We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel & excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #105 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great hotel & excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights November 2012 & hotel is great. Got the 50% off room rate so decided to go for an attic room with terrace. Hotel is in a great location, just up the road from Puerta del Sol. Everything is within walking distance from here, however, Sevilla metro is just nearby should you need it.
All the staff were very friendly & helpful & room was kept spotlessly clean by housekeeping. Cafe was good for coffee & snacks & reasonably priced. Transfer arranged to / from the airport by the hotel was quick & efficient & saved having to drag suitcases on the metro.
Would stay here again if we came back to Madrid.

Room Tip: Room 605 had a huge terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gobofraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope to see at soon on your next visit to Madrid.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    1,370
    336
    102
    59
See reviews for
592
1,571
236
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wow - that's all I can say about this. It's perfectly located in the heart of where everything is in Madrid. It's also convenient to the Metro (Bank of Spain stop) and Plaza Cibeles (airport express bus). It's off the Gran Via, Puerta del Sol, etc. My room was small (which is what I booked), but completely functional, modern and clean. My only complaint was the heat. I think this is one of those European hotels that turns off the A/C system starting in November. Unfortunately, it was quite warm and I couldn't get enough cool air, even with the window open

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBOskiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear client.
We are glad to know that you have a pleasant stay with us,
due to the room as well and location of the hotel.
I regret the inconvenience for a/c. I apologize for it.
We thank you very much for your feedback.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just returned from 7 nights at the Regina. Great location, great staff (from the front desk to the women who cleaned our rooms), great lobby, great hotel! We have traveled all over Eurpoe, and the Regina is as good as it gets for the reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arts57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
Thank you again for recommending Regina Hotel.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked for three days. we read the reviews and decided to give it a try because of the location. we were happy we did. The location was close to everything. The rooms were large and updated. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to anticipate your needs. We had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rademasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear client.
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the room, staff
and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again Regina Hotelin your next visit to Madrid.
Thank you again for your time.
Warm regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Cute boutique hotel located in the heart of Madrid, close to Sol. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and city square. Concierge and front desk extremely helpful. Take Metro from airport to hotel directly, save $ on cab and more for shopping and eating. We got a free upgrade to a deluxe suite, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Be nice to front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghui604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is in the center of Madrid. Walking distance to all attractions. They have excellent service. They also had the best price out of all the hotel I visited in Europe by far. The hotel gave us a free upgrade to the premium room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you for your feedback. Your opinion is very important for the hotel.
Thanks also for the photos you attach to your observations.
We sre glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to see you at soon again when you return to Madrid.
Kind regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

It takes approximately 20 mins to get to Hotel Regina from the renfe train station using the metro. There are two Metro stations you can get off at but if you have lots of luggage its best to get off at the Sol Metro stop (4 stops from renfe) as this station has a lift. Alternatively change lines at Sol Metro and get off at the Sevilla metro stop. Sevilla metro is literally at the front door step of Regina Hotel however it does not have a lift which means you have to carry your luggage up a load of steps.
Our room was very clean and had adequate space for our luggage. Our room was located on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel. In the lane way outside our room there are big rubbish bins and we were woken up at approx 2am every morning by the garbage truck emptying the bins.
Can’t beat the location as it’s only a short stroll from Puerta Del Sol. As previously mentioned the metro is at the front door step so easy to get about on the metro.
There are two restaurants in the hotel where you can have breakfast. One is a buffet and the other you order off a menu. We ate at the restaurant where we ordered off the menu and it was quite good. Would definitely stay here again but would request a room higher or on another side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a higher room to avoid outside/alley way noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear client.
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important for us.
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the cleanliness and location
of our hotel.
We regret the inconvenience caused by noise.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you again for your time, warm regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#92 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing