We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #125 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Regina for 5 nights and were very satisfied with it. We asked for an interior room because we had read about street noise being an issue. We were given a room on the first floor in the back part of the hotel. It was near the elevator but far enough that we only heard people if they were particulary noisy, and it never prevented us from sleeping.

The room was on the small side but we didn't spend much time in it. It appeared recently remodeled and was very clean. The bathroom was one of the best of the six different hotels we stayed in on our 2.5 week tour of Spain and Italy. The shower was awesome with good water pressure and a door that closed securely so water did not leak out onto the floor (found this to be an issue in several of the hotels we stayed at). I liked that there was a window in the bathroom that we could open and let the humidity out when we showered. The closet was adequate. I would have preferred a little more space to put our luggage. There was only one luggage rack so we had to put the other suitcase on the desk, but it really wasn't a major issue.

We didn't eat at the restuarant so I can't comment on the food.

The staff was nice enough...sometimes seemed a little too busy for us, but the concierge was great. We decided to go to Seville for one night, and he was very helpful in finding us a hotel there based on what we wanted and also helping us book train tickets there. He was helpful about stuff to do in Madrid and Seville.

The location was PERFECT for us. We walked almost everywhere from the hotel. When we did take the subway, it was nice that it was right outside the front door. I felt completely safe coming and going from the hotel at all hours.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, in the same room for that matter.

Room Tip: A room off of the street in the back of the hotel for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear client,
It,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the staff as well as the cleanliness and location of the hotel.
We thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to see you again
in your next visit to Madrid.
Cordially yours,
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 3,553 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very comfortable hotel really well placed in the centre of Madrid. 5 minutes walk from Sol and easy walking distance for the Prado, Plaza Mayor and other tourist sites in the centre of Madrid. There is a restaurant at the hotel, but there is also a very comfortable cafe attached to the foyer which is cheaper and more informal. We used the cafe for breakfast and ate out in the evenings. Staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. We had a very comfortable few nights here and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
restaurant/bar and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff during your stay.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Thank yoy again for choosing us.
Kind regards.
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was happy with everything about this hotel; service, breakfast, spacious and clean room and most importantly it's right in the centre, in a walking distance from everything, next to a metro station and close to many bus stops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisavet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the room, breakfast
service and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for choosing us,
Best regards
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good hotel for travellers. Facilities are good with good free wifi. 10 minute walk to Plaza Mayor. Hopon bus stops outside, Metro outside the front door and taxi on standby. Most major sights are walkable or metro available. Service good except in the bar. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room down the rear to avoid main street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear client,
It,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well and location of the hotel.
We thank you very much for your feedback and we hope welcome
you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Kind regards,
Carlos López,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My original booking was at hotel francisco I but they were overbooked--they sent me here instead for one night. I'd booked a budget hotel and was "upgraded" here so I was looking forward to it. A waiter brought me a glass of orange juice on arrival--nice touch after wandering lost in Madrid for awhile. There are basic and upgraded sections of the hotel: I was in a single room on the basic side of things. The room itself was nice--neutral decor, clean, comfortable bed. However, my room felt like it was part of the hall, and I could hear a lot of noise from it, which is one of my big pet peeves in a hotel. But since I was only there for one night, I didn't ask to change rooms--I got the sense that they would have been helpful if I asked to change.

The breakfast was outstanding--seriously terrific. Great location to the sites in the city center as well as the Sol metro stop for getting to the airport or elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear client,
We thank you very much for your feedback and of course if you wish
to visit us again we´ll be delighted to welcome you.
Thank you and kind regards,
Carlos López,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in February, 2013. Got a great price with breakfast on the website, and the real value here is it's location. We walked everywhere in Madrid - a really walkable city and this hotel was right in the middle. Nice little breakfast, only negative was that occasionally the food got cold. Good selection of things to eat. Room was about average, but the front desk was very nice, everyone spoke English, and we got the nice bottle of sparkling wine when we checked in that was a plus. We ate dinner twice in the restaurant and it was probably the best we had all week. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: If you don't like tiny elevators get rooms on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triciammh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear client,
We greatly appreciate the description of your experience at the hotel.
Your comments about our location, service, staff,
quality and price are the best reward and incentive to continue
making our guests stay an experience unforgettable.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid
Thank you for choosing us,
Sincerely,
Carlos López.
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel before doing a bus tour of Spain. Very reasonably priced at AU$400 for the weekend.
Outstanding location as we had 2 metro lines so close, one at the front door and the other 100m away in the Puerta del Sol mall. I loved the street artists in the mall. Lots of restaurants & eateries close by. Starbucks was just 2 doors up. A short stroll to Plaza Mayor.
We had a very quiet room, clean with a comfortable bed.
Staff were friendly & welcomed us with a refreshing orange juice.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
Hopefully you´ll visit us again.
Cordially yours,
Carlos López,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 438 in Madrid
1,761 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#51 of 438 in Madrid
2,778 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 438 in Madrid
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 438 in Madrid
1,926 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#44 of 438 in Madrid
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $95 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing