We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Chueca
Ranked #148 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The location is great, really great, in the city center, just few steps from the main shopping street. My room was in 1st floor, so I didnt need to use the elevator, which really looked odd and old. The room was very big with one double bed and the possibility of bunk bed. The view from the room was terrible, it looked to the celing :( the cleanliness of the room was average, the bathroom looked nice at the begining, but closely you could see some defectivenesses (hole in the floor, yellow dirt around the shower...).

It was very strange for me, that breakfast was not included in the price, although I paid a lot for the room. I paid for the breakfast additionaly and I was very setisfied with the food and service. There was planty choice of fruit, yogurts, salami, cheese, bread..and everything good.

At the reception you could find some useful information and staff is willing to help.

The location is this highlight which made the hotel good. I found it great that main door of the hotel is loocked all the time and you have to ring when you come and it makes you feel safer. The disadvantage is that the door ring is quite laud and in 1st foor room you could hear it.

Room Tip: In 1st floor rooms you can hear the door bell and the view is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Chueca, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

As you tell us, the main attractive of our hotel is the location so close to the landmarks of Madrid.

Our elevator works perfectly fine and we maintain the old grille to respect the original aspect of the building, in fact this grille is subsidized by the national wealth.

We will bear in mind your comment about the cleaning and we will do our best to improve our cleaning.

As for the room view, we try to give rooms according to guest preferences, in this case probably we don`t have free rooms with street view.
We will be very glad if you give us the opportunity to offer a very good stay in other occasion.

Many thanks for your comments

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    319
    145
    54
    19
See reviews for
178
239
61
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I just stayed here for 5 days and was totally satisfied with this hotel, though at first impression thought rooms were somewhat untastefully/old fashionately decorated. Just around the corner from Gran Via and only a couple of minutes walk away from Chueca area and from many major Madrid attractions, and taking into account we got a 50% off deal at the hotel´s website, I just coudn´t ask for better for my Madrid stay. Room had a balcony and was soundproof. Will definitely stay here again if I find this hotel again 50% off, if not, would consider surfing the web a bit to see what else comes up, before paying full rate =) The place is nice though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alf Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Chueca, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback regarding your stay hope you will join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a good 3-star hotel in an excellent position by the Gran Via, just minutes from the Puerta del Sol and on the doorstep of the buzzing Chueca neighbourhood. We loved room 305 even though there were a few very minor decoration blemishes, because it has a balcony to the street and with the door closed, we were undisturbed by street noise. There is a rather expensive mini-bar but at least, there is a fridge for putting in one's own drinks.
WIFI is free and works well but for the slight irritant of the password expiring after a while so that one must re-enter it to regain internet access.
The other niggle is that the lift has rather elegant ironwork gates that need to be manually closed and if a guest forgets to do it, the lift remains out of action until the offending gate is closed. It seems to be an obvious omission that there is no notice in the lifts warning of this fact.
We took advantage of a special offer for breakfast @ 6 euros per person and we found this to be good value, especially with fresh croissants and freshly-squeezed orange juice... and very friendly breakfast staff on duty when we stayed.
When returning to Madrid, we would definitely return to this hotel and would try to secure room 305.

Room Tip: 305 is a good room with a balcony and other rooms ending in 05 are probably similar but maybe we wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Chueca, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Excellent location, right off of the Gran Via, and super close to metro stations, restaurants, bars.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, would book dinner reservations, tickets, etc, were very informative about the area, where to find supermarkets and such. They also helped us find alternative transportation to the airport at 4am without shelling out 30euro for a cab.

The room was rather small, but well furnished, with a large comfortable bed, lots of lighting choices, large mirrors, a closet, a safe, and a flat screen TV. The free wifi was easy to access, although you have to keep re-entering the passcode, but it had very good reception.

The bathroom had an awesome shower. However, the bathroom is separated from the room by a glass wall and large glass door that was difficult to open without bumping into the bed, and didn't close all the way. There is absolutely no sound-privacy in the bathroom, so if you don't like hearing your travel companion take care of business, its best to turn on the TV or go for a walk when nature calls.

The windows in our room looked out on an elevator/light shaft, so not a very interesting view, but from other reviewer photos it looks like we were just unlucky with this one.

The elevator was a really cool and old-fashioned-but-modernized. The only downside is that if someone forgot to close the gate on one of the upper floors, the elevator will not come down to get you, so you have to walk up the flights of stairs surrounding the elevator shaft. We were only on the 3rd floor so it wasn't too much of a hassle.

When we left, our credit card didn't work and we had to pay cash. Several days later, upon returning home and seeing our bank statement, we found that the card had indeed worked and we'd been double charged. We contacted the hotel and within a couple days they had reviewed their records, found that we had double paid and immediately refunded us. They were very apologetic, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Chueca, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that the hotel met your expectations, except for certain details.

We hope to see you soon,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is a rather good hotel in the center of Madrid close to metro station and a lot of sightseeing places. It is near Gran Via, one of the most important avenues in the city and it is good for any trip- business or for fun
The building is recently renovated, the rooms are good, as well as the bathroom, everything is near - whatever you want - shops, supermarkets, bars, anything... If you take the tube - 2 or 3 stops - and you are at Prado museum or The Royal Palace, to Plaza Mayor/ my love from the 1st sight/ or Plaza del Sol or El Corte Ingles you can walk. There is a lift in the building, the breakfast is good but served at the building next door / no problem at all for me/. Try to book months before or look for special offers - even now they make discounts. So I recommend this hotel to you

Room Tip: Take rooms on 2nd or higher floor - not so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsarmuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Chueca, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

It's a pleasure to read that the hotel met your expectations and you recommend us to other Tripadvisor users.

We hope to see you soon,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice hotel with computer and internet nice room good food

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales online department at Petit Palace Chueca, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you so much for the review you posted on trip advisor. All the staff works hard in the hotel to ensure the majority of our guests have an enjoyable stay.

I do hope to welcome you back again soon

yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Struck lucky again this year with our hotel -maybe it's because we stay for longer than a week.

We had a 5th floor room, advisable to stay further away from the noise of the traffic. It had a small balcony so my partner was able to smoke without me having to suffer a "smoker's room".

The room size was adequate for our needs and was very clean throughout our stay. The a/c worked well and was very quiet ( we had a mini heatwave).

The position couldn't have been better. Just of the Gran Via and across the road from a taxi rank. We caught a taxi to the airport at 03.45 - didn't need to book one there were at least 8 cabs waiting ! ! Also at 25 euros - just a few euros more than catching a night bus and 10 euros cheaper than our cab from the airport on arrival during the day.

We have fallen in love with Madrid, Toledo and Sergovia now to decide where in Spain to go on our next visit :-)

Room Tip: We originally requested a smoker's room, but they are on the 1st floor - very noisy. If the wea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bean208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales online department at Petit Palace Chueca, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you so much for the great review you posted on trip advisor. As you rightly point out our hotel is superbly located in the heart of Madrid.

I do hope to welcome you back again soon

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#72 of 436 in Madrid
729 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#140 of 436 in Madrid
894 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#105 of 436 in Madrid
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Chueca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Chueca

Property: Petit Palace Chueca
Address: Calle Hortaleza 3 | (Esquina C/ Gran Via 26) Chueca, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Chueca 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal enjoys a wonderful location in Chueca, the heart of Historic Madrid. Guests of Hotel Petite Palace Ducal will find excellent shopping opportunities, fine dining experiences, theatres, cinemas, art galleries, museums and tourist attractions including Prado Museum, Plaza de Cibeles and the Thyssen Museum all within easy reach either on foot, by tram, bus or metro. Offering great value for money, services, facilities, amenities with contemporary comfortable high tech guestrooms the 3* Hotel Petite Palace Ducal makes the ideal choice of hotel for your next stay in Madrid. For a good deal and a memorable visit book the lovely 3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal today.The 3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal features contemporary guestrooms fully equipped with everything required for a wonderful stay in Madrid with bathroom featuring hydromassage shower, PC, exercise bike, valet press, complimentary internet WIFI free, air conditioning, heating, seating, writing desk/dressing table, in room safe, satellite tv, direct dial telephone. Extra bedding, linen, towels, infant cots and ironing facilities are available on request. All guestrooms enjoy views of surrounding areas.24hr reception, currency exchange services, housekeeping, maid services, safety deposit box (reception), newspapers, smoking rooms, air conditioning, heating, disabled access/facilities, family rooms, tourist information services, conference/meeting rooms with media technology, parking nearby, complimentary business centre services in public areas, complimentary WIFI internet access, business services including wake up call, postal, fax, copying and printing, group bookings welcome. Some services will incur local charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Chueca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Ducal Madrid
Hotel Petit Palace Ducal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing