We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“about the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Ranked #41 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have visited many hotels during my trips around the world. Catalonia Puerta del Sol has been one of the most interesting. Located at a very convenient place in the center of the city, it is at walking distance from the most important touristic sites.The rooms are comfortable and the whole place makes you feel you are at home.Breakfast is great! The staff is so caring and thoughtful! My personal thanks to Aida, who helped in everything she could in a very efficient way. No doubt I am coming back!
Susana Kohan

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suduNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, General Manager at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear suduNewJersey ,

Thank you very much for your warm comments. Your feedback motivates us to keep working passionately every day in order to satisfy our guests. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and that you felt comfortable between us. I will pass on your comments to Aida and rest of our staff. I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and comments.

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 799 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice hotel in the center of Madrid, the service at the top level, the rooms are very clean with a bad view, European breakfast choices too small but you can eat quality food, the restaurant is good, excellent and nice lobby you'll feel very nice at the hotel. From hotel almost you can walk to visit many squares and beauty of Madrid.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guru-Grul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, General Manager at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Vedran P,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your comments. Your opinion encourages us and helps us to continue working and improving our services to full satisfaction of our guests´s needs. I hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff, on top of a very clean and stylish hotel made this the perfect place for us to stay in Madrid. We also had a roadside room but the double doors and triple glazing made it completely silent, allowing for a peaceful lie-in in the morning.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, General Manager at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Andy C

Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, and we really appreciate your feedback. It motivates us to continuing working to improve our service and get our guests satisfaction every day

It will be my pleasure to pass on your kind comments to all our staff

I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of our 6 day trip to Spain. The first thing I can say about this hotel is it's great location. It's a 5 minute walk from the Puerto Del sol Metro and the various restaurants and Tapas bars in Madrid. Having said that, it's peaceful and quiet and just the right distance away from the noisy streets.
The room was well appointed, clean and looked onto the courtyard of the hotel. The bathroom and the toiletries were adequate. We didn't eat the breakfast here so can't comment about the spread or the restaurant. All in all a good experience at a decent price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank architrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Architrez,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your comments. Your opinion encourages and helps us to continue working to improve our services. I am pleased to read you had a nice stay in our hotel and I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is a very central location that makes walking to major attractions very easy. The staff were so helpful and friendly a real feature of the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. the hotel is part of an older building that adds atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenny165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, General Manager at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Kenny165,

Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, and we really appreciate your feedback.
It will be my pleasure to pass on your kind comments to all our staff which we are really proud of

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Perfect location, very near Plaza Puerta del Sol, very nice and friendly staff, very clean.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Bogdan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, General Manager at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Dear Bogdan S,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your warm comments. Your opinion encourages us to continue working to improve our services. I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed only one night, but in was perfect: confortable and spacious room with nice bathroom. Helpful staff, the receptionist served us in the bar even after it was closed. The only negative point would be the breakfast, which was OK as it was a continental one, but I have always exprienced much better in Spain, so expected different.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Peter A.

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments help us to continue working to improve our services. I am happy to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel and with our staff attention. In reference to our breakfast service, I would like to apologize in case we did not inform you well during your check in time. We have full buffet breakfast service in our restaurant from 7:00 to 10:30 from Monday to Friday, and from 7:30 to 11:00 during weekends and holidays. After these hours you can have a continental breakfast in our Bar El Patio. Our room service breakfast is a full continental as well.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 442 in Madrid
1,664 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#46 of 442 in Madrid
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 442 in Madrid
4,041 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Puerta del Sol

Address: Calle Atocha 23, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#52 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#78 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $116 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Puerta del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Moratin hotel, which opened its doors in August 2002, is conveniently situated near the famous Golden Triangle (the Prado Museum, the Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and the Reina Sofia Museum), adjacent to the historic nucleus of the city which includes the Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor. It is only a few metres away from the Plaza Santa Ana, known to be one of the best places for tapas nationwide, and close to the most popular theatres in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing