We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable experience great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #102 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
254 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience great hotel!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed there after a long delayed flight from India and had to pick up a hire car from Goldstar. their depot is actually situated in the underground car park of this hotel. Its a fair way from the airport but good shuttle service. We were so tired that couldn't face the long drive back to Andalusia in the dark so we got the lift to the airport and booked in. The reception was prompt and friendly. the room was comfy and well equipped. The hotel is massive and quite spectacular the bar was good. We bought a ticket from the reception for the buffet dinner for 15€ each which was
excellent included a bottle of wine.

Had a good nights sleep a great breakfast with an enormous selection of hot and cold food. we then had a quick walk around and found the pool on the roof terrace and a large auditorium with a good selection of events a 24 hour snack bar and a well equipped gym . and many conference rooms.

some of the reviews about it I found a little surprising if that was the worse hotel they had been to then I cant imagine were they had stayed. they should go to Mumbai! Of course when a big conference is on it will be packed but that's like any conference I have attended.
But best of all the price is excellent value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear client, we appreciate you took the time to post this review. We are so happy you had such a good time with us. Thank you for your words about the reception, the room, the facilities and the buffet service. This encourages us to work every day focused on our clients' needs.
Hope you had a good time in India and hope to have you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    723
    351
    109
    61
See reviews for
221
363
130
837
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an enormous hotel in an outlying region of Madrid, and it's fine if your main goal is getting to the airport. Large affordable rooms, quiet and comfortable, with blackout shades, good shower and hairdryer. But to experience Madrid and have a choice of "real" cafes and bars, you have to ride a city bus 15 minutes to the Metro station (and they run less often at night). If you're coming to this hotel from the Renfe train station and you have more patience than luggage and cab fare, you can take the Metro to the airport (two connections) and then wait for the hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear client, first of all thank you for yor comment about your experience. We are glad you liked the rooms as well as the shuttle service.
We hope to see you soon back around.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The beds are by far, the worst, I have ever slept in at a hotel. The 4" matress in my rooftop tent is more comfortable than the beds at the Hotel Auditorium. All of the folks in my group had the same complaint. This hotel is close to the airport but not close to Madrid, although Madrid is accessible by bus and subway. I would also not recommend the food here, it was pretty bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear client, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this comment.
We are sorry our mattresses did not meet your expectations, next time please we suggest you call the reception and see if we can change your room.
All our food is fresh so if you could specify a bit more about the problem we would try to help you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Probably, definitely, one of the worst Hotel's I have stayed at.
Hotel looks like a 1970's car park. Two entrances which confuses a lot of people.
Small bar - and in the evenings make sure you buy many more drinks than you need as chances of being served are slim. Prob 4 staff, with a conference of over 1000 people - all wanting a beer afterwards. No chance.
Room was large but I would liken it to a prison cell. I overlooked a rooftop and other rooms - but couldn't open any windows. My aircon didn't work - in fact it increased the temp to 28 degrees. Bed was uncomfortable, toiletries did not include conditioner which as a woman is not good. Oh, and like a previous guest - on the morning of an early session - there was no water at all. Not for the shower/loo etc., When I eventually managed to get through to reception was told it was a burst pipe and no, they couldn't tell me when it would be fixed.
I did try room service. On a number of occasions. The phone either just rang and rang until I lost the will to live - or it was answered and then put down on one side so I could hear everyone ordering food/drinks but no-one bothered coming back to me. At least I guess it stopped other people trying to get through. Now I know why it just kept ringing out.
Food was awful.
I'm vegetarian. For one of the 'gala' dinner nights - I was given a salad. No main course ever arrived - and the staff were running around in total chaos, shouting at each other whilst people were presenting. The good point to it was I lost weight without trying. Not as bad as for colleagues though who were served Pork (still frozen) when they are Muslim.
No coffee during some breaks - they kept running out and by the time stations were refilled the sessions had started again.
Never, ever again.

Room Tip: Choose one in another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We have send your information to all our departments.

First of all I would like to explain that before an event takes place the company, in this case yours, comes at list a couple of times to check the whole venue to check if it is suitable for the event.
They thought that an event of 2,000 persons with such a complex logistic for a whole week, the venue was the best one, having an excellent feedback at the end of the event.
The hotel Auditorium Madrid has as well as congress center, located in the same venue, called Principe Felipe. The hotel has its own entrance and the Congress Center its own, this last one was used for private use for check in and registration during your event.
All the bedrooms have a minimum of 33 square meter with a classical functional decoration. Last refurbished 2012.

We had in middle of the week a broken pipe at 6´00 o’clock in the morning , in order to solve the problem we had to cut the water for two hours. At 08.00 o’clock was everything in order, no affecting the meeting schedule. The company was informed from the beginning.

We have four bars that can host quite a big amount of persons but 2,000 persons are a large number for any bar and unfortunately one has to expect to be crowded. We tried to give the best service possible as we always do.

We offered as agreed with the company three coffee breaks per day and one fourth one as courtesy at the beginning of the day. In all of them coffee was served.

The F&B in the Hotel Auditorium is one of the items that for the hotel is most important and has the best reputation , having a big variety and quality in every meal.

In the case of the gala dinner , the convention organized six different gala dinners at the same time. Five of 200 persons and one of 600 persons.
We were informed of seven persons that had special request such as vegetarian, halal, etc. When the dinner started were informed that there were not 7, there were 32. We tried to solve the incident the best possible considering that we were serving dinner for 1,800 persons at that time.

The hotel Auditorium tries always to have the client success in their event with the best service and flexibility possible .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
349 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

An enormous hotel that revolves around conference bookings and appears to do so quite well. As an individual it was very average but bedroom was quite large which was good. Bed linen is very rough and harsh! Bar is busy and service very slow especially if trying to get a per dinner gin and tonic! Room service tip - don't order the club sandwich! A journey into central Madrid by taxi is approx Euros20. Would stay more centrally in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear client, thank you very much for posting your review about your experience with us. We are glad you liked our conference facilities whic as you sais is our main business point. We are sorry about the bed linen and the bar, we will inform those departments about your experience so improvements can be made on these points.
Hope to see you soon again.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I attended a large company event that was held at the Hotel Auditorium. It advertises that it is the largest hotel in Europe and it also has a large...... (wait for it) Auditorium!! Seriously, it has an amazing number of event rooms, meeting rooms, board rooms, class rooms and even more room rooms.

Let's start with the accommodations. There are 4 room blocks and I stayed in the one at the very back of the hotel. It was disappointing, spartan and kind of depressing. The beds are hard. Not "good for your back" kind of hard but more like "you're being punished, so sleep on this" kind of hard. The floor had some kind of unusual wood, laminate that was warped and rippled. The heat/air conditioning never worked. The desk was one of the high points. It was flat and level and located near the electrical outlets. My view out the window was about 18 inches above the rooftop which was a great reason to draw the shades.

The maid staff rolls their metal wheeled carts out onto the hardwood floors every morning at 8AM sharp so you don't have to worry about over sleeping, no matter how hard you try. I guess you could call that a feature??

The meeting facilities. OK the main auditorium was very nice. The meeting rooms on the second floor of the 4th room block are right over the kitchens so if you have a meeting in one of those rooms around lunch time, the smell of cooking fish will permeate the room. There's nothing like giving a presentation to a roomful of people who are on the verge of gagging.

Overall the food was just sort of OK. The prawns, clams and mussels were all kind of lukewarm so I stayed far away from them.

There is one high end restaurant located behind the bar that I tried one night with a group of business associates. Service was meh. They forgot the appetizers and when we alerted the staff, they just shoved them onto the table, cold, when they brought the mains. I had ordered a risotto. It arrived lukewarm and was overcooked enough that it looked like oatmeal. Sometimes you just can't win.

My apologies if this review is kind of snarky but I was just no impressed with this hotel and cannot recommend it.

OK one positive thing. The front desk staff was very friendly and they did loan me a power adapter when I discovered that I had not packed mine.

Room Tip: Be sure the room is in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear client, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this comment.
We are sorry our mattresses did not meet your expectations, next time please we suggest you call the reception and see if we can change your room.
The rooms floor has been recently changed since this new floor is more hygienic than the usual carpet. All the heating systems/aircon work properly, next time please we suggest you call the reception so someone can go and fix it for you.
We have never had such complains about the metal wheeled carts making noise but we are sorry if they woke you up.
The meeting rooms on the second floor of the 4th block are not over the kitchens, the kitchens are located on the sides of the whole building, way far from the rooms. There might have been a cocktail served in one of the other 21 rooms located on that floor. Sorry if the smell got into your room.
All the food we served is freshed, we have informed the restaurant about what happened so this won't happen again.
During your stay as you know we had the whole week 2000 persons with a very complex logistic , the Hotel tried to give the best service possible.
We had a very good feedback of the company at the end of the event.
We are happy you liked the auditorium and the front desk staff.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The only positive thing I can think about is that the hotel was clean. Other than that, hm... the architecture is scary, the ambiance impersonal and cold, the noise from the highway pervasive, and the staff was unprofessional and unfriendly. Me and 6 other fellow hotel guests who waited in vain for the airport shuttle were called liars by the reception manager because we were complaining that the shuttle would not arrive and we all had planes to catch. She claimed the shuttle bus had been there, right in front of us, but that apparently none of us had seen it. What a strange way of handling your guests... and what an insulting way of taking people for fools.

And this is the pity about the hotel: its only advantage lies in its proximity to the airport Barajas. But this proximity is of no use if the free of charge shuttle bus is unreliable or does not work properly (we ended up taking a taxi, 25€). Forget it and find yourself another hotel.

Room Tip: try to get a room far far away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makisopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear client, first of all we are very sorry that your experience was not as expected.
It's a pity you did not like the architecture nor the decoration.
The hotel is located next to the highway but from within the hotel the noise is hardly heard. Next time please call the reception and we will try to change your room to a less noisy one.
Regarding the issue with the shuttle bus we are so sorry you could not take it. We are sure there must have been a missunderstanding since that is not the reception staff attitude at all. Anyway we have reported them this complain so improvements can be made so that this does not happen again.
We are glad you liked the cleanliness of the hotel. I will personally inform the housekeeping department.
Again, our apologies for all this. Hope despite the incident you all managed to catch your flight and got back home safe and sound.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#74 of 435 in Madrid
2,931 reviews
Melia Barajas
#162 of 435 in Madrid
1,311 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#80 of 435 in Madrid
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#287 of 435 in Madrid
1,466 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Pullman Madrid Airport & Feria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Address: Avenida Aragon 400, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#112 Family Hotel in Madrid
#132 Business Hotel in Madrid
#144 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 869
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, located really close to the Adolfo Suarez Madrid - Barajas Airport and Ifema Fair, you will find the perfect balance between Business and Travel experience. A place with large and different spaces to celebrate events and conferences thanks to the 56 pillar-free and the more than 15.000sq as well as the Auditorium for up to 2000 people. Everything accompanied by an innovation and style necessaries to enjoy the unforgettable experience of travel. Besides the hotel has been renovated all the 869 rooms as well as the food & beverage areas with the Champion's Bar, Greatroom, Atrium Bar and a la carte restaurant called Kalma. The new largest Marriott Hotel in Europe is a place where you will celebrate successfully any kind of event thanks to the magic and inspiration that all spaces transmit, accessible for all kind of exhibition materials, included vehicles as well as parking service with 1000 parking places and the free Wifi connection, shuttle, fitness center and indoor/outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auditorium Hotel Madrid
Madrid Auditorium Hotel
Auditorium Madrid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing