We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functionality places Auritorium above the crowd for conferences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #107 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Functionality places Auritorium above the crowd for conferences”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

In 2004 I visited this hotel for the first time and I remember it was a pleasant experience although Hotel Auditorium is so large that it feels like a luxury shopping centre or airport rather than a hotel.

In December 2012 I had my second visit to Hotel Auditorium, and it is with happiness I can now articulate why I like this place. The base case is, think functionality. This is primarily a hotel which one should select for international business meetings, not for a holiday. Reason is that the location in the Barajas Airport area has nothing of tourist value to offer within walking distance.

This is entirely a hotel for - and what a brilliant venue it is - for medium sized conferences of 1,500+ participants. It is not ultra luxury in the Four Seasons style, but it does not have to be. For a good business meeting a perfectly clean venue with spacious rooms indeed and a reliable infrastructure to support that are much more important. Hence Hotel Auditorium is, at least in my opinion, all about functionality.

At one level this means basic convenience and time efficiency for everyone involved, with quick access to and from the airport with a complimentary shuttle bus. It also means unparalleled quick, convenient and safe access to any conference activities irrespective of the season, as everything is under the same roof. You literally stay at the conference venue, which becomes a charming little conference village during event days. No need for transportation of any kind to reach you sessions; you can access them in 2-3 minutes straight from the breakfast buffet if you want. Likewise, when the conference is over, or if you just want a bit of a break during the day; no problem at all. You just go to your room in 2-3 minutes.That is convenience.

At another level that means accurate room service and laundry facilities although the timing of the latter may be a bit slow. It also means a large breakfast buffet (that some smaller hotels just cannot afford to provide) that will cater to most tastes. Last but not least, and this is really important at least for my work: The business room support with technical services such as audiovisual recordings and slide decks, they are present professional. Unlike some pure conference venues in other countries, you can actually hear after the meeting what is said in your important audio recordings. To me, this is just another indication that the highly professional and helpful staff at Hotel Auditorium really know what they are doing.

It is towards the above background that I am delighted to award Hotel Auditorium with my top marks. Congratulations and many thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank style_uncompromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear client, we are delighted to hear such amazing words of our hotel. We all work really hard to give our clients the best service and these kind of opinions are the best reward for us. We will send this comment to the Convention, Congress and Incentives department so they know what you think about your experience.

We really appreciate it you took the time to write such a thorough review of our facilities and services.
We hope to see you soon back at the hotel.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    711
    346
    109
    61
See reviews for
217
354
127
817
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

"Thanks" to our return flight to the US being cancelled the airline put us in this hotel. It is a large hotel, designed for business meetings, with large public areas and many conference rooms. It overlooks a busy motorway. The food, while served buffet style was very good, with much variety. As soon as one is seated, the attentive staff brings a litre of water and a bottle of wine. Our room was a bit warm, and upon finding out the A/C was disabled our only recourse was to open the window--luckily we weren't facing the motorway. As an airport or a business hotel it is fine, but it is not a hotel for a vacationer, other than as a stopping point for a night.

Room Tip: It is quite a walk to the elevators, and there can be more walking once one gets to their floor; so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear client, we really appreciate it you took the time to write this review. We are glad you liked both the food and the staff.
We hope you had a safe flight back to the US.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confignon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a featureless hotel near the Madrid airport. Rooms are large, but cold and with no amenities. No tea or coffee. Nothing in the minibar. No iron. One thin blanket on the bed with no duvet, and no extra pillows. In many ways, it felt like a large dormatory. The pool, which is advertised as a feature, was closed. The decor in the hotel is unattractive. Nothing matches anything else. This hotel prides itself on being the largest in Europe. I suspect that most travelers would agree that this is not something to boast about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the4newmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear client, we are sorry you did not see the amenities which we put in all the rooms. The minibar has only 2 bottles of water, that is something we do on purpose because being a hotel specialised on events that is what the events organiser ask us to have in the rooms. However there is a 24h room service which can provide you with anything you need. With regards to the duvet, pillows and iron we suggest you call next time to reception and we will be happy to bring the necessary stuff to your room.
We are sorry you did not like the decor.
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It is a good hotel, the rooms are large and comfortable. The people working there is nice, I had a good staying. I think that the linked restaurant El Gueridon could be better, both the bar (lounge and lobby) as well.
In my opionion if you are tourist in Madrid, you would like to stay near the center. However you can go to the city center with 20€ by taxi .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaC146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear client, we would be more than happy if you could tell us how we can improve our bars and restaurants. We are also glad you liked the rooms and our staff.
We hope to see you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days for a business conference. Its main benefit is it's well equipped conference facilities including large auditorium and multiple smaller rooms. Unfortunately, it sits right beside a large highway which is busy all the time. My room was clean and functional but smelled of the rubber adhesive used for the application of linoleum floors. The WiFi was efficient and fast and available everywhere. I ate in the hotel buffet for breakfast and dinner and there was a large and varied selection of food. The evening buffet was 38 euro and was essentially all you could eat and included a bottle of good red wine. The staff were generally pleasant but overworked given the large number of guests.
The swimming pool was being repaired when I was there which was a disappointment.
As it is adjacent to the airport it was quite a distance from the beautiful city center. To get in you take a bus to the main terminus of the metro (subway) and then from there you can get to the museums etc (takes around 30-45 minutes depending on the time of day)

Room Tip: If you like watching planes arriving at the airport, ask for a room facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliencamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear client, thank you for review of Hotel Auditórium. We are sorry for the smell of your room, will take that into account so it does not happen again. Regarding the pool, we are glad to inform you it's alreday open (understand your disappointment though when you stayed here).

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights whilst attending a conference. Because of its size it does not have a warm friendly feel. The hotel is very large but with decent conference facilities. However the rooms and corridors leading to rooms are quite basic and a bit shabby in parts. The hotel is well out of town and you have to take a taxi or alternatively a bus & subway in order to get into the centre of Madrid. Breakfast was decent with a good selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear client: As you pointed the hotel was built to hold conferences and huge events, that is why the spaciousness of the facilities.
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
269 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night as we were stranded in the airport and could only fly out the next day. This hotel was recommended to us by the tour desk as another 3-star hotel cost US$62 while this 4-star hotel cost US$68 (without breakfast). We chose it because it provided free internet as well as free airport shuttle. We were surprised to find their airport shuttle was a big tourist coach versus other hotels using minivans. The shuttle runs every 30 minutes from 5.30 a.m. till about 1 a.m. Only upon arrival, we realized how big and how busy the hotel was because there seemed to be several conventions going on. The receptionists were very efficient and helpful.

The room was quite big and beds were comfortable. WiFi was good with strong reception. As we were busy haggling with flight bookings for the following day, we did not have time to check out what facilities the hotel provided.

The following morning, morning call was late by 15 minutes and airport shuttle also left the hotel around 10 minutes late as the female driver was discussing something with the receptionists. Guests were left queuing up for the coach in the cold at single degree Celsius.

Room Tip: Request for a room closer to the elevator, otherwise, it's quite a bit of walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Social Media Marketing at Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear client, good news you found our shuttle so big compared to others. As the recepcionists are used to handling big groups of people, they are really efficient ;) We are happy you liked the rooms as well as the Wi-Fi.
Regarding the call and the driver we have sent this review to the specific department so that it does not happen again, sorry for that.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#73 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Melia Barajas
#145 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#287 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maydrit Hotel
#75 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#92 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Address: Avenida Aragon 400, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#112 Family Hotel in Madrid
#132 Business Hotel in Madrid
#144 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 869
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center, located really close to the Adolfo Suarez Madrid - Barajas Airport and Ifema Fair, you will find the perfect balance between Business and Travel experience. A place with large and different spaces to celebrate events and conferences thanks to the 56 pillar-free and the more than 15.000sq as well as the Auditorium for up to 2000 people. Everything accompanied by an innovation and style necessaries to enjoy the unforgettable experience of travel. Besides the hotel has been renovated all the 869 rooms as well as the food & beverage areas with the Champion's Bar, Greatroom, Atrium Bar and a la carte restaurant called Kalma. The new largest Marriott Hotel in Europe is a place where you will celebrate successfully any kind of event thanks to the magic and inspiration that all spaces transmit, accessible for all kind of exhibition materials, included vehicles as well as parking service with 1000 parking places and the free Wifi connection, shuttle, fitness center and indoor/outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auditorium Hotel Madrid
Madrid Auditorium Hotel
Auditorium Madrid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing