We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but great location”
Review of Hostal Cervelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Cervelo
Ranked #93 of 412 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I choose the hostal because the price they quoted came with a private bathroom and it was centrally located. Upon reaching there i felt it is better than usual hostal, more like a budget hotel. The lift is working fine, staff was friendly and helpful, the biggest advantage easily accessible from the train (renfe) station as well as the airport. We didn't have to use any means of transportation to visit the major tourist attaractions. The nightlife nearby is awesome, just a 10 minutes walk away is a good club called Kapital (danced away our saturday night). Also there is pretty good flamenco dance bar called Rosa Villa just 3 mins away in the next lane. So we enjoyed a great mixture of history with contempory combo sightseeing+shopping! I would recommend this place for travelers of every-age group including family. BTW for people on budget there is shop nearby where you can have a very cheap breakfast for 1.5 euro puffs+beverages!

Room Tip: Choose the streetfacing room! I loved clicking pictures from there
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zinniabaruah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Cervelo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hostel was very clean, excellent value for money and in a good location. Close to a metro stop with most sights close enough. Unfortunately they don't do breakfast , but there is a lovely coffee shop with sandwiches and croissants. I have used this hostel four times in about 10 years, friendly staff

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hostal Cervelo is within easy reach of several Metro stops which makes it very easy to access. It is in a good part of town for tourists, but may not be ideal from a safety perspective if you're travelling as a single female. We arrived at the main property and were told that we were going to be accommodated at the second property which is just down the street (this is quite common in Europe). The second property has been renovated and the room was excellent - more like a hotel room than a hostel. We had a twin room wtih private bathroom and it had everything we could want. The kitchen and laundry were on the floor below, and 24hour reception the floor below that. You didn't have to go through the reception to exit the building, and this resulted in a somewhat clinical feel - again more like a hotel than a hostel, which is probably fine for most travellers. The kitchen did not appear to be well equipped but had the basics, again probably not an issue for most travellers.

I marked sleep quality down as there was an 'emergency' light in the room that was impossible to turn off - this was no problem with an eye mask, but could be problematic for a light sleeper.
Cleanliness was very good, fresh towels and room serviced daily. Service at reception was adequate but not engagin - available 24hrs which is helpful. Internet connection excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourist82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

i've been here for one night. the room was clean, with air condition, a bit small and the bathroom to, but it's ok. the staff is verry friendly and there to help at any hour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hostel has been a very comfortable place where to rest. In a very central position, it is very clean, you have your own bathroom and free Internet wifi connection! The personel doesn't talk too much, but obviously if you need help, they are there to give you assistance. You have lots of different bar or place where you can have breakfast or lunch. It is also very near to the metro station (anton martìn, exit "impares" for the first arrival). Very good prices as well!
I do suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank this is f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hostal Cervelo is located near all the major attraction and sites in Madrid. Within walking distance from the Atocha rail station. They provided exact information on how to get to this location from the airport via rail and it was easy. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great value. If you are looking for a 4 start location, this is not it, but if you are looking for a good deal, safe, clean and in a central location to Madrid, this is it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Although the location of this hotel is excellent, particularly given its price, we got little sleep for the two nights we stayed there. We were in one of the rooms near reception overlooking the main road. Whilst the the busy street was fairly noisy this was nothing compared to the buzzer used by guests in order to enter the hotel. Throughout the night we were continually awoken by the sound, similar to an alarm clock without the button to switch it off!

All in all a great location but our stay was ruined by the terrible sleeping conditions. Would be hesitant to recommend, possibly better for groups of travellers rather than couples.

Room Tip: not near reception at all costs
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan2378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#127 of 438 in Madrid
799 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Castilla I
Hostal Castilla I
#108 of 412 in Madrid
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Atocha Almudena Martin
Huertas
Hostal Sol Square
Hostal Sol Square
#84 of 278 in Madrid
21 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Abadia Madrid
Hostal Abadia Madrid
#28 of 412 in Madrid
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cervelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cervelo

Address: Calle Atocha 43, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 412 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $70 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cervelo 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Cervelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Cervelo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing