We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ubication”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal INTER Plaza Mayor
Ranked #395 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hostel is perfect for a touristic travel, nothing luxurious of course but it was a good surprise and the staff was friendly. Perfecto for travelling with friends and short trips. For the price offered it is really worth it and the location is simply perfect, it is very close to most of the touristic places in the city center and there are a variety of restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hostal positioned in very good location (close to plaza mayor), good price/quality. If you go for one night it's ok. Only negative point: the room and walls were smelling of smoke, if you have a sensible nose this can be pretty annoying

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank frankyhinrg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spend a week in this hostal ; the location was perfect center of the city with Metro in Puerta del Sol and with walking distances to major landsmarks. The staff very helpful in all our questions also in the restaurant, good food and very good atention. Cristina our favorite waiter. Thanks to
all people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hostel is located not near, but actually in the city centre of Madrid, at no more than 20 meters from Plaza Mayor, and it takes 2 minutes to reach Puerta del Sol on foot. It's totally worth the price, given that the towels are changed every day, the rooms have a shower and the reception staff is available day and night. My room was clean, although I spotted some ash on the balcony. The shutter broke during the last day I spent there, so I didn't have any problem with it (that would definitely have been a problem if it hadn't broken during my last accommodation day, given the windows are not carefully insulated and I could feel draughts with the shutter left open).
All in all, I suggest this hotel to young people who just need a place where to sleep and have a shower. Uh, to come to think of it, I didn't have my breakfast brought to the room, given I was told by a friend it's not even worth the name breakfast -on top of that, there are tons of places where to have breakfast, like Chocolatería de San Ginés serving typical "chocolate con churros" (terrific) and Starbucks, which are located extremely near the hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esivla86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The place, just the place is good. The staff aren`t simpatic and they don´t help you. the hotel is dirty. The waiter at the restaurant aren´t simpatic too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VandaPirassununga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I checked Tripadvisor before booking a room in this Hostal. The first review found was very negative. Fact is the price is low and you do not expect a 5 stars hotel for it. The Hostal is very well situated in the Center of Madrid. One on vacation will not stay in the hostal the whole day. So get out and visit Madrid as it is a beautiful city. You ring the bell and the door opens. You take a lift (not an old stair) and get up to the Hostal. The person at the reception is very friendly and speaks various languages. You get a map of Madrid and good advice where to go if you do not want to spend a fortune eating. We took a small room for two persons. This was a small room but who cares when you spend your day outside. The bathroom has all what you need for two persons.
The room was kept very clean every day. (The cleaning soap used was too strong though.)
This is for the plus points. What I would object though is the smell coming from the sewer through the sink, the bathtube and at time even the window. The window of the room was to a tinny courtyard. Being in Spain you can expect some noise at night. But again "be in Spain" and you will enjoy.

Room Tip: Check if you are on the street or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumsy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I advise everyone NOT to stay at the tijcal hostel...
It is located in a shady street but close to the plaza mayor (which is the only positive thing)
To enter the hostel you have to ring a doorbell and when you have entered you have to walk up worn off old stairs up to the fourth floor...

The moment me and my friend walked in we knew we did not want to stay in this place of disgrace. We checked in anyway and found out that you have to pay 6 euros PER NIGHT for airconditioning, we decided not to since it wasnt that hot weather.

We entered our room which was not at all like on the pictures shown on the internet. It was tiny and smelled appalingly. We decided to air out the whole day but when we came back from sightseeing it still smelt the same we could hardly breathe or fall asleep, our clothes smelled of it several days after....
The bathroom was so small i hit myself at least 10 times everytime i was in there.

When leaving the room i noticed something that looked like a fire exit close by which made me feel better until i saw it said door without exit-- so no emergency exits greattt


We stayed one night and decided to leave the next day to find a new place.. since we had reserved the room for one more night the guy made us pay even though we didnt want to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halloejsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
#261 of 443 in Madrid
166 reviews
Centro
Hostal Tijcal II
Hostal Tijcal II
#363 of 443 in Madrid
214 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#231 of 443 in Madrid
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#230 of 443 in Madrid
227 reviews
Centro
RC Miguel Angel
RC Miguel Angel
#316 of 443 in Madrid
60 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#357 of 443 in Madrid
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal INTER Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal INTER Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Zaragoza 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $37 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal INTER Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tijcal Madrid
Hostal Tijcal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing