We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great buisness hotel but little else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Puerta de Madrid
Ranked #185 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great buisness hotel but little else”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very clean and very modern, this is an ideal business hotel. As far as any other amenities the hotel falls below any expectations. The cafeteria is sub par and the restaurant closes on the weekends. not what was expected from their adverts.

Room Tip: The best tip is to get a room at the Holiday Inn about 500 meters from the Silken!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    299
    119
    45
    31
See reviews for
110
254
36
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
219 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The Puerta de Madrid is extremely convenient to the airport and the business district while also having some good restaurant options. The hotel itself has a very friendly and helpful staff, is in very good condition, and has sizable rooms with nice amenities. The restaurant, bar, and lobby are excellent for the business traveler. Overall it is a terrific value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JTM125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Quite modern hotel, spacious rooms, good location to reach the airport and the center of Madrid. Available car parking in the streets outside.
Very good relation price/quality
Excellent attention and care from the staff.






  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank João Mário M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great business-oriented hotel, a little off-center. Best news is that if you're going over for a weekend, the rates will be excellent. We slept there 2 nights for 100eur, and got top notch quality. It's pretty central, although slightly far away from public transport. But then again, the taxis are quite cheap, so it's not that much of an issue.
Otherwise, modern hotel, large rooms, huge bed, big bathroom. Clean, tidy and very comfortable. I think it's the best quality you can get for that little money!

A must every time we'll be returning to Madrid!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doculik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a very stylish, clean, beautiful 4-star hotel. The lobby was huge nad modern. The room was spacious, comfortable and absolutely clean. The bathroom offred a nice set shampoos, shower gels, and other stuff.
The breakfats was amazing, so rich offerring a huge variety of hot buffet plus cold cuts (deli meat, cheeses). They had fresh baked croissants, breads and other goodies. They also had a variety of milk, yoghurt, and other beverages.
The private parking I believe was free.
The reception people were very friendly. We needed to pring out our boarding passes for our upcoming flight with Ryanair and they did it for us. They were so kind and helpful, especially Javier.
The hotel is not close to the historic center of Madrid, but it is close to the airport. On the night we stayed the hotel restaurant was closed for some private event, but the staff told us where nearby we can buy pizza. It's 3 min drive from the hotel and it called Telepizza. It's the best pizza we have had in Europe!
Overall, we strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice, modern, clean. Large rooms, good size bathroom. Reception staff are very friendly.
Even though I don't think it really matters whether there is a TV or not in the room, there was only 1 english channel.
There is a bus stop right behind the hotel which is probably the best way to travel into town. the closest train station is about a 15min walk down some of the quiet streets. There is nothing local in the area. So eating and buying any bits will be when you are out and about.
We only booked the rooms so didn't experience what the food was like in the hotel.
If your travelling to see Madrid I wouldn't recommend staying here. It took roughly 45min to get into town. If you decide to take a cab from the airport to the hotel or vice versa you are looking at 30euros roughly. If you decide to take public transport give yourself over an hour as you have to come towards town first and then get a train/ bus.
Tip get a travel card whilst your there its not that expensive and its the easiest way to travel
night buses are very efficient but like london, it's a slower service.

ovewrall very nice hotel but to far out of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Like many other reviewers, I stayed at this hotel just before I left the country to be closer to the airport. I would not recommend it for anything else. The rooms are clean and relatively large, compared to most of the other rooms I have stayed in in Spain. But, this hotel lacks some basics for the 4-star rating it apparently has. Esoterically, it has everything it needs. It's a beautiful hotel and my room was quite clean. However, my room had a tiny television missing the front plate that covers the controls and I was shocked at how few channels it had. My biggest disappointment, however, was that two of the reasons I chose this hotel were accommodations that I was not able to take advantage of: the free WiFi and free airport shuttle. You will not get the password for the WiFI unless you request it and it doesn't necessarily immediately begin working. Also, the password works for only 24 hours. The airport shuttle is such a farce! They have one driver and one van that runs from the hotel to one of the terminals every 30 minutes. The problems with that is that there are 4 terminals at Barajas and it is impossible for the shuttle to go to all the terminals and pick up the hotel guests from the hotel every half hour. So, the first guest to sign up for the shuttle, in effect, decides where the shuttle is going, as I learned. i needed to go to Terminal 4, but the first guest needed to go to Terminal 1, that meant I was SOL. I took a taxi for 24 euros. Which brings me to yet another complaint, I was not helped by the desk staff during my stay. I stayed at the hotel for 2 days and nights. When I checked in, I asked about the shuttle and was told I need only let them know what time I wanted to take the shuttle to the airport. The morning of the day before my trip I called downstairs to make my reservation and was told I needed to come to the desk to make a reservation, because I didn't come right away, I ended up not being able to to take the shuttle to the airport. As long as you have no intention to see Madrid while staying there and you aren't being charged more than $50/night, I think it's a good bet to stay at the Silken Puerta de Madrid. It is clean, quiet, and attractive. I would suggest asking for the WiFi password immediately when you check-in and making your reservation for the shuttle at that time too to be certain you get a free ride.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsindiinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Silken Puerta America
#109 of 435 in Madrid
2,663 reviews
ILUNION Atrium
#93 of 435 in Madrid
928 reviews
Hotel Zenit Conde de Orgaz
#250 of 435 in Madrid
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#111 of 435 in Madrid
664 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#175 of 435 in Madrid
884 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#168 of 435 in Madrid
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Puerta de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Puerta de Madrid

Property: Silken Puerta de Madrid
Address: Calle Juan Rizi 5, 28027 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Puerta de Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Silken Puerta de Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta De Madrid Hotel Madrid
Silken Puerta De Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing