We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Feels Despite Chain Multi-Location Establishment”
Review of Taberna el Sur

Taberna el Sur
Ranked #38 of 14,114 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: El Sur is a traditional Spanish Taberna were you can take a menu, some tapas & raciones as well as some drinks and cocktails in a cozy and friendly way. We are NOT a "gourmet" restaurant; but our goal is to offer a high quality costumer services at the best quality / prize ratio with simple dishes prepared with the freshest products we found on the market in a day to day basis. We will be happy to see you on our Taberna. Taberna el Sur
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of a couple of restaurants I had set to dine on while visiting Madrid. The food was delicious and staff very friendly. We had half size ham and cheese platters for starters. Paella and baby squid salad for main entrees. Both were delicious. Wine and beer were good too. We were provided with a small dish of candy in parting and asked to review on TripAdvisor. Take that into account with the number of reviews. However, the food is good and worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank idatater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5,728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 5,728 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A small busy taberna with quick service and delicious sangria! Had such an amazing meal here! Definitely recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank svilchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is no doubt one of the best restaurant experiences I've had.
Amazing service, really affordable prices and food was delicious. Shrimp risotto was top5 dish in my life. Damn!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank robertgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was fantastic, the service was quick and very friendly. Jhoan, Oswaldo, and Chenel were terrific. Will definitely visit again!

Gracias!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Richyfoods24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had Ropa Vieja and Paella, personally I loved the first dish so much. Joan, Chupi and Chenel were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the whole experience, I would love to come back whenever I'm back to Madrid ❤️

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank darii m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna el Sur also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna el Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing