploring Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Puerta del Sol
Ranked #53 of 390 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Olomouc,Czech republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Perfect for exploring Madrid”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I was quite worried when I saw reviews but I dont regret at all that I have chosen this hostal. Easy access from the airport by subway - better have a look at the map before which corner of Puerta del Sol it is. We found it easily but it might be not so easy somebody. The hostal is on the fourth floor but there is a lift to get you there. Inside invite you very nice and friendly atmosfere. Gays and straight people were at the time half to half.
Rooms are small, but nice and clean and we had not square view so we had really good sleep without noise accept guests coming back. Housekeeping is every day and if you want they change towels every day too.
Breakfast is a big plus because in this type of accommodation hostals usually dont offer anything or you have to pay extra! So for those who complain about very simple offer remember this.
Just one complain: if you offer TWIN rooms have a look somewhere what it means or just put in your adds that you have only doubles.

Room Tip: Not a square view if you want a quality sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva-cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    108
    49
    9
    20
See reviews for
17
90
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg, Vastra Gotaland, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I really enjoyed my staying in Madrid, the stuff were great, you get help all the time, good internet and good breakfest, location is awesome it is close to everything and I never used bus or unsderground. you get too much for little money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Would definately stay here again! I wanted a moderate price room with central location and this hotel offers that and more! Easy to find and if you are coming into Madrid with all the luggage, this is just a few steps out of the metro! Perfect location, right in the Puerta Del sol square, had a simple room clean and nice air cond. Hardly in the hotel except to sleep..the best part is easy access to all places from the metro which is a few steps away. because it is in the square, had a few quick trip back to room after shopping around the areas! check out the made in spain shoe shop that is round the corner. many colourful and for party shoes for man! Have never seen such colourful, flashy, bling selection! Simple but good breakfast, nice friendly owner who offer many suggestions for local clubbing..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Hotel good located geographically over the noise of the Puerta del sol square. Friendly staff, Clean room and good breakfast but no changed. location to be recommanded and which i will return whithout hesitation.

Yvon Proulx
Québec, Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed there for 4 nights just this September 2011. I think it's an ideal hostel for the following reasons:

Great location or let me say perfect location: as you step out of the building, you'll find yourself in Puerta del Sol square. The interesting places are walking distance from there. But if you don't feel like walking, there's always the train and the station is right on that square. El Corte Ingles is also just across so you can buy your stock of bottled water among other things from its supermarket.

Breakfast: Simple alright but you can have as much as you like.

Wifi: works even when you're in your room

Rooms: I had a single suite and I had no problems with it. Cleaner comes in everyday to tidy up the room. Bathroom got spare towels plus basic toiletries.

Security: Got a number of keys (different keys for the building entrance, hallway, etc) aside from my room key so I felt so safe and secured.

Ricardo: who manned the reception was very helpful and even offered tips about the city so he deserved a special mention

Price: All these things for a very reasonable if not really low price.

Room Tip: I got a room that's not facing the square that's why I didn't experience the noise that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The3rdDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed here for 4 days in May 2011 and thought it was great value for money, considering its price and location right in the heart of Madrid.

My room was basic but clean, and looked right down to Puerta del Sol square where thousands of students and youths held their protest against Spanish government's austerity measures during my stay there which was quite fun to watch.

Ricardo, the receptionist, was very friendly and helpful and tipped me with all the useful information about Madrid and that area.

Breakfast was simple but good. They offered free coffee and tea all day, which was nice. True the soundproof was quite bad, and you can hear whatever the couple next door was up to at midnight lol, but it's a very old building and there's little you can do about it. Wifi worked in the room but better in the lounge.

I would return here if I go back to Madrid again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great experience. The location right on Puerta del Sol is great with the subway right outside your door. Easy walk to most of the important sights and all the great night spots. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable. And best of all, the price was amazing. I had a shared bath, but it was next door to my room and was never a problem. I would not stay any place else if I go back to Madrid.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies overlooking Puerta del Sol are a real plus so ask if you can get one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyhjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#73 of 435 in Madrid
90 reviews
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 435 in Madrid
2,492 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#84 of 435 in Madrid
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Puerta del Sol

Property: Hostal Puerta del Sol
Address: Plaza Puerta del Sol 14-4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 390 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Puerta del Sol 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice rooms in the center of Madrid, Puerta del Sol Square. Tourisme and night life is here. All rooms have air cond, and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing