We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large, clean rooms, great facilities, close to airport but far from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #110 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
MADRID
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Large, clean rooms, great facilities, close to airport but far from city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spacious, clean rooms (windows cannot be opened!). WiFi is available everywhere and free of charge. Ample and varied breakfast buffet, with hot and cold dishes, FRESH fruits (at least 6 types!). Don't expect expect the design or facilities to be charming. The hotel's design is functional, to accomodate particularly large events (own auditorium). Didn't try the spa area. The shuttle bus to Barajas airport takes 10 minutes and leaves every 30 minutes: from Barajas Airport to the hotel at 20 and 50 minutes past the hour, and on the hour as well as 30 past the hour from the hotel to the airport. Public transport bus stops right infront of the entrance and takes you into town (not sure how long the ride, but assuming about 20 to 30 minutes). The "gourmet" restaurant offers a fair choice of fresh, Spanish cuisine, but don't expect creative dishes.

Room Tip: To avoid having to walk through the entire building to reach your room, book a room in Block I (quic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadridMarco_polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Online Marketing Manager at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear client, thanks for your comments. The windows cannot be opened due to safe reasons but you can ask the reception and we will happily go and open it for you. Regarding the design we are glad to inform you that this year we will be changing all the rooms, meeting rooms, lobby bar, reception and façade so we expect you like the new design when you come back next time. We are happy our services were useful for your stay and needs. Kindest regards ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    693
    342
    108
    61
See reviews for
212
344
125
799
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for a night on 22nd of Jan. really very good hotel. well maintained hotel.
staff very courteous. latest equipment's in the room. though it is a big hotel , the information is very to reach the room. overall superb hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the rear side are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tirumala Rau K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Online Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear client, we are so happy to hear you had such a good experience, as you said yes we are a big hotel ;) Looking forward to seeing you back soon. Kindest regards ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have spend there three days end December visiting Madrid. The price was really very low and it seemed to be a great choice. The location though is not exactly the best. If you do not have a car (we had one!!!) never go there, unless you want to spend the night somewhere near the airport.
The hotel itself looks rather gloomy, and the reception's foreign language skills are unfortunately really very poor. It is very often impossible to look for help in most of the issues.
The room though was huge!!! The bed as well!!! The sleeping quality was really high and the only problem is that we were not allowed to open the window, as the hotel probably suffered from thefts. To open and close the window was possible only with the help of the staff!!!
We have had dinner there but I wouldn't suggest it to you. It seemed the the local tin industry was the main supporter of the dinner as most of the items were coming from tins. Unfortunately this happened with breakfast also but in a smaller scale. I would though give my best vote for the chambermaid that was serving us - always smiling, eager to serve and help , doing excellent job.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear client, thank you for sharing your experience, we are glad you had a car but if you had not you anyway could have takend the public transport right in front of the hotel and be in Madrid in 15-20 minutes. It's a pitty our reception staff could not help you because all our receptionists speak different languages and are really helpful. Regarding the windows we keep them closed for safety reasons but if you ask the reception we will happily go to your room and open it for you. It's a shame you think our food come from tins since it doesn't. We are happy to see the chambermaid was so helpful. We hope to see you soon back. Kindest regards ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
304 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago while on a trip to Spain and had a great time! I was very impressed with how nice the staff were and how nice my room was. After a long flight it was very nice to be able to go and rest at a great hotel. The next time I am in Madrid I hope to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear client, we are so happy to hear you had such a great experience staying with us and to see you liked both our staff and facilities. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kindest regards ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Most reviews indicate the features of this hotel very well without me reiterating them: It is extremely big (possibly the biggest in Europe), caters mainly to large conferences, is close to the airport (almost walking distance) but quite far from the city centre. I stayed as a conference guest (650 delegates) having previously stayed there in 2004 on private business when there was no conference in progress. At that time the lobby area was dead but it has since been spruced up, with a lively bar/lounge at one end and a bar that was used as a private disco for delegates at the other, over the check-in area.

The Auditorium is notably spacious - its has to be with so many people floating around - and is quite light and airy. I didn't really get the pop-art in the lobby, a big red 1950s crushed US car (a Chevrolet I think). The staff on the reception and concierge desk were friendly and helpful at all times. Another plus point is the self-service breakfast, which is very comprehensive, and with waiters taking only a few seconds to make sure you have tea or coffee. And free newspapers (though Spanish only).

The rooms I'm not so sure about. There were two (large) single beds pushed together in my room, same as in 2004, but the slight gap between the two means you can't use them as a 'double'. They aren't very comfortable either and the sheets and pillow cases are rough. I didn't sleep too well. The facilities and 'goodies' in the bathroom are better. I had a problem with the batteries in the TV handset but it was resolved quite quickly at reception. There is no clock, no tea/coffee making facility and - typically for Spanish hotels, even those catering to businesspeope - no trouser press. The total contents of the minibar amounted to two small bottles of mineral water.

Decoration in the rooms is adequate but the (very long) corridors are starting to get a little tatty. Because of the design of the hotel, with many rooms accessed from open-plan internal balconies, it does rather take on the appearance of a luxury private prison. That impression isn't helped by the location in an anonymous industrial/blue collar residential part of Madrid. In 2004 there was a small village just over the other side of the Avenida de Aragon (a motorway), accessed by the pedestrian bridge that remains. But the village has been bulldozed and nothing has replaced it. It gives you the impression you're on the edge of a Brazilian favela.

One other thing I wasn't so keen on. I ordered a small meal in the lounge bar at around 2300 hours. The bar was quite full but the meal took a long time to come (almost 30 minutes) and it disappeared down my throat in about half a dozen bites, which was much less than I expected for 13 Euros. It was about the same standard as a snack I had on Ryanair on the flight to Madrid, which says it all, I think. Unless your pockets are deep you won't put on much weight at the Auditorium.

Despite these criticisms, this hotel is okay. If your purpose is to arrange a conference, those facilities are good, and the convenient location for the airport and relatively inexpensive room price outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Man1nManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear client, thank you for sharing your experience in our congress center and hotel, as you said changes have been made and next year we will do a lot more. We are so glad to hear our reception staff was friendly as well as helpful. Also happy to see you liked our breakfast buffet. We are sorry about the two beds, next time we suggest you point that on your reservation so that we can put you in a room with double bed. It's a pity you seemed to be in a prison but as we said we will refurbish the entire hotel for the next year, we hope you can come back and see the different feeling ;) Regarding the time you had to wait for your meal we will report to the F&B department to take note and do whatever they need to avoid this situation happening again. We are sorry you did not agree with the price.
We are so happy you liked the hotel and convention center as well as the location and the room price. Looking forward to having you back soon. Kindest regards ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is an absolutely huge facility designed for conferences and meetings. Not somewhere you want to be as a tourist. Situated in an industrial sector in the airport vicinity there really isn't anything around there of interest. Fortunately I was only attending a conference so I didn't have the luxury of free time.
The rooms were adequate. Seems a bit big and impersonal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleVTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear client, as you said we are specialised in conferences and mettings, but tourists also have a good time with us enjoying our swimming pool, sauna, gym or paddle courts. Hope you had a good time during your event. Kindest regards ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is comfortable and impersonal. Industrial setting near the airport.Great for large conferences. Impressive auditorium seats hundreds in comfort. Food is good considering the scale of the hotel.
Rooms a good size and clean.Beds very firm so not easy to sleep.
Taxi into city is about €30. Taxi to local metro station is €7 - if they take you the right way !. We had a €16 taxi fare to the metro by a very extended route. Metro is excellent way to get around Madrid. Good for business but I would stay in Madrid if travelling for pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear client, thanks a lot for your comments about your experience. We are so glad you liked our events facilities as well as the food service and rooms. We hope you had a good time here in Madrid and could make the most of your stay. Kindest regards ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#73 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Melia Barajas
#148 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#191 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maydrit Hotel
#78 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#90 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Address: Avenida Aragon 400, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#112 Family Hotel in Madrid
#132 Business Hotel in Madrid
#144 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 869
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, located really close to the Adolfo Suarez Madrid - Barajas Airport and Ifema Fair, you will find the perfect balance between Business and Travel experience. A place with large and different spaces to celebrate events and conferences thanks to the 56 pillar-free and the more than 15.000sq as well as the Auditorium for up to 2000 people. Everything accompanied by an innovation and style necessaries to enjoy the unforgettable experience of travel. Besides the hotel has been renovated all the 869 rooms as well as the food & beverage areas with the Champion's Bar, Greatroom, Atrium Bar and a la carte restaurant called Kalma. The new largest Marriott Hotel in Europe is a place where you will celebrate successfully any kind of event thanks to the magic and inspiration that all spaces transmit, accessible for all kind of exhibition materials, included vehicles as well as parking service with 1000 parking places and the free Wifi connection, shuttle, fitness center and indoor/outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auditorium Hotel Madrid
Madrid Auditorium Hotel
Auditorium Madrid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing