We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good as the apartments in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites
Ranked #4 of 397 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Puttershoek, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so good as the apartments in Barcelona”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Well having stayed in Eric Vokel Apartments in Barcelona in 2012 I did not hesitate when booking a trip to Madrid to again book Eric Vokel as I was so impressed with their apartments. However, I now regret this decision as these apartments were unfortunately not anyway near so good and this was a completely different experience than the first time I stayed in Eric Vokel apartments. I have to say the staff were helpful enough but in no way as friendly and good as the experience we had the year previously. The pull down sofa bed was lumpy and way to small really for two people to sleep in. The TV did not work properly, we had to ask for more keys and towels and glasses which you would expect to receive when you have booked an apartment for 6 people that it should be equipt for 6. Showering was also a big issue as after 2 had been in the shower the other 4 could expect no more hot water and after the second freezing shower (which as so awful I almost cried) we concluded that the apartment was defintely not up to a standard to accomodate 6 which it is quiet clearly stated to do so.

Will not be so quick to book with Eric Vokel again which is really disappointing as my first experience was such a difference to this one and based upon this I book for a second time with time. I will say that the apartments where clean and the interior design was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Jane,

First of all let me thank you both for letting us know how your experience with us.

We are glad that you chose us again in your visit to Madrid. We take into account all the troubles you had during your stay and we will definitely work on those, especially the inconvenient you had related to the shower's temperature.

Thanks again for having stayed with us for this second time and we do really expect for it to turn into a third time.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    170
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
321
89
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The place is so good and located in the very centre of Madrid. There are many great bars and clubs around, and most importantly, vintage shops! They are my favourite!!!!!!! Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone_wxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Simone,

We are very thankful that you rated us with such a nice grade and also that you told us how your experience with us was.

We are happy that the building's location was as ideal as you let us know.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you pay us a visit very soon.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimanto, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Clear room, antique lift, big bed, and excellent location.
All equipment and amenities were without inconvenience.
If I have a chance to travel BCN, I'm sure to stay again.
Next time, I would stay some more days with my family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ichiroyoshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all let me thank you both for letting us know how your experience with us was and for giving so much credit when it came to rating us.

We really appreciate that you loved our facilities so much and also that the building's whereabouts were to your liking.

Thanks again for choosing Eric Vökel Madrid Suites and we hope to see you again at any of our accommodations both in Madrid or Barcelona.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel would have easily gotten a five star rating based on the following strong points they have:

1. Location - it is just a few steps to the Noviciado metro station and just a short walk down to the busy Gran Via. It also has a few supermarkets around the hotel - including Carrefour Express. A little place on the next block called Bar Express is open early and serves a pretty decent breakfast and the best coffee we tasted in Madrid called Tomas is also just across the road.

2. Facilities - the apartment was spanking clean, spacious and very well designed. We had a double room apartment with all the necessary kitchen facilities (microwave oven, stove, pots/pans and cutlery, dishwasher) as well as a washing machine and dryer. Everything was kept well and clean and worked perfectly fine. A welcome kit included dishwashing soap, laundry detergent, a kitchen towel. We had no problems getting extra detergent (as well as toilet paper) from the reception during our stay. Wi-fi was provided for free and was working excellently with very good reception.

Unfortunately, this review is at most a 3 star because what is most important during a hotel stay is sleep quality and this is a weakness that this apartment has.

1. Yes, sometimes when you wish to have a convenient location, you have no choice but to put up with noise levels as it probably means that you are in a busy location. We did expect this but were still not prepared by how penetrating the sound from the roads and the other guests were in this hotel. This may be very much lessened if you get an apartment that is not facing San Bernardo but unfortunately ours did. We could hear sirens from emergency vehicles and honking and noises from cars through the night and these sirens are extremely frequent. There are also quite a few night spots on San Bernardo so the pedestrian traffic is quite high through out the late hours. We could hear footsteps of guests returning to their own apartments in the night as well as any form of talking (and they were not in any way yelling or making disturbances). Just regular chatting taking place within their own apartments - we could hear it.

2. While you may eventually get used to the noises around the apartment, what was a serious killer of sleep was the extremely squeaky floorboards in the apartment. Any single footstep within your own apartment causes a loud squeak and this hopefully can be somewhat taking care of by management - perhaps carpeting or changing the floorboards? So if you have a group staying in the same apartment - anyone moving or heading to the toilets at night creates a loud trail of squeaking footsteps. The same squeak from the apartments above can also be heard.

This is a really nice hotel but unfortunately if you are a light sleeper or any family member is, you may want to consider another place as it just didn't cut it for us regardless of how convenient and nice the hotel was.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotnose_snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we apreciate your coment about your stay in Spain and we thank you that you share your opinion about our apartments on this website.

On the one hand, we're very pleased about your mencion of our location and our facilities, we gope that you enjoyed it a lot.
On the other hand, about the sleep quality is a thing which we're taking notes for be better in the future.

Finally, we thank you again for have chosing Eric Vökel Boutique Apartments during your stay in Madrid and we hope to see you very soon in Madrid also or in Barcelona too.

Best regards,

Laura Montolio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in a 3rd floor two bedroom suite facing the street. We checked in after 6 pm and used their autocheckin machine, which is supposed to take Amex, Visa and Mastercard but wound up not accepting any credit cards - we were finally able to get our key after grudgingly using our bank debit card. So beware - if you are checking in late and still need to pay for your room, be prepared with a visa or mastercard DEBIT card. The apartment was spacious, but minimally decorated compared with the pictures. The nights were noisy with road noises and large crowds gathering outside the club across the street. We had to steal extra toilet paper from the maid cart outside our room - they only provided one roll for two bathrooms. There were minimal spaces to place toiletries in the bathroom. There was grocery store just across the street where we got delicious oranges for fresh juice in the morning. We were disappointed that the terrace closed at 6PM - we were not able to see it at all. The concierge was helpful, friendly, nice, and spoke English very well. The washer/dryer unit provided was a nice touch. The location was ok - There were several hotels a bit further up the street closer to Grand Via.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnykitty503216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our accommodations with us.

We take into account your notes both about the check-in machine and the noise outside the building. We awoudl also like to tell you that there is no need at all of stealing the toilet paper from the maid cart, we would gladly provide it at the front desk.

Thanks again for staying with us in Madrid and we look forward to meeting you again very soon.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Though apprehensive about booking on the net, Eric Vokel DID meet our expectations. One does get skeptical reading all the reviews. Given the plethora of choices on booking sites, can be very confusing too. We did go ahead, booked on the home web site (is better) and stayed at the Madrid & Barcelona apts of Eric Vokel. Very clean & spotless, these apartments were absolutely comfortable for our family with two kids. Essential kitchenware, dishwasher, washing machine etc made the stay convenient. Agreed the toiletries were bare min. minor + - co-exist. supermarkets are nearby - you could get all your basic cooking ingredients there. In any case, we did not want to spend too much time cooking given the three days that we had. Had a great dinner at the terrace of the penthouse suite. Breakfast - don't expect a hotel buffet. And for veggies - you don't have much to speak of. I would definitely want that to improve. Breakfast at a nearby cafe, a juice, a sandwich and a hot beverage. Eric Vokel has to surely work on this. Reception staff very friendly and provide you with tips that you may want. The auto check in works quite ok. But also noticed that the reception staff were there after six. In short, the apartment met all our wants - Having mostly stayed in hotels during our earlier holidays, this was a welcome change. We would definitely recommend these suites, especially to all our Indian friends.

Room Tip: ask for penthouse suites, if you are ok with one bathroom. has a lovely terrace with deck chairs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parekh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you so much for sharing your opinion about your last stay in Spain with Eric Vökel Boutique Apartments, it can be usefull for other people who wants to come here.

On the one hand, we apreciate your good coments about our apartments facilities, like the kitchen machines and all of this things and we're very pleased that you tought that our costumer service is good in spite of the fact that the reception is open until 6pm.

On the other hand, we're taking notes about your opinion of the breakfast for become better and offer to our future guest the best option to do their stay magnific.

Finally, we want to thank you a lot your good recomendation to your friends and we want to thank you also for have chosed Eric Vökel Madrid Suites for your stay in Madrid. We hope to see you very soon in Madrid again or in Barcelona too.


Kindest regards,

Laura Montolio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I know madrid well and have stayed in many hotels there. In a city as perfect as this, hotel services become unimportant. There is a beautiful city out there to explore and therefore a comfortable bed, space to relax and good location is paramount. Eric Vokel suites madrid are situated on calle San Bernardo in an area called Malasana. Within 5 minutes walk you are surrounded by trendy bars and cafes and boutique shopping. It is also a five minute stroll to gran via if you want to experience the more commercial hustle and bustle madrid has to offer. The closest metro is Noviciado though it also a short walk from placa de espana metro and this is a much easier metro journey from the airport with less stairs and interchanges. We were lucky to stay in a penthouse suite. The rooms are modern, large, extremely clean and have beautiful ensuite bathrooms. The living area is again very spacious and looks out on to a large terrace with stunning views of madrid. Yes, you have to look after yourself in terms of toiletries etc. but to me this is perfectly acceptable if you choose an apartment over a hotel. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and as a whole this is a very classy establishment for people who want a little more space, a little more luxury and want to be in the heart of one the most beautiful cities in Europe. Stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nadeemcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for letting us know your opinion of our apartments.

We are really glad that you found everything to your liking at our accommodations and that also the building's whereabouts came in pretty handy.

Thanks again for lodging at our apartments in Madrid and we hope to see you again.


Best regards,

Òscar de Jesús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 435 in Madrid
1,306 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites

Property: Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites
Address: Calle San Bernardo 61, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 397 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eric Vökel Madrid Suites has been personally and decorated by Eric in a style that is a unique mix of functionality and the beauty of Nordic design with all creativity and spontaneity of Mediterranean design. Light and comfort create the spaces in the apartments and have the highest level of ecological efficiency and comfort, providing every convenience to make the stay as pleasant as possible. This building is located very close to the famous street Gran Via and easily accessible to any attraction in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Madrid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing