We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of things and yet quiet and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #47 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Hotel Europa was the first 5 nights of our 2 week vacation and we used it as a base for touring Madrid as well as day trips to Segovia and Toledo. The hotel was incredibly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel has about 100 rooms, but has the feel of a place that is about 40 rooms. It sits right off the Plaza del Sol which is an easy spot to catch the Metro, taxi, or city tourbus. Rooms are very up to date and good size. We asked for a quiet room and had no complaints. Bathroom is also very large and entirely marble. In a city where rooms can get pretty expensive this is a very good value. The restaurant downstairs is really convenient, offers a good breakfast, and all other meals. It may not be the best in Madrid, but sure comes in handy when you've had a long day and just want some good food without traveling far to get it. Restaurant staff are also friendly and fun. In the evening they put out what seems like 100 tables on the sidewalk for enjoying tapas, cocktails and people watching. The very busy pedestrian walkway outside the hotel is right in the middle of lots of shopping and restaurants. We found the 20 minute walk to El Palacio Real to be easy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas-Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,654)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,773 - 1,779 of 2,656 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2009

We chose this hotel based on the recommendation from one of those popular travel books and followed it up with the reviews here on TripAdvisor. I concur with the reviews reported here that it is a great location and value. The rooms are clean, the staff is helpful, access to the internet is nice and Cafe Europa is a great place to end the night. We did not have breakfast include and usually made our way around the block to La Mallorquina for some pastries and coffee to start the day. My only warning would be if you are a light sleeper the first floor room facing Calle de Carmen can get a little noisy during the night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

You can't beat the location and value of this hotel. That makes up for any small things that might not be perfect with this hotel. It was very easy to walk to many of the sites from this hotel and it is literally just around the corner from the metro (the station is Sol). The staff was excellent. They helped answer any questions we had and spoke great English. The room and bathroom were large. The only complaint I would have is the beds weren't all that comfortable. The free internet and computers downstairs were nice too. All in all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerBBB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

This hotel was right next to the Puerta del Sol and close to metro stops in the middle of Madrid. The room I had was very large for European standards and so was the bathroom. I didn't have a view, but that was ok as I heard that rooms that overlooked the street or plaza were very very noisy.

The staff was friendly and helpful and even helped with arranging transportation on the shuttle to the airport. There is a department store right nearby. The breakfast wasn't too great - not much choice.

**The air conditioning is central air and doesn't go on until May 1. Problem if it gets hot before that day. Free internet in the lobby (two computers) which is a big plus.

The only annoying this is you are supposed to turn in your key each time you leave the hotel - I personally don't think it's very safe - how are they supposed to remember who has what room

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

My sister and I treated our mother to a trip to Spain. We spent the first three nights of our trip at Hotel Europa and then returned there for our last night in Spain. Both stays were outstanding. The rooms are average sized by European standards, however, they are very clean and neatly appointed. The staff was always helpful. There is a cafeteria at the hotel and not only was their food and sangria good, but the staff there was friendly and funny. Best of all, Hotel Europa is located at Puerta del Sol, which is really the starting point to any journey in Madrid. The metro, Sol station, is a very short walk from the hotel. Hotel Europa is an unbelievable value . I will definitely stay there when I return to Madrid and hopefully that will be soon.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmelovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Overall modern, clean and light hotel in an unbeatable location - This was our last stop after two weeks touring France and Spain, and we were very pleasantly surprised at the excellent overall quality and service of this hotel. Without hesitation we highly recommend it !

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Besttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We travelled for a long weekend in Madrid and this hotel is perfectly placed to do that!

Service was great, they even carried our bags up to our rooms for us on arrival. Rooms were large and clean.

Only thing I would point out is that they are currently doing some building work around Sol, so our room normally would have looked out onto the beautiful square, however it actually had a sheet over the front of the hotel - so no view. However the windows did manage to more or less block out the noise, so it was fine.

I would definitely go back there if i return to Madrid and I loved Madrid so no doubt I will!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolves83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#65 of 438 in Madrid
1,729 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 438 in Madrid
3,038 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#85 of 438 in Madrid
1,137 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#20 of 438 in Madrid
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $114 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing