We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gloomy, Fussy Old House” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Cerralbo

Museo Cerralbo
Ranked #14 of 742 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Gloomy, Fussy Old House”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a mansion belonging to a 19th Century Spanish aristocrat. Apparently, Spaniards of that status went for exceptionally heavy, dark and ugly furniture and decorations. Everything is over-the-top in an overdone, gaudy way. The art in the building is infinitely inferior to that in the Galdiano Museum, which I highly recommend.

What I did find of interest was the intense, overbearing manner of the staff. Several times, I was ordered to look at the rooms on the second floor in a certain order--I couldn't look at the second room first, even though there was a large group of students in the first room listening to a lecture. Another guard ordered me to put on my jacket, rather than carrying it over my arm. He said I might hit and damage something with it. I thought it was funny since I've been in large and small museums all over the world and never ran into anything like these people.

I visited all the major museums in Madrid and several of the small ones, and this was my least favorite.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank john23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    401
    68
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This Museum is ten minutes walk from the Royal Palace - go past the gardens (with them on your left) and go up the road. The Museum is shortly on your right (across the road) just before the Temple of Debod. I only went as I'd seen it mentioned on TV. It's totally under rated and should be given more prominence in the guide books. It's a fabulous town house with a stunning ballroom. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peterS743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful houses I've ever visited. I particularly loved the sound of all old ticking clocks. I've visited Madrid many times and had never heard if this place. I will visit again as it's hard to take everything in.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting look into upper class living”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This house, which gives you an idea how aristocrats lived, is filled with furniture and accessories. One whole hall contains a collection of armor. The ballroom is especially nice. The house is rather small so it won't take you long to go through it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ramblingnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

A stunning little museum. We were the first customers of the day and had the museum virtually to ourselves. The collection is beautifully presented in the former family home. The perfect start to the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wosog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Cerralbo also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo Cerralbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing