We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly unterrated on tripadvisor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel
Ranked #197 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Highly unterrated on tripadvisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Have you ever wondered if the hotel reviews you read are really from travellers stayed at the hotel? If somebody writes "no WiFi" and you actually find when you are there that the hotel offers a highspeed WiFi service for all your devices (laptop, smartphone etc.) was the review really from a hotel guest or a competitor hotel that tries to ruin the other hotel?

Well I am currently at the High Tech Hotel in Madrid and enjoying my stay. I pay 69.99 EUR per night including breakfast and WiFi (room 402).

What I like
+ Free shuttle from the Madrid airport (just call and they pick you up)
+ Free WiFi for all your devices (not limited to one device as in other hotels)
+ Clean rooms with a king size bed
+ Nice spacious bathrooms with a fancy shower, bidet and toilet
+ Quiet setup in a residential neighborhood with no major roads around it
+ Free home trainer provided in the room (see pictures)
+ Very friendly service people going up and beyond
+ Read drinking glasses (not the cheap plastic cups you find in other budget hotels)
+ Flatscreen TV with many Spanish and some international channels
+ Two fast elevators
+ Pool and relaxation area outside (in summer)
+ Air conditioning in the rooms (not standard in cheaper hotels)
+ Free Dell laptop in the room for Internet (!)
+ Free hot breakfast and yummi

What I don't like that much
- the shower is "high tech" but if a German engineer cannot figure out how to turn it on there is something wrong :)
- Dinner really is mediocre at the hotel - small portions and what I ate was never ever a Sirloin steak (though paid 19 EUR)

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaki78089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Departamento de Ventas Online at Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you very much for choosing High Tech Hotels and sending your feedback. We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so... That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction. We appreciate your comments and we are working to improve our services for the clients to have a pleasant stay.

We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    243
    155
    70
    49
See reviews for
201
184
65
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campo de Criptana, Spain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a short one day visit. The hotel was very accommodating with the airport transfer. My friend was coming from the airport early in the morning and I was coming later on. When my friend arrived at Barajas she called the hotel and they picked her up. If you're looking to see the sights in Madrid it's not the right place as it's really far from the center. However, if you're looking for a place to stay if you have an early morning flight, as in my case, it's fine. In terms of the rooms, they're nothing special. It's an alright place to spend a night. The beds not very comfortable because they're very hard and the pillows are very flat. The shower was also very complicated to operate. We had to call the reception and have someone come up to help us figure it out. There was no Wifi either. This was a fine place to sleep, but nothing more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Departamento de Ventas Online at Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear client:

Thank you very much for you comment about our Hotel High Tech Madrid Aeropuerto.
We will bear in mind your comment about the bed and shower and we will do our best to improve in this issue. We take note of each and every guest´s observations that it helps us to improve every day.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels. We will be at your complete disposal for anything you may need.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here one night in November at the recommendation of friends who've stayed here previously. The experience was excellent, and I found the room to be quite comfortable.

Other reviewers have complained about things that were not at all issues for me: the shower stall was adequately sized, I very much like thin pillows, and the location was convenient to both the Metro and the airport.

The front desk staff was excellent — particularly Inés, whom I barraged with random requests and who watched with some level of horror as I cut a SIM card to fit an iPhone 5 with her scissors.

The wifi is a little pokey, but everything else was great. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AxeYrCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Departamento de Ventas Online at Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it was about as good as the first time 11 months ago. The location by the airport and the general quality and cleanliness were very good. We had trouble sleeping with the very flat bedpillows. and the Internet service was very problematical. The breakfast buffet was okay, but I don't rate it as good on variet and qfood ualitya s others we have had in the U.S. or other hotels in Spain. That said, I would still use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Departamento de Venta Online at Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:

Agradecemos el tiempo invertido en escribir el comentario, nos agrada saber que su estancia en el High Tech Madrid Aeropuerto ha cumplido con sus expectativas, aunque determinados detalles no hayan sido de su agrado. Estaremos encantados de recibirle de nuevo y le aseguramos que nos esforzaremos al máximo para que su estancia sea inmejorable.

Gracias por depositar su confianza en nosotros.

Un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed here twice but I don't think I will go back, the first time was not a good experience so I found a very good hotel not far from this one which I have used in many occasion and I find it very good. In this particular occasion I could not get in to the other hotel because fully booked so I thought to give the high tech a second chance. The staff are very friendly and quite helpful but the beds are very unconfortable, the shower cubicles are way to small and it can take a while to understand how they work. I did book a room with a big bed but I got two beds joned together with two separate sets of sheets and blankets, infact I ended up sleeping on one. The hotel is not particularly cheap so I think people would expect better matresses and beddings. The restaurant food it is very good but on both occasions the restaurant was empty. I think this place has a lot of potential if they change things around a little buy investing small money for big returns. It is a shame because the staff are quite friendly but it is like something is missing and the rooms definately need some attention. The restaurant, in my opinion, should be busy all the time because the food is really top quality. Personally I don't think I will ever go back, there are same great hotels in the area at better prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CletoCleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was fooled into thinking 'High Tech' was a description of a modern hotel, rather than just the hotel chain. Room was a reasonable 3 star standard (if rather small) but the hotel is looking in need of some attention. The room safe instructions don't match the safe, as was explained in an 'isn't it obvious' manner by the receptionist, and access to the safe to work out what to do could only be achieved by moving furniture and laying on the floor with your head in the wardrobe! The bathroom door had a large gap and the wall was just glass - not offering much in the way of soundproofing or privacy.
The food available turned out to be just bar food as the restaurant was never open. The bar staff were pleasant enough but only attended the bar if you went to reception, who then phoned the bar and someone came to answer it. Breakfast wasn't available early (basic requirement for an airport hotel I'd have thought), but did offer coffee in a plastic cup from a thermos. We waited ages for the hotel shuttle to turn up (not a great start), but the driver was pleasant enough when he got there - we did see the Hilton airport bus turn up twice while we were waiting.
Annoyingly I did notice a local restaurant down the street but this was on our way back to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Manager at Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

First of all we want to apologize for the inconvenient caused during your stay at High Tech Madrid Aeropuerto. We are really sorry you had that bad impression of our hotel.

Regarding the size of the rooms, the hotel has different room sizes. The room booked was a standard room, but the hotel has also superior rooms or Suites. In case you need to come back to Madrid, we will be glad to offer you an upgrade, and give you the bigger room available. For this not to happen again, we would recommend that you ask at the front desk for a bigger room, and the receptionist will inform you about all the possibilities.

The safety boxes in all our hotels count with a paper where you can read the instructions. Furthermore, our staff will be happy to help you out with this.

We are also sorry that you did not like the bathroom decoration, but this is the same in all our hotels and it was created as an innovative thing. We do understand that some people might not like it, as well as we have received some very good opinions about it.



The restaurant in the hotel works from 13.30 to 15.30 and from 20.30 to 23.30 from monday to friday. During the weekends, the restaurant remains open for dinners, from 20.30 to 23.30. However, all clients can use the cafeteria service when the restaurant is not opened. The time for breakfast to start is from 7 to 10.30 - 11.00, but the hotel does offer a free service of coffee and snak to all clients who check-out prior this time.

The shuttle service works from 06.00 to 23.45 p.m. When the clients arrive to the airport, they have to phone 915645906 and the reception sends the shuttle. I am not sure if you where informed about this procedure when you did the reservations, but generally it takes about 10 - 20 minutes for the shuttle to get to the airport.


Once more, we are really sorry about all these inconveniences you had, and I feel sorry that you could not enjoy the stay as much as we had liked it. I will be happy to attend you personally next time and offer you the upgrade.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Business traveler stayed one night at the High Tech Madrid Aeropuerto for a layover between Lisbon and Atlanta.

Overall, this is a good hotel. I noticed some other comments on TripAdvisor about the slow response times of the airport shuttle bus. I found out first-hand this is due to all the various airport terminal stops along the way. However, my return ride to the airport the next morning on the shuttle was less than 10 minutes from the hotel to T1. Tip: Be sure to sign-up for the time slot you need a shuttle ride. It probably seats 10-12 people, so you will want to eliminate the risk of missing a free-ride to the airport.

Check-in / Check-out took less than 10 minutes. English-speaking staff were very hospitable and helpful.

The room was large, compared to other hotels I've stayed in Europe. Queen bed (room 317) was comfortable. Took a visit to the check-in desk for instructions on how to operate the air-conditioning system, but once I got it turned on, it cooled the room within 10 minutes and stayed comfortable all night.

Due to the late hour of my arrival at the hotel, I did not have a chance to explore the neighborhood to see if there were any good restaurants nearby; opted instead for a room-service meal which arrived in less than 15 minutes of ordering (at ~9pm). I think that's the fastest room service I've ever received!

Bathroom is rather spacious, which makes me question why the hotel designer opted for such small, pre-fabricated shower stalls with no tub. This is the only flaw I see with this hotel. While it is easy to shower in the stall, it is near impossible to dry yourself off without banging your elbows into the shower doors. Exit the shower you must, in order to dry yourself.

Free morning breakfast was very good; several choices. Since I opted for the 7:20am shuttle to the airport, I was the first person to arrive at the restaurant for breakfast (which opens at 7am).

If I'm ever back in Madrid for a one-night layover, I would definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service and facilities from one of our HT guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Senator Barajas Hotel
Senator Barajas Hotel
#400 of 444 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Clement Barajas Hotel
Clement Barajas Hotel
#133 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
NH Madrid Barajas Airport
NH Madrid Barajas Airport
#256 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
#142 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Melia Barajas
#140 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel

Property: Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel
Address: Calle Galeon 25, 28042 Madrid, Spain (Formerly High Tech Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto is 5 minutes from Madrid-Barajas airport. It offers a free shuttle service with limited hours. Hotel amenities include a swimming pool and a seasonal outdoor terrace, gym and sauna access. Rooms include a laptop and free Wi-Fi is available in all areas. Rooms at the Madrid Aeropuerto have elegant modern decor and hardwood floors. They all include 26-inch LCD satellite TV, air conditioning/ heating, minibar and a free laptop safe. All bathrooms are fully equipped and include hydro-massage shower and toiletries kit. Guests can have a buffet breakfast and there is a coffee machine with varied pastries throughout the day, for an extra cost. The cafeteria and room service are available during limited hours. The hotel has covered parking for guests with special rates for longer stays, 3 meeting rooms with Internet access and two free Internet access points for clients. IFEMA Trade Fair Centre and Palacio de Congresos are just 5 km from the Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto. Alameda de Osuna Metro station is just 300 metres away, and connects you to Madrid city centre in around 20 minutes. Real Madrid's training grounds at Valdedebas are 5.8 Km away. The shuttle service to the airport runs every day from 06.00 To 11.00 And from 20.30 To 23.00. Guests must call the hotel upon arrival at the airport. The parking costs 7.50€ Per day TAX Incl. Reservation is needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Madrid Aeropuerto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing