We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, just what was needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Ranked #196 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great, just what was needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was very pleased with the hotel, it was clean, comfortable and had plenty of space in my room and a good sized bathroom too. If I didn't know that the Senator hotel at 21 Gran Via was closer to the Gran Via metro I would have been even more pleased with the location. We made the most of being in the midst of some great shops etc and found some nice local places to eat nearby too.

The staff were really helpful and friendly. I'd recommend it to anyone, but check out the one at number 70 if you don't want to walk quite so far to public transport as it is right by a metro stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We are very proud of the location of the hotel. As you said we are in the very centre of Madrid within a walking distance to most of the touristic points of the city.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Mónica Gómez
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    484
    202
    85
    67
See reviews for
324
431
69
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a weekend after spending the majority of our summer in Northern Spain. This hotel has great staff who speak many languages. They understood English and gave us perfect directions to tourist spots around town. The rooms were a little 'tight' so to speak. We had double beds which was two beds literally touching with no space between. We had just enough walking room around the beds circumference wise. LOL! Which after a day of site seeing and partying all night this didnt really matter. This hotel is on a main street which has many shopping stores and close to many major tourists sites and restaurants. Whether your searching for a delicious Bocadillo in a tapas bar or craving TGIFridays or Starbucks you will find it within walking distance from this hotel. Note as in any country be aware of your surroundings many many pick pocketers. While sitting at the hotel lobby bar a woman had her purse taken off the back of her chair. Although this was disappointing to witness I would 100% stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Be aware of your surroundings many pick pockets around this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 198JenSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much the hotel and our location during your stay and the service provided by our staff.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Mónica Gómez
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonOF
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is ideally located for a weekend city break in Madrid. The rooms are a touch out of date but spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and obliging. A bit surprised the guests had to pay to use the spa but wasn't very much. We made use of the jacuzzi on the rooftop which was excellent, particularly when it was over 100 degrees. The sun loungers could have done with some cushions as trying to lie out on a wooden sun lounger is a bit uncomfortable.

Breakfast was plentiful and there was lots of choice.

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel to others for a cheap, clean, well equiped hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Mónica Gómez
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Situated on the main shopping street and a short walk to a wide range of attractions, bars and restaurants.

Staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Room really big and spacious. Bed very comfortable. Water and cola in the minibar were free and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It was pretty hot when we stayed (40 +) and air conditioning effective

There is a bar within the hotel and again barman spoke English and was very helpful.

Enjoyed the hot tubs on the roof but did not try the spa.

It is one of the nicest rooms we have had in a capital city and will hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graytowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Mónica Gomez
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

100 metres from the Plaza de España metro station and walking distance to many central attractions, which was a great help with two children in buggies. We had three family rooms and the reception desk let us check in to one of them so we could leave our bags, even though it was around midday when we arrived. Staff also arranged for an item left in the room to be taxied to the airport for us, which was fantastic, so special thanks to Laura on reception for her help. Roof terrace gave great views over the city and it was nice to sit in the cool water of the roof top jacuzzi to cool down in the evening. Rooms clean, very spacious and very quiet, given that they looked down on Gran Vía itself and breakfast great, with hot options available and freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Mónica Gómez
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedreguer, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here in May for 4 nights with friends visiting from Scotland. Location was great but a little disappointed in the rooms and public areas. We found the reception and bar staff friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss when busy - even ran out of coffee one morning - and replacement trays of food very slow in coming. OK if you went to breakfast early but wait to 08.45 and the staff seemed to disappear. Overall fair value but definitely needs a bit more comfort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roby1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We are really sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy the breakfast because it was too busy.
We are really sorry to hear that the room you had during your stay didn´t like you. Had we known it, we would have offered you to move to another room more accordingly with your needs as we are renewing constantly everything that needs it.

We hope that you can give us another opportunity in the future as our maximum aim is that our guests feel like at home during their stay here and that they think about us for their following visits to Madrid. We are sorry to hear that we haven´t achieved it this time.

Mónica Gómez
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#170 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#99 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#108 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#157 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Address: Calle Gran Via 70, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#131 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Espana Hotel Madrid
Senator Espana Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing