We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice penthouse! (but...)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites
Ranked #5 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice penthouse! (but...)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arrival we were told we were being upgraded from a two bedroom, one bathroom penthouse to one with two bathrooms. The terrace was very large, but extremely hot! Great for an evening glass of wine after the sun has moved round, though. The suites are let down by the fact that you have to ask for toilet paper if you use more than one roll (embarrassing!) There were no washing up cloths etc or toiletries either - although we liked the apartment, I wouldn't call this a boutique experience. We asked for an iron and board (promptly received) but found that some wires were visible and one earth wire was partially bare (dangerous). The ironing board was the smallest I'd ever seen! The apartments are close to many of the main sights and clean - but there's no daily maid service and you have to take out your own rubbish (again - boutique!?!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dacuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We take note abour your recommendations and your complaints. We work hard to make guest's stay as happy and confortable as possible so it is very important for us to know if we are lacking in some details. We hope we will be able to receive you again in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    157
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
291
84
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is modern, with a good location and The apartment we stayed had two bedroom, ideal for family with 2 children, a big bedroom and another smaller for children but also adults could sleep there.
It was clean with very well equipped kitchen.

Room Tip: Book it directly on website of the hotel you would get also a Spanish breakfast in the nearby bar in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novakmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay here and your great comments about the cleanliness and equipped kitchen. We work hard to make families feel like they are home. We will be very happy to welcome you back in the future, in Madrid, Barcelona or new locations.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good place near Plaza De Espana and historical old town, clean room, friendly english speaking staff, fast internet (wi-fi or PC in the lobby), easy public transport acces (3 metro stations all around), full equiped kitchen, quiet place...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaromir_Novak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mr Novak,

Thanks for your nice words. We the staff at Eric Vökel are glad to help guests during their stay and try to recommend the best things and places to go, so we appreciate your comment. We will be happy to receive you in the future, we hope you will come back in any of our locations.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Rooms nice beds a bit hard though. Sparsely equipped, not even a plug for kitchen sink! Had to buy toilet paper, soap,shampoo etc. washer/dryer didn't work , but given access to apartment under Reno so could get washing done, not great but better than nothing. Guy at reception friendly and helpful. Location is good, apartment clean. All in all not bad.

What's with hot water in Europe.??. N. Americans must be spoilt with showers, family of four can't get a decent shower as the hot water runs out, and the heaters on the tanks must be 60W bulbs cos it takes hours for the water to warm up again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Roger,

To begin with let me thank you for telling us how your experience at our apartments was.

We are deeply sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as good as you expected it to be. About the problems you had we want to let you know that anything you require regarding toilet paper, soap, shampoo or any other ammenity that you felt was lacking in your room could have perfectly been delivered by our staff anytime you needed it. In any case we will make sure that none of these hyndrances occur to our future clients and we are thankful that you pointed them out.

Thanks again for having chosen Eric Vökel as your accommodation in Madrid and we hope to see you again very soon.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Upon arrival we were given the wrong room (a smaller one) and only upon enquiry did we learn that we couldn't move to our room till the following day despite being charged full rate. Also had difficulty with appliances and when we asked for assistance received very little. Beds were also very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddletu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all et me thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was.

Second of all we really appreciate that you highlight what has not been up to expectations and we will surely work and take into account all the hyndrances you have run into during your stay.

Thanks again for having chosen us and we hope to see you again.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We loved this apartment - very funky, pretty good location and great sun terraces. Parking (even just to unload) was difficult but we managed. The only issue was that a couple of hours after leaving I started reacting to bites - lots of bites and virtually my entire body was covered in bed bug bites (I'm allergic to most bites so they really flared up....horrible). That explained, after the event, why my wife thought she must have cut herself before going to bed (even though she hadn't) because the little streak of blood on the bed sheet was a squashed bed bug.....yick.

Real shame as otherwise it's a cool place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us.

We are glad that you loved the room so much but we are sorry that encountered with this issue in your apartment, we are very concerned that this happened and we will definitely work on this so it does not happen to any of our upcoming customers.

Thanks for pointing out this trouble you bumped into, it really helps us to keep improving our customer service quality.

Thanks again for having stayed with us at Eric Vökel Madrid Suites and we look forwards to meeting you and your family again.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We are a family of four and stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. The apartments are centrally located within walking distance of Plaza Espanya and Gran Via. They were clean, comfortable and fairly well furbished, except the kitchen could have been better stocked. The only compliant that we had was that their cleaning services were not flexible and the staff were not very accommodating. Even after we had scheduled for cleaning on a particular day, the staff did not do it, stating that we needed to remind them again in the morning of the scheduled day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience with us at Eric Vökel Madrid Suites.

We are glad that your apartment was as you expected it to be although we will work on the inconvenients you pointed out such as the kitchen stock and the coodination between the different departments of the accommodation not to turn into an issue both for you and our upcoming clientele.

Thanks again for choosing us as your place to be in Madrid and we hope to see you and your family again very soon.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#3 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites

Property: Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites
Address: Calle San Bernardo 61, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eric Vökel Madrid Suites has been personally and decorated by Eric in a style that is a unique mix of functionality and the beauty of Nordic design with all creativity and spontaneity of Mediterranean design. Light and comfort create the spaces in the apartments and have the highest level of ecological efficiency and comfort, providing every convenience to make the stay as pleasant as possible. This building is located very close to the famous street Gran Via and easily accessible to any attraction in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing