We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #108 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent a week at the Regina, first-time travellers to Madrid, and were very happy with the place. Great location, just a short walk from very good restaurants (for breakfast, try Bar Suecia on calle del Cruz, for wine and tapas La Soberbia, off Puerta del Sol). The service was fantastic, the rooms immaculately clean and surprisingly large. One thing to bear in mind: this is an old building and walls and ceilings are thin, so you do get (at least in the room we stayed in) a live-feed of what your neighbours are up to. Also, the street noise on weekend nights is quite something. However, this is, I guess, something you will encounter with most places in the centre of Madrid - just bring good earplugs. Heartily recommend this place nevertheless!

Room Tip: Perhaps try to avoid the rooms facing onto Calle d'Alcala to cut some of the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomeRomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear client.
It,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the cleanliness and location of the hotel.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a
pleasant and excellent service and your words help us.
We thank you very much for your feedback.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    1,343
    330
    100
    58
See reviews for
577
1,544
229
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just back after 6 days at the Regina hotel in Madrid .
This is a very popular hotel not just with residents but also the locals as there is plenty of life throughout the hotel foyer all day & night.There is no need really to use taxis as all the attractions can be walked from this location. Very comfortable queen size bed & the room also had a small balcony It was freezing in Madrid however there were very cozy blankets laid on if required so did not present a problem . Rooms were totally serviced every day with complimentary wifi & safe Can recommend this hotel without reservation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent two nights at Regina which is perfectly located close to many attractions in beautiful Madrid. Very clean and modern hotel, nice lobby, large, clean and very well equipped rooms with comfortable beds. Super helpful front desk that knows a thing or two about customer service. When in Madrid, will stay at Regina again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kruzers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness
and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope welcome you again when you return to Madrid.
Thank you again for choosing us.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great hotel thanks to Trip Advisor. We couldn't have asked for a more central location with the Sevilla Metro stop right outside the front door and only a few steps to Puerta del Sol and Gran Via right around the corner. Valentin at the front desk was tremendously helpful with everything from tours to restaurants to shopping. The rooms were a typical European size, however, they were modern and clean. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others traveling to Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJH_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
we hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Thank yor again for recommending us.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We had booked this hotel via travel zoo for an excellent price. We were very pleased on arrival with the feel of the hotel lobby - it had an understated elegance and an old style feel to it. This contrasted greatly with the ultra modern room - what a surprise! The only slightly disappointing aspect was the service. We had to go and chase up our bags via the concierge on arrival and the breakfast staff weren't over friendly or efficient. However the location and the hotel ambience, more than made up for this. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchell251106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your time. We are pleased that the ambience and location are right for you. We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and excellent service and your words are very helpful.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Thank you again for choosing us.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is nice and very convenient. The staff was adequate. The room was renovated and decent. The price was nice.

The street noise? That was terrible.

Literally didn't sleep but a few hours at a time while in Madrid - and it wasn't by choice. Loved the city and will absolutely be back but we will find a different hotel.

To note, it appears that the hotel is divided into two distinct areas: 1) renovated 2) not renovated. The renovated rooms are modern and fine enough (albeit cold - heat wouldn't go above anything considered comfortable and the Madrid nights can be chilly) but holy crap, the non-updated rooms look like a combination of 1970's era hostels mixed with a poorly funded mental ward.

Room Tip: be prepared to wake up to house keeping and for them to ignore the "do not disturb" sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaseTheTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear client.
We are glad that the location and staff have been to your liking.
We regret the problems caused by noise, we are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay, we apologize for it
We hope to see you on your next visit to Madrid and see that we have improved.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights November 2012 & hotel is great. Got the 50% off room rate so decided to go for an attic room with terrace. Hotel is in a great location, just up the road from Puerta del Sol. Everything is within walking distance from here, however, Sevilla metro is just nearby should you need it.
All the staff were very friendly & helpful & room was kept spotlessly clean by housekeeping. Cafe was good for coffee & snacks & reasonably priced. Transfer arranged to / from the airport by the hotel was quick & efficient & saved having to drag suitcases on the metro.
Would stay here again if we came back to Madrid.

Room Tip: Room 605 had a huge terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gobofraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope to see at soon on your next visit to Madrid.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#36 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#97 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#47 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#94 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing