We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option if you can get a deal”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #119 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good option if you can get a deal”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the Regina recently for the second time. Overall it's a good hotel, with very efficient and friendly service from all the staff. The room we had this time around wasn't quite as good as the first time as it was at the back where some works were being done, but the room itself was clean and comfortable. Some of the furnishings could do with an update (the carpet on the stairs was very worn!) and it was a little noisy as most of the floors are wooden so the sound carries a lot.

The location of the hotel, however, is excellent - walking distance from almost all the major sights of Madrid. Sol is just five minutes away on foot. If you can get a cheaper than normal deal at this hotel it's well worth it as you will spend less on transport. The hotel will also look after your bags securely when you check out, until you're ready to go to the station/airport etc. which is always a good service.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant as there are plenty of places around to eat out, but it looked good, although a little expensive. One thing which could have been improved was the speed of the wireless internet. This was free, however where we were it was very weak and very slow. Apart from that, a very good option for a stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top - they tend to be quieter and normally have a small patio too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness
and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
Hopefully you´ll visit us again.
Kind regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,525
    1,407
    346
    106
    66
See reviews for
605
1,609
241
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Regina twice in June on business. The 1st trip was for 5 nights and myself and my colleague had a room on the 4th floor facing the main road and the room was fantastic. It was extremely modern, very spacious with a separate toilet and shower room, the rain shower was brilliant :) The bed was very big and most importantly comfy, what you need after a long day. The windows had electric shutters which blocked out noise and the early morning sun. The room had a flat screen TV, great access to the free Wifi and also a coffee machine. Every day there were clean towels and the room was spotless.

A word of warning, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations so in the evenings it could be quite noisey with building work going on but it generally finished by 7pm. During our stay they renovated the bar which was a shame as we only used it one night, this affected the breakfast room but it was located to another floor in the hotel.

Breakfast was great, such a big variety from cooked food such as eggs, beans and bacon to your traditional continental breakfast.

My 2nd trip to the Regina was a different story. I was on the 6th floor and the room was not great. It hadn't been modernised and was extremely dark with a little window where the shutter would not open. I didn't have any towels and the shower just leaked all over the floor. I was extremely disappointed after having such a great room on my 1st visit. I only stayed one night though which was a relief.

I would stay here again but I think it's pot luck which type of room you get, I am not sure if the hotel is renovating all rooms, it's maybe worth asking when booking. Overall though it was a great hotel and I would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sianypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear client,
First give you thanks for your time.
We're glad you had a pleasant stay. We are working to improve
and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and excellent service.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
235 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The location and the bathrooms is this hotels main feature. The hotel is located right on the exit of the Sevilla metro stop, giving it a very easy access no matter where in the city you are coming from. The bathrooms are quite large, especially the showers that could easily fit two people even if I had a singles room. The wine is cheap in the hotel bar.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the room and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My sister was staying at Hotel Villa Real at the same time for double the price, and there is next to no difference in the style or services. Regina is well-located, the service is friendly and efficient, the food good and the rooms clean. It's quite stylish enough and all around an excellent deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear client,
it,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the cleanliness and location of the hotel.
we thank you very much for your feedback.
Cordially yours
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
423 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is strategically located in the center of Madrid (close to metro station, close to Puerta del Sol) and allows you to visit practically the whole city on foot or by metro.
The rooms are small by North American standards but are clean and have all of the modern amenities.
The hotel features a restaurant and a bar in the lobby; prices were reasonable.
The staff at the reception desk was courteous and very helpful and provided good advice on activities and excursions.
I was visiting with friends and we had a great time and really enjoyed this hotel as our base to visit Madrid as well as having tapas and drinks at the bar in-between visits.
I highly recommend to anyone visiting Madrid and is looking for value accommodation relative to the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear client,
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location, cleanliness and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
Let´s hope to welcome you again,kind regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

great location- central to everything. busy hotel in the heart of madrid. while this is not a 5 star hotel the rooms were very nice and very large. and for 75 euros I consider it a bargain. great choice in Madrid. you can't go wrong here for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayton j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the room and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The good - great location, helpful staff, restaurant, room service available, mini bars in room, very clean, good pillows, bank machine right outside hotel door, 40% discount given for breakfast in restaurant, personal assistant can help with arranging tours, recommendations in events, etc, housekeeping minds the do not disturb sign on door, and the blessed plus of NO problems with the wifi at any time during my three day stay.
The bad - the hair dryer didnt work, ants in my room, not so comfy beds. Didnt complain to management as didnt want to waste a single minute of my limited time in Madrid, couldnt be bothered to wait for these things to be dealt with. So to be fair, I didnt give them a chance to correct these issues.
I heard other guests at about 5:am (VERY clearly having a great time), but dont know for certain if due to thin walls or just inconsiderate guests. This can happen anywhere regardless of wall density, loud people are loud people anywhere. Besides this I found the hotel fifth floor very quiet. I do feel safer with a latch on the door, which wasnt available here, but again, just a personal preference.
I believe I was in the old section of the hotel.

I would stay here again, and recommend it, found it a good place and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2SeeThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we take note of your recommendations.
We hope welcome you again in your nect visit to Madrid.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 435 in Madrid
2,496 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#63 of 435 in Madrid
1,677 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 435 in Madrid
1,592 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,939 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#91 of 435 in Madrid
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing