We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Adriano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Adriano
Ranked #218 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited Madrid in the end of April for four days. The only disappointing thing about our trip was the rainy and cold weather. But the city is great! I have been looking for the budget hotel with good location and chose Hostal Adriano because I read a lot of good reviews. And I would like to say that everything about the hotel was true. Fantastic location in the very heart of Madrid - everything is within walking distance. Nice, clean, quite big triple room and en-suite bathroom (the bathroom is a bit small but it didn't bother us at all). The only minus was the wi-fi Internet connection. It didn't want to work at the room but at the hall near the router it was fine. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertaFleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    152
    36
    6
    10
See reviews for
50
151
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms on a trip starting and ending in Madrid. For the price, this is a great place to stay. Both rooms (a double and triple) were small, but clean, cheerful and colorful. The beds have comforters, and there is a refrigerator in the room, great for keeping the lunch we bought in advance for traveling early the following mornings. Because of lights outside at night, we made use of the shades on the outside of the windows, which made the rooms dark for sleeping. The staff is very nice and helpful. They emailed detailed instructions for getting to the hostal from the airport, and let us drop off our suitcases well before check-in, even at the very early hour (for Madrid) of 9 a.m. As it turned out, our room was ready, so we were able to move in then. It is in a great location, a few blocks from the Sol metro stop, and within walking distance to many attractions. Some reviews mentioned prostitutes on the street, and there was indeed women who seemed to be always on the sidewalk, but it was not at all a red-light area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aschwartz10100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had decided to visit Madrid for one evening/night during a layover on our way home from a vacation in Morocco. We chose the HOSTAL ADRIANO because it was well-reviewed and seemed to be centrally-located to visit the Prado and have some tapas. Well, our plans were badly disrupted by someone stealing my wife's wallet when we were on the subway enroute from airport to Sol. We arrived at the Hostal within 20 minutes of the theft, and the staff was wonderfully helpful. First, they gave us a room in ADRIANO, rather than ADRIA SANTA ANA, so that we could be close to the staff. Then, on our behalf they called the police "crime reporting line" and helped us to understand all of the steps we should follow. Finally, recognizing that such an event is very stressful, they went out of their way to be sure we knew how to get to the Prado, to recommend a range of restaurants, and to arrange for a taxi to bring us back to the airport the next morning. The room was tidy (albeit plain) and the location superb; these alone would rank 4 stars. But the attitude and helpfulness of the staff was exemplary and pushed our rating up to a "5"!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hostal from trip advisor because of the location. It is 2 minutes walking distance from Sol! Price per night was reasonable and the hostal staff was very friendly. The room has its ensuite bathroom which although small, was very clean and colourful.

Helpful?
3 Thank Arielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived before check-in from our transatlantic flight and they already had a room available to us (a huge plus.) The rooms are nothing fancy but the bed was extra comfortable, and the room was spotless. The big benefit here is the location which puts you right in the heart of madrid and walking distance to everything. Tons of food and restaurant choices nearby. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I only spend 2 days and this is my first time to visit Madrid, The hostel is situated close to the attraction, so you will easy to walk around and save much time. The room is clean and colourful, and many bar and restaurant is nearby. As the hostel didnt provide breakfast, so the only way is to go to near bar to have your breakfast. I also saw prostitutes is standing in the street it is easy to know them.but I think you just need to treat them as a people dont need to concert them, The staff is helpful so if you have any problem they are really to help you. If you like me just have 2 days stay and need the place close to the attraction I think you can consider it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We spend 3 days in Madrid at the Hostal Adriano.
The good...
The hotel was very centrally located, within walking distance to all the main sights & public transport hubs.
The room was clean & nicely decorated.
The price.
The staff were helpful when asked.
The bad...
Lots of prostitutes & tramps & pr's hang out in the road the hostal is in (it's a relief to get back into the hostal!)
There is an incredible amount of street noise at night.
Generally, Madrid seems to be feeling the effects of the recession.
Overall I think the hostal is good value but you need to be able to turn a 'blind eye' to the street life for this to be an acceptable place to stay & in any respect I would never recommend this if you had children.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#150 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#127 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Centro
Hostal Tijcal II
Hostal Tijcal II
#381 of 444 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#281 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Centro
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#271 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Adriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Adriano

Property: Hostal Adriano
Address: Calle Cruz 26 | 4th floor, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#100 Family Hotel in Madrid
#127 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Adriano 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in the heart of downtown Madrid, at just 150 meters from Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. Rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, fridge, Wi-fi, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Adriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Adriano Madrid
Hostal Adriano Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing