We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trading comfort for location...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #105 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trading comfort for location...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Only the location is great. Very noisy. Terrible, old sagging beds - you can feel the springs (room 204). No air conditioning in a warm March, so we had to open the windows and listen to the traffic, trash trucks and drunks all night. Carpets and floors are looking old. Very nice staff and a good breakfast.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank isittoomuchtoaskfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear client.
We are pleased that the location, the breakfast and the treatment have been to your liking.
We regret any inconvenience caused by noise, we apologize.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and
excelent service.
We hope welcome you again on your next visit to Madrid and check to see that we have improved.
Thank you again for your time.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    1,370
    336
    102
    59
See reviews for
592
1,571
236
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

When we arrived our bags were taken in for us and to our room. Received the welcome drink and as we booked through travel zoo we were given a complementary bottle of cava which was brought to our room by a waiter just after we arrived . It's not very often everything goes according to plan but this visit really did not disappoint in anyway. We were ungraded to a superior room which has an open plan bathroom and you really need to know your partner well to share this room as not a lot of privacy. But the bed and furnishing was lovely. Our room was in the back of the hotel and didn't have a lot of natural light. The location is superb you are able to walk everywhere. But if you want to see the city the tour bus is directly outside the hotel . Would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends . Need to say the service of the staff in both the restaurant and cafe and reception was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear client.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
We hope welcome you again in your next visitto Madrid.
Thank you again for recommending us.
Kind regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Second time we have stayed at the hotel. Everything about the hotel is great except the fact that Madrid in March is cool outside. The rooms get extremely stuffy at night due to no airflow. The temp at night is in the 30's F but the room has heat option only. The rooms get hot at night but that appears to be a problem in all of Europe due to no central air and not being able to have the fan on at night. We slept with the windows open at night. The room is much more tolerable but now you have noise issues. Location is ideal, staff is friendly, rooms are clean. Cafe connected to hotel is ideal for breakfast and very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, we regret any inconvenience
caused by noise.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.-
Thank you again for your time.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good Location. Modern Rooms, Nice restaurant and bar. good service. They coordinate very affordable transfers to the airport. This hotel is hard to beat. This hotel has free wifi and a great room service menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willypep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear client,
it,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the room and location of the hotel.
We thank you very much for your feedback.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Kind regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on the end of our tour of Spain. We were greeted with orange juice and a wonderfully friendly employee who took our luggage up to our room (he also hailed us a cab and handled our luggage when we checked out). The staff was very helpful, spoke English, and exchanged money. We didn't realize how close we were to many of the popular places in Madrid. Our first night there, we hopped onto the metro (Sevilla is right out front) and checked out the Prado and ate dinner at a wonderful restaurant nearby. The next day we walked about 5 minutes and were at the Puerto del Sol and continued a few more minutes down the road and got to see Plaza Mayor, Orient Plaza, Mercado de San Miguel, then to a tour of the Palace. The metro station also made it easy to quickly get to Retiro Park on our final outing. The hotel was clean and basic. The beds were comfortable and spacious. The tv was a little old, but we didn't mind because we didn't spend much time in the room. The only issue I had was our last night there, some other guests were running up and down the hall yelling at 3 in the morning. Obviously, not the hotel's fault, but the thinness of the walls and doors just made this hard to ignore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness
and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
We regret any inconvenience caused by noise, we apologize for that.
We hope welcome you again when you return to Madrid.
Thank you again for choosing us.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here along with family for a "special" birthday surprise / treat and first impressions of the hotel are lovely.
Well situated and very clean and well maintained, rooms are lovely.
The staff could do with being a bit more helpful and the dining area seemed a bit small for the size of the hotel.
No tea or coffee making facilities in any of the rooms which I found rather poor.
The one big thing that let this hotel down badly was the noise.
We were in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel so thought we would be ok there away from the main road but how wrong were we !!??!!. The dustmen come every night to take the rubbish away at 2am and make one hell of a noise followed by deliveries being made to the hotel.
The noise went on all night and we only ever managed to get to sleep about 5am and then were woken at 7am from the noise inside the hotel from people walking up and down the corridors and banging doors.
Overall we had a lovely time and wont let this experience put us of of going away but would definitely not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear clients.
We are glad that the room cleaning and have been for you.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant
and excellent service, very sorry for the inconvenience caused by noise.
We hope to see you on your next visit to Madrid and check to see that we have improved.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I took the airport shuttle (missed my stop, actually--another story) to the stop and then walked in the cold twilight rain to the hotel.

Although the two desk workers were occupied for some time on the phone, a man from the cafe brought me a glass of fresh orange juice on a tray while I waited. Such a lovely touch after some grueling travel.

I loved the tiny, postage-stamp room. Impeccably clean and peaceful. Did have trouble remembering how to get the lights on using the room key and had to ask someone.

Cafe downstairs was busy and friendly. Got a nice paella and flan and melons with Spanish cured ham.

The desk employee assisted me with getting a shuttle to the airport. Scheduled it the night before and it arrived right on time.

The only thing that detracted from the experience was the sounds through the walls. If I had not been scheduled for an early wake-up as well as jet-lagged, I might have slept through the sounds. As it was, I heard flushing sounds throughout the night, as well as footsteps above me.

The location is beautiful, with coffee shops and museums and restaurants all within reach.

I am happy that I stayed there, even though it was for one night. I just wanted to see the city for myself on my layover, and it's beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear client.
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the room,
staff and location of our hotel.
We regret any inconvenience caused by noise.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you again for your time, warm regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#92 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing