We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tryp Atocha Madrid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Ranked #192 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tryp Atocha Madrid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed two nights in this hotel. It was a lovely hotel, the room was clean and the beds were comfortable and the bathroom well stocked. The breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit and good coffee. However when I got there there was no internet and no telephone connection. I told the reception and they would get it fixed the next day, as I had arrived very late. The next morning, I aslo discovered that there was no hot water and the safe did not work. At breakfast I also let the reception know. In the end, they only fixed the telephone, the least of my worries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erynmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    506
    227
    86
    42
See reviews for
188
394
76
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Perfect location. Within walking distance to the Atocha railway station, Plaza Mayor, Botanical Garden, Puerta del Sol, Parque del Retiro.....

There is a metro stop in front of the hotel, so you can easily travel to other parts of the Madrid.

Breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldmatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A four star hotel generally provides you good service and clean rooms. Tryp atocha a part from having these characteristics is different from the other for 2 things.
1) The special warm and kind welcome you in the hotels. All the staff is incredibly kind and makes you feel really assisted.
2)Breakfast is really generous.
Wi-fi is free and it's not so common in Spanish hotels.
Metro station is just outside the door.
A pay parking is placed in front of the hotel.
15 mins walking from plaza mayor.
5 mins walking (downhill) to atocha
5 mins walking to reina sofia.
What else do you need??

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Living in Spain means loads of places to go visit, this time I decided to take the AVE fast train from Malaga, if you have not traveled on the AVE it's a must do trip.
The hotel is at the top of a steep climb, ok going down but if you have luggage or after a day sight seeing it's a bit daunting! I found the bus stop just a few yards from McDs very handy 3 buses stop almost outside the hotel.
I can agree with most comments here, but as we normally only use hotels as a base I found it ok, my room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast sellection was more than adequate.
But if you really want to get the most out of your trip I would suggest using the city tours bus it stops outside McDs and you get to see a lot more than just walking around

Room Tip: If you decide to try the AVE use a travel agent they can do sort out a train+hotel deal much cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've stayed at the Tryp Atocha on two occasions and both times have been very happy with their service and the accommodations. It is the perfect location to get to the Atocha train station and the Plaza Mayor. It also has a metro stop right in front of it which is very convenient for travel to other parts of the city if desired.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waltinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Although located on a slightly scruffy street, this hotel has many advantages.It is within short walking distance of the railway station or a short 2-euro taxi trip (but an 8 euro minimum applies in the city centre). It is also within easy walking to El Prado and Thyssen museums and the Royal Botanical Garden. If instead of turning right on Calle Huertas in the direction of these destinations one turns to the left, the delightful alfresco dining of Plaza de Santa Ana is avalable. On the way to this plaza one passes Casa Alberto, a good-value restaurant. I was impressed by the interior design and decoration of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We got this hotel in our tour to Europe and we thought it was right because it was walking distance to several important places; luckily it was only for one night because the air conditioning did not work and it was 35°C. The next day the elevator did not work as well and we were placed in a room in the annex building in the third floor, so we had to carry our luggage down for three floors, finally they had a problem with cable T.V. in all the rooms, so we couldn't watch any TV . When we complained they told us they were taking care of it as we spoke but next day everything was still the same.

Room Tip: Don't let them take you to the annex building because it is too far and complicate te reach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#60 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#120 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#177 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#158 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#64 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel

Property: Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Address: Ronda Atocha 83, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Madrid
#128 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#143 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL Feel the soul-stirring passion of one of the most exotic European capitals from our TRYP Madrid Atocha hotel. Located in the historical heart of the city, called "barrio de las letras", you can walk to world-class museums, delicious tapas bars, chic shops and exciting night life from our Madrid hotel near Puerta del Sol. Let our staff fill you in on the best the city has to offer. Our 20th-century Madrid hotel retains its original architectural detail and beauty. From laundry and room service to satellite TV and in-room minibars, our hotel offers all the perks you need to chill out in style. We offer sleek guest rooms, family suites with bunk beds and fitness rooms with workout equipment. Kick off your morning with a premium breakfastbuffet, then check email using high speed internet. Feel refreshed with a drink in our lounge and savor tasty bites in our snack bar. IMMERSE YOURSELF IN CULTURE Visit the world-famous Museo del Prado, home to the largest collection of Spanish paintings by masters like El Greco, Goya and Velazquez. Stroll down Huertas Street and discover some masterpieces from 16th century Spanish literature only steps from the hotel. For modern art, see the powerful Picasso anti-war mural, Guernica, at Museo Centro de Arte Reina Sofia or get an eye-popping feast at Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza. Enjoy the green open space at Buen Retiro Park, fullof beautiful sculptures and monuments. Shop the hottest fashions in the Art Deco shopping enclave on Gran Via or dive into the madness of the Sunday market at El Rastro. CONVENIENT AND EXCITING CUISINE AWAITS Do it up Madrid-style and hop from one tapas bar to another, soaking up the vivid colors and the intoxicating aromas in the Ventura de la Vega and Plaza de Santa Ana areas.For clubbing into the wee hours, dance to live music at the funky El Junco or feel the raw passion of flamenco at Casa Patas. ALWAYS READY FOR BUSINESS Our hotel in Madrid offers meeting space for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Atocha Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Atocha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing