We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position and very well run.”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #42 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great position and very well run.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

What a well run hotel. The staff were extremely helpful without being over-effusive. Terrific location. Our room overlooked the Puerta del Sol. When you opened the double glazed doors a roar of happy voices entered. Excellent place for those with wheelchairs.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Spookie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    1,001
    136
    28
    19
See reviews for
639
1,147
195
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel really is perfectly located. Metro station is in the main Sol square the hotel overlooks, with Taxi's just across the road. Perfect walking distance to the Palace (5 minutes), The Plaza de San Miguel (best place to experience market tapas) and many other local restaurants and bars.
We arrived at the hotel at 10am and they allowed us to check in which was perfect (we expected to have to wait until at least afternoon)
We booked a room overlooking the square which was great, Lovely to stand on the balcony in the evenings. The square stays busy until very late at the weekends so bear this in mind if you are a light sleeper.
Comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, Great power shower in the bathroom too. I emailed the hotel prior to staying to request a double bed, this was accommodated.
The hotel has a cafe located directly outside (on a side street to the square) which gets the sun in the afternoons.
Although a lot of people say the reception don't speak that good English, I have to disagree (maybe different staff on duty) I sprained my ankle whilst in Madrid and the reception staff were able to advise a good pharmacy to get good painkillers and a support brace with no trouble.

We used the metro the whole time, including to and from the airport, and found this so easy and cheap, We visited the Bernabeu stadium and this cost us 1.80 euros each way (approx 6-8 stops I think?) Very cheap!

Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3010_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Europa for three nights during the first week of March. The location was perfect - right off Puerto del Sol, so convenient to all the major Madrid sights. We had sugar ants (hormigas) all over our floor the first morning, so they moved us quickly to another, smaller room but did not discount the room rate since we had already pre-paid. Our travelling companions also had ants in their room, although not an infestation like we did. The staff was helpful, but not warm and friendly as I've come to expect from other family run hotels in Europe. The room itself was basic and comfortable, which is totally fine. If you get a room with a view of Puerto del Sol it will be VERY noisy at night. The cafeteria next door is decent, but you can find much better food a short walk away. Hotel Europa is a good hotel, but I would probably choose another one if/when I visit Madrid again.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room instead of a view room if you don't want noise all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good average rooms. Clean, good size. Two single beds pushed together was a bit of a surprise, but we had great sleeps. The rooms were not very sound proof at all. Thankfully we were not near the elevator. We LOVED the fact that our room opened up onto the square. The doors that open were excellent for sound proof, so even when we finally went to bed and the square was still bumping in the early hours, it wasn't noisy.

The location of the hotel was fantastic. Couldn't have asked for anything more. We were able to walk to everything. Great shopping right outside the hotel, close to many of the 'must see' places in Madrid.

The hotel staff were fairly helpful, but not overly friendly, no matter who was working. Most often it seemed like we were bothering them. Comparing the service here to 3 other hotels we stayed at on the same trip, we certainly didn't get the warm and fuzzy feeling from them. That being said - we wouldn't limit that from a decision to stay there again, or recommending against it...but just something that they can do better.

I had seen the ratings on TA for 4 stars. It is a 3 star hotel - it's the location that gives it the bump.

We WOULD stay here again, but it's not a luxury hotel if that is what you are looking for. Basic room, very comfortable beds, even though they are singles....Good bar/café in the lobby as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LANDASTEWART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Besides having the best location in Madrid with metro/bus/taxis within a few feet from the hotel, the staff is professional and helpful. Took the Airport Express bus, 5 euros from Barajas to Plaza Cibeles and taxi to hotel in Puerta del Sol, is walkable but rain and heavy luggage makes for a fast decision to take transportation and is only a few euros. Have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have been able to get room no matter how early we've checked in. Rooms are spacious and super clean. Will definitely keep coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlitli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Always an excellent Hotel - it is in an excellent location, the service is very good, and its very clean. The rooms are a decent size, always extra blankets and pillows, good TV in room, good safe. Always hot water when you need it. It has a bar/café attached which serves a good breakfast (you have to pay extra for this) and you can get a wide range of food and drinks in here. Its right on the Puerto del Sol, and right by the metro - its a couple of metro stops from Atocha station or a 30 minute walk - which is also very pleasant. Its a few minutes walk from Placa Mayor. Free WifI in all the rooms. I have used this hotel for over 12 years and its always been a good place to stay. Recommended 100%.

Room Tip: If you chose a room over looking Sol and it could be noisy - but only when you have the window/doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

First stayed in this hotel in 1999 before it got renovated. I'm very impressed with the overall improvement. I work for a major airlines so I have stayed in a lot of hotels and can say the rooms are very nice and spacious, bathroom amenities very nice and free Wi-Fi. It has the best location and just recently stayed there again for two nights on February 2014. Staff very helpful, friendly and all speak English. A very nice touch is "ICE" is available in the adjoining restaurant. El Corte Ingles dept. store is across the way and has a grocery store in it. You won't regret your choice.

Room Tip: Room 224, 225 looks out to the Puerta del Sol plaza, I heard 231 is a corner room. I think 222 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Islandflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#56 of 435 in Madrid
1,695 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 435 in Madrid
3,794 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,977 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 435 in Madrid
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Mirai, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing