We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped space”
Review of Ganivet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ganivet Hotel
Ranked #121 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Ganivet is walkable from Pueroto de Tolida metro station. We had taken a triple room.The room is cramped.If one carried huge suitcases it is difficult to open it and spread it across on the floor.There is not much walking space within the room.
The breakfast spread is great with plenty of fruits,juices, muffins,breads.
Staff at the cafe were very courteous.Extremely friendly and offered to help us with vegetarain food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeeraVishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights. A family of 6, we had 2 triple rooms. A bit cramped, but we were out and about most of the time. Café was good and relatively inexpensive. Didn't get the breakfast buffet or dinner. Didn't think staff was very friendly. No "welcome" or "we're glad you're here". Great location for exploring. We walked everywhere. 30 euros to airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glengary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Overall an average hotel. There were some drawbacks that can be mitigated, but in having to do so, you're eroding the enjoyment of your stay.

First, to reach the hotel from the airport, I took the #8 (Pink) line to Mar de Cristal, then jump on the #4 (toward Arguelles) to Alonso Martinez stop. Get off and finally jump on the #5 route toward Casa de Campo. Get off at Puerta de Toledo. Once above ground, head up the street that is on your right, heading 'up' from the Puerta de Toledo (monument with pillars, etc). The hotel will be on your right about two blocks up.

The Good:

- The hotel, being on the 'far' side of the city if located on the map is actually pretty well situated when it comes to seeing some of the major points of Madrid. It's a decent walk - you're not right on top of things, but very feasible. Alternately, you're within a metro stop or two of being near the Plaza Mayor (La Latina/Sol) or the City Center (Opera).

- The room was clean and fairly spacious. The bed was comfortable. There was a desk so that you could do some work, a safe and wardrobe with additional pillows and blankets provided.

- The hotel staff spoke English well, though with the front desk it seemed a little more of a struggle. In all, the non-front desk teams were very pleasant - I was able to speak with a waiter in the hotel restaurant, and a housekeeper, who were very nice.

- The hotel has WiFi and it's good WiFi - decent, fast and connectable throughout the hotel.

- The hotel also has good access to transportation. The metro is close (2 blocks) as is the bus line.

- There are a number of pubs close by up and down Toledo if you wanted to grab something to eat or drink. Additionally, on the opposite side of the Puerta de Toledo is a nice little grocer who sells cheese and bread and other food items. Also on the other side of the monument (meaning other side from where your hotel is) is a small pub that serves tapas which is pretty extensive and easy to deal with (on Calle Toledo).

- A cafe is located in the bottom of the hotel for convenience. It was nice to at least have an option of eating within the hotel.

- The hotel appears to be in a fairly safe location. I was out at various hours and didn't see or feel any reason to be concerned. The area looks worn down (from a US perspective - some graffiti, older buildings) but so does most of the city.

- On each level is a water cooler that dispenses hot and ice cold water. I would have preferred a fridge to put water into in my room, but this was a nice mitigation.


Some of the distractions/shortfalls:

- The front desk team seems a little 'put upon' when it comes to taking care of guests. They'll be modestly kind and efficient, but it's clear they struggle a bit with being really happy with their job. No big welcome, no polite conversation. This may have been due to their language skills, so I'll cut them some slack, but it's surprising how much the attitude of someone helps/hinders you when you're a weary traveler.

- The decor in the hotel is atrocious and is about 20+ years outdated. The chairs in the cafe on the first floor are orange and dirty. They clearly haven't invested much in the ambiance of the hotel or updating it.

- The hotel is, unfortunately, directly outside a school which is across the street. The side of the hotel that I was on (front) faced directly into their play yard. So, at around 11am every day until 3pm, I had the enjoyment of children yelling and screaming, and then screaming and yelling.

- The street the hotel is on, Toledo, is also very noisy. It gets traffic and throughput all day and night. Since the hotel doesn't have air conditioning, I needed to open a window and then close it, and then open it, and then close it. Finally I opted for ear plugs to be able to sleep in comfort.

- The shower is a little odd, in that the door for it didn't seem to close all the way. So, when you're in the shower, there is a small sliver of the environment that isn't closed off by the shower door. This caused water to run out of the shower and onto the bathroom floor. This was more silly design than an actual issue, but you could see signs of mildew in area where the water would normally pool. There wasn't mildew - room was clean - but you could tell they needed to give the area more care.

- The hotel provided a dinner buffet on the first night I was there - 12 - 15 euro - which included a drink as well. The food was terrible. For that much money, I expected more. The fish had bones throughout, the desserts looked unappetizing. The whole food part looked like it was just tacked on to grab additional revenue from landlocked guests, rather than actually attempting to provide a value added service. The food looked like it took the least amount of effort possible - everything prepackaged or store bought, with as little fresh homemade as feasible. Don't eat here - you have other options in the area that are better and cheaper. Go for a walk.

- The breakfast buffet was 15 Euro as well. After the debacle with dinner, there was no chance I was taking a risk on my breakfast. I took a walk.

- And, oh yeah, breakfast wasn't included in the rate when it really should have been.

- No refrigerator in the room, no coffee, bare bones.


In all, I wouldn't stay here again. The ambiance, decor, food, location, I feel could all be upgraded with a small outlay of additional money - and probably not much of it. The hotel is great if you are looking for a budget option in a safe area close to things but not breaking the bank. I'd say the standard room would be able to house 2 adults + 1 child at most. Anymore and it'll be tight (and it would already be tight with 2.5 people. If you're looking for a little more in your hotel experience, you won't find it here. Best for students, people on tight budgets.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not along the front of the hotel - tell them you don't want to face the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riallus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, clean tidy, with very pleasant staff. The buffet breakfast had a quite varied selection which was very good indeed. Nicely located with plenty of good value tavernas in the vicinity. Very close to Bus and Metro links to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is a good base for visiting central Madrid with easy access to places of interest by bus or metro.

We made excellent use of our 5 day travel pass and found that the buses often took us directly to where we wanted to go from the Porto de Toledo. The C2 circular stops right outside the Reina Sofia (it is the C1 on the return journey). The no. 3 bus goes along the Calle Mayor and is perfect for the Plaza de Villa and the Plaza de Sol. It is also good for the Royal Palace.

Our room (403) at the Ganivet Hotel was comfortable and well appointed but very small. It faces inwards so we slept well even with the window open. The bed was firm but nevertheless quite comfortable. Everything worked well.

There was an extensive choice for the buffet breakfast, although not all of great quality. But we only paid a budget price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Walking distance to the city centre, to Museo del Prado and Museo Reina Sofía. After the museums you can relax in the Retiro Park. The hotel is of normal three star class. We had a room on the fifth floor towards the backyard and were not disturbed by traffic noise. The breakfast was good. As we arrived by car the access to car parking was very valuable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lars_gustaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of shops, restaurants, and attractions!! Room was tiny, but we spent very little time in the room so not a concern. The hotel staff in the daytime were very helpful, friendly and full of much needed tourist info. The breakfast buffet had a large, delicious selection. My only complaint is the night shift could use some work. The only answer the night shift front desk gave us when asked about places to eat late was "I don't know."

Room Tip: Request a room with any view that is not a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#218 of 440 in Madrid
748 reviews
Principe Pio Hotel
#118 of 440 in Madrid
1,274 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#47 of 440 in Madrid
638 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#69 of 440 in Madrid
1,775 reviews
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#75 of 440 in Madrid
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganivet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganivet Hotel

Address: Toledo Street 111-113, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Madrid
#130 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $71 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganivet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ganivet Hotel *** is situated in the historical center of Madrid, close to the major sights and attractions of the city such as Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace and the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza and Reina Sofia . Also, it is in the trendy tapas and restaurants area (La Latina, Cava Alta and Mercado de San Miguel). The Ganivet Hotel *** is equipped with the most complete and modern facilities. Its careful design environment combines the classicism of Old Madrid with a trendy and cozy decor. Guests can reach the center of Madrid in his own vehicle and they will have the possibility of a parking lot at the garage located in the same building. Its central location combined with the comfort of its modern facilities and a professional and friendly service make the Hotel Ganivet an ideal place to stay during your visit to Madrid, both for tourism and/or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ganivet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganivet Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing