We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chosen for Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Ranked #197 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were simply passing through Madrid and wanted somewhere near the Atocha station. Whilst fairly close from the actual station, it is a strenuous uphill challenge to the hotel if you are dealing with luggage. Going the other way was a breeze. Suggest taxi on the way up. Hotel was good for an overnighter in a city, with a particularly good breakfast. There was sufficient to see in the immediate area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear GabrielaJohannesburg

Thank you for your words. we totally agree. We would reccomend to use public transportation to come from Atocha Station to the hotel. It is very easy. From the train station you change to the connected "metro" station (metro=subway). Take the LINE 1 (linea 1) direction "pinar de Chamartin". You are taking the metro in "atocha renfe", you pass trough atocha and next station "ANTON MARTIN" is the one where the hotel is located. When you are living the metro station, take the direction "Amor de Dios" that is the way out. When you are outside, look for the main street (Atocha)15 meters from your position and don the street in the number 83 is the hotel. Welcome ¡¡¡

We have prepared some special routes to discover our neiborghood, called "barrio de las letras" and the downtown, "puerta del sol" located 9 minutes walking from our hotel. Please ask in reception for the routes "own the city " and we will share the city with you ¡¡¡

Thank you very much and happy week

Antonio Arnedo
Director
Tryp Madrid Atocha



We were simply passing through Madrid and wanted somewhere near the Atocha station. Whilst fairly close from the actual station, it is a strenuous uphill challenge to the hotel if you are dealing with luggage. Going the other way was a breeze. Suggest taxi on the way up. Hotel was good for an overnighter in a city, with a particularly good breakfast. There was sufficient to see in the immediate area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights last week whilst in Madrid for a wedding (the reception was also at this hotel) and it was perfect. We booked a standard room but were upgraded to a premium room which was great, the bathroom was lush. The hotel looks great and staff were very helpful and all spoke fluent English. The wifi signal was brilliant throughout the trip. The wedding meal & party were excellent and everyone enjoyed it. I will stay here again when I visit Madrid next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Drivel

Thank you very much for your words. We are very happy taht we were able to offer you an upgrade for free and as well that you liked our lovely hotel. We love that you have a goof feeling with all the staff and that we were helpfull. Nothing makes us happier that listening to our client's opinion. Thank you very much, I would like to greet you next time in our hotel in order to be able, at least to try, to offer you our best and warm welcome. Have a nice day ¡¡

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Hotel TRYP Atocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We got a great deal on hotels.com. The hotel was clean ,comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Most prefect ws the location. We were within a few minutes of the three great art museums and since that's what we were planning on doing in Madrid it was perfect. Also close to lots of terrific tapas bars the key is just to stay off of Calle Atocha itself. It is a direct but not charming route. The hotel is much nicer than some of the surrounding businesses would suggest ( i.e. sex shops).

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor. It was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Manager at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Beth1908

thank you very much for your words. We totally agree you opinion, we are really near from the 3 best museums in the city, Reina sofia is in the same street (5 minutes walking), Prado is about 10 minutes and Tyssen Bornemisza as well 10 minutes. 8 Minutes to Puerta del Sol and a little bit less to Plaza Mayor. The sex shop you mentioned is not the best publicity for the area, but it is something we can not change. Thank you very much , We wait for your new visit, please let me know in order to take care of you as you deserve.

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Hotel TRYP Atocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

From the start, there was a misurderstanding with the reservation, one of our group was supposed to be sent to a separate hotel, with no prior notice. After a long discussion, we were given a family room (not what we had book), which we could only describe it as an under average (dirty towels, rubbish beds, not enough blankets, etc). Things got worse when we tryed to make it better and contacted the housekeeping service. Instead of providing what was required, the woman can only be described as the most unpleasant person we've ever met - entered our room yelling, said she had no time to listen or do anything for me, and simply left while we were trying to talk to her.
The icing on the cake was the manager, who only said "you should have complained before" (which we didn't, in case of a retaliation). In other words, the worst experience ever, don't make the same mistake I have.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborahfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Deborahfernandes

Thank you very much for your comments. Regarding the reservation when you arrived we tried our best because we did not have your reservation. The company who made the reservation could not make it because at this moment there was not room available to be sold. Anyway we accept you sharing the room with your familly in order to solve the problem. This is the reason why we assign one family room with capacity till 4 persons. We are very sorry if you found some part of our service that we should try to improve. I will take note and I will find out what happend in order to know what to do to improve. We are very sorry, we are here to make your stay better and I am afraid looking of your words that we did not get it.

It seems that it was a misunderstood. Please come to our hotel next time and I will take care personally.

Thank you very much and best regards


Antonio Arnedo
GM
Hotel TRYP Atocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good location, female staff members helpful but, The stay was spoiled for us, as when we tried to pay with our Euro travelcard there was over 24 euros in bank fees. This is a rip off. There is a disclaimer on the bank receipt saying we were offered 2 options for payment, either AUD or EURO, this is not true as it wouldn't accept a payment in euro only AUD, and then they slug you with fees. The staff are aware of this, as i was told I HAD to press AUD for it to work. When I complained to management they reversed the payment and made us pay in cash! Had to wait 3 days for refund to be cleared! As well as having to make calls to our bank.
Also watch out for phone charges, over 13 euro per minute! Public phones down the road cost us 1 euro to Australia for 4 minutes.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dorothy3Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night. We were coming back to Madrid at night only to fly out next morning. SO the location next to the Atocha station was great for us, it is also not a bad location overall. The hotel itsel is fine, it is a bit like a maze like some reviewers mentioned but it did not bother me. Having stayed there for only 9 hours I can not comment much, however if the price range is the same (I paid with points) I would prefer Tryp Menfis in which I staid for 3 nights earlier for both location and quality of rooms.

Room Tip: I had a room looking into the courtyard and it was very quiet, best in that regards out of 4 hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location is excellent. It is very close to Atocha Railway Station and to a Metro Station. The Prado Museum and Reina Sofia Museum and other tourist attractions are all within walking distance. The room was reasonably spacious, clean and neat. The reception staff were helpful and courteous. Packed Breakfast can be made available. Wi Fi connection was good and free.
Breakfast was very good and sumptuous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anindo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#77 of 440 in Madrid
1,442 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#131 of 440 in Madrid
2,007 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#123 of 440 in Madrid
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#71 of 440 in Madrid
643 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#82 of 440 in Madrid
599 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#214 of 440 in Madrid
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel

Address: Calle Atocha 83, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Madrid
#138 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#143 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $102 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL Feel the soul-stirring passion of one of the most exotic European capitals from our TRYP Madrid Atocha hotel. Located in the historical heart of the city, called "barrio de las letras", you can walk to world-class museums, delicious tapas bars, chic shops and exciting night life from our Madrid hotel near Puerta del Sol. Let our staff fill you in on the best the city has to offer. Our 20th-century Madrid hotel retains its original architectural detail and beauty. From laundry and room service to satellite TV and in-room minibars, our hotel offers all the perks you need to chill out in style. We offer sleek guest rooms, family suites with bunk beds and fitness rooms with workout equipment. Kick off your morning with a premium breakfastbuffet, then check email using high speed internet. Feel refreshed with a drink in our lounge and savor tasty bites in our snack bar. IMMERSE YOURSELF IN CULTURE Visit the world-famous Museo del Prado, home to the largest collection of Spanish paintings by masters like El Greco, Goya and Velazquez. Stroll down Huertas Street and discover some masterpieces from 16th century Spanish literature only steps from the hotel. For modern art, see the powerful Picasso anti-war mural, Guernica, at Museo Centro de Arte Reina Sofia or get an eye-popping feast at Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza. Enjoy the green open space at Buen Retiro Park, fullof beautiful sculptures and monuments. Shop the hottest fashions in the Art Deco shopping enclave on Gran Via or dive into the madness of the Sunday market at El Rastro. CONVENIENT AND EXCITING CUISINE AWAITS Do it up Madrid-style and hop from one tapas bar to another, soaking up the vivid colors and the intoxicating aromas in the Ventura de la Vega and Plaza de Santa Ana areas.For clubbing into the wee hours, dance to live music at the funky El Junco or feel the raw passion of flamenco at Casa Patas. ALWAYS READY FOR BUSINESS Our hotel in Madrid offers meeting space for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Atocha Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Atocha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing