We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Cervelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Cervelo
Ranked #100 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have chosen this hotel for our stay in Madrid only because of the good reviews, unfortunately…..
It was the worth hotel I have stayed in my life. And I would not suggest anyone staying in it.
We have booked this hotel through one main hostel web page. Before out arrival to Spain (around 6) days we have emailed them and told that we will be staying one day less. We will leave earlier than we expected. They came back to us after around 5 days saying that is not a problem and everything is fine.
We arrived at the hostel around 4.30 – 5.00 pm. I believe you expect your room be ready at that time. The girl in the reception (did not speak to much English) said that we have to wait 2 minutes to get our room. The she made couple of calls as we could understand about us, as she was repeating our names. Then she said that we will have to stay at the other floor. That was strange cause on the second floor was completely different hotel.
When we arrived at another hotel a Spanish woman opened the door and the reception girl just left us to her and said that she needs to put us here for 3 nights. That’s it!!!! And she left. Did not explain anything, why we are staying at another hotel and why we have been moved. The Spanish lady had no clue what was going on and she was not waiting for us as well. Also, she could not speak English at all. However, she gave us a room and left us. Unfortunately there was no internet or safety box in the other hotel, also we did not like the hotel.
in addition to this, we have checked the prices on the internet that this hotel is much cheaper than the one we have booked. That’s why we came back to the same hotel the one that we have booked and explained the entire situation that we are not going to stay in that hotel unless they reduce the price and etc.
The reception girl got lost and started making calls again. Then she said someone will come and talk to us. Probably the manager (she did not say who she was, she could only speak English) said that because we have changed our reservation (which is made it not 5 but 4 days) they decided to move us. Well, excuse me. We have booked this hotel only because of good reviews and etc. and we do not want to be moved out. Finally she gave us a room in the hotel that we have booked.

The hotel itself is only in a good location, nothing else is good over their. It is very noisy if you get one of the 3 rooms that are to the street side (we got one of it!). Also, the walls are so thin that we can hear everything, what your neighbours do, there is no Wii-Fi internet as they say in their description, only one computer to all the guests, and the security is terrible. The doors are open 24 hours. When you go to the city you have to leave your room key, when you come back, no one from the reception is even asking what room you live, they even don’t bother to give you a key. It means take any key and go to any room and take anything that you want. The staff is not friendly and helpful at all. None of the staff was saying hello or goodbye, at least to us. Probably, cause they were not happy that we refused to stay in another hotel. Toilet and shower is really small and inconvenient.

In general, I have no idea way this hotel is so popular and has these good reviews. I know, maybe I am just disappointed of the service that we have received, but you can not expect anything better when they treated us like a piece of [-].

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff, terrible staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    69
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
15
65
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

Cervelo and Martin are the same however they have different websites with different photos. The website advertises that credit cards are accepted however beware that they require full payment in cash once you arrive.

We stayed in mid-October and the rate was 57 Euros per night. Overall it was a good value for what we actually got however the poor service and poor sleep made it a regrettable experience.

The rooms are decent sizes but the bathrooms are miniscule, we've traveled throughout Europe and this was the smallest we had seen - you have to turn sideways with your feet under the sink to sit down on the toilet.

The walls are thin as are the shutters. Every noise outside as well as every traveler checking in can be clearly heard. We were unforunatel enough to be given the room right next to the office so we could hear them talking late into the night and early in the morning. Bring ear plugs.

The rooms are cleaned daily and there is indeed free Wi-Fi which worked consistently while we were there. Our TV was broken. The staff speaks some English but borders on rude and is not eager to help.

The location within Madrid was not bad, it was close to the Metro and a short walk to major sites. The entry was under construction and the lift didn't work but the hostal is only up one easy flight of stairs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise at night and staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

athens
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

the hostal cervelo is the same one with the hostal martin.
it is in the city centre so you can walk easily to some main attrasctions and there is a metro line closely.
the room is get cleaned every day and this is really important.
there is internet wi-fi in the building with great speed.
the only disadvantage is that the walls are really thin so each time someone walks with his suitcase you can hear it or wake up during the night.Apart from this, the hostal is great concerning the cleanliness, the value of money and location.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

If you want to spend loads of day and evening hours in a hotel room, this is not the place.

However, if you want excellent value, a comfortable sleep after a good shower in a clean room, together with very friendly staff to help you out, then book a room here.

The location is absolutely ideal for all the major sights, obviating the need to use the Metro (and its swarms of pickpockets). It's a downhill walk to the Prado and the other two major art museums, a more or less level walk to Sol, Plaza Mayor and the Royal Palace.

We would definitely stay here again when we return to Madrid - it's value for money, friendly, clean and mostly quiet if you ask for a room at the back.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wrinklefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Hostal Cervelo. We paid 49 euros per night plus tax which I thought was very reasonable for the centre of a major city.

The hostal is on the first floor of an old building and Hostal Martin is on the third floor. It was very busy when we were there with a lot of people coming and going at all times and we did find it very noisy. I suggest avoiding rooms 112, 113, and 114 if you can as they are next to reception and also face the street so you do get noise from both directions! Room 110 is also close to the reception area but faces a different direction. Our friends were further back in the hostal but also had noise from kitchens and bars.

The rooms were small, especially the bathroom but were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms facing the street also get the afternoon sun so can be quite hot and the air conditioning is only available in high season. The rooms at the back are a lot cooler.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was very convenient and the price was very reasonable so I would certainly stay here again. When you are in Madrid for a short period who needs sleep anyway!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Expl0rer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, ON Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2005

This hotel was good for the budget traveller that wants to be close to the action in Madrid. The staff are very friendly. Even though they had a credit card machine problem and asked us to pay cash, when we checked out on our first stay out of two, they trusted us to come back for the second stay and pay them then. The rooms are noisy and I'd suggest asking for a room not facing the main road. The rooms, however are very clean, if small, and the hotel gives you access to the internet in their lounge.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spoonman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesboro, arkansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2004

stayed here in september 2004. i was looking for a cheap, clean, central hotel. this hotel is all of these. good modern bathroom. air conditioned. courteous staff. very simple though, nothing fancy, decor wise. it served my purpose admirably, but did not excite me. paid 55 euro for double room.

Helpful?
2 Thank pvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Hostal Sol Square
Hostal Sol Square
#86 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Abadia Madrid
Hostal Abadia Madrid
#29 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Castilla I
Hostal Castilla I
#112 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Centro
SunGate Hostel
SunGate Hostel
#1 of 407 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Huertas
Far Home Atocha
Far Home Atocha
#80 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cervelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cervelo

Property: Hostal Cervelo
Address: Calle Atocha 43, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cervelo 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Cervelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Cervelo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing