We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, great location”
Review of Hotel Cortezo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cortezo
Ranked #211 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay, great location”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

For me this was a return trip to this Hotel and was not disappointed. We had 2 nights after arriving from Australia and the staff were helpful, the room was clean and good (they are small but we are in a big city), the terrace at the top allowed for a good place to relax at the end of the day and watch he sunset. Convenient location to all major attractions and he rain lines. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude040951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    361
    184
    58
    22
See reviews for
152
337
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayeed three nights at this hotel.
Majors touristic spots at walking distance.
Nice view from the roof.
Really noisy though, you hear everything your neighborrs do or talk about.
Room was fairly basic, clean and small.
Overall it is a nice place to stay if you are planning to visit the city, not spend too much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-from-the-moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a visit to Madrid. The rooms were clean. Nothing special but nothing woeful either. Location was reasonable and pretty close to a train station. There is a night club next door but you cannot hear it in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvetteGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arrived at 11am and a large, clean, albeit slightly poorly lit junior suite ready (upgrade so suite certainly helped!). Typical family owned hotel with a homely feel, likable staff, and genuine, personal service.

Positively surprised by the breakfast buffet!

As for the location, a 10 minute walk and you will be in Sol (probably relevant for most tourists), alternatively get the metro (station is a 3 minute walk from the hotel) to go anywhere in Madrid in a matter of minutes.

I will definitely come back in the future. Thank you!

Room Tip: Upgrading to a junior suite might be worth every single cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Me and two friends stayed for two nights, we where driving from Malaga and it was very nice to have a Parking on the same hotel, the room was very clean and the bathroom wide enough with bathtube, we were very close to everything we wished, bars restaurants, shops.... close to Santa Ana plaza, our room was very quiet,(314) even with a disco next door, I heard nothing from the room. with two windows... but if you are looking for views is not your hotel. but for everything else is an exelent choice good price.

Room Tip: If you will be out for the day and stay at the hotel for rest and sleep at night is very good, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night here and when i arrived it looked great! Room was disappointing though with hard beds and no view at all. Breakfast, while good value was a problem as there were no glasses for juice or plates for cereal or toast available as people from earlier times had used them all and no one had replaced them. Location though was great with a plethora of restaurants and activities at the doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Family of 3, who stayed 3 nights. Arrived prior to check in time however our room was not ready yet, no problem. Front desk staff were very friendly. They stored our luggage and the lady at the front desk gave us a map and helped us get acquainted with the city and thoroughly answered all our questions. There's this nice food market near the Plaza Mayor, very close to the hotel. We explored the city for a couple hours before we headed back to the hotel for check in. We returned to the hotel after check in time, however our room was not yet ready. The lady was apologetic but assured us we were getting the best triple room in the hotel. We waited in the lounge and a staff member brought up our luggage once the room was ready.
Our room was 405, if I'm not mistaken. There was a balcony and the room was very big. The third bed was in the entrance room which also had the door to the balcony, a fridge and a tv. There was also ample closet space. In the main room, there was the two other beds and another tv and also an adequate bathroom. My only complaint about the bathroom, would probably be the shower curtains. They need to be a little longer and need some sort of weight to be held down. On the balcony there was a table and some chairs.
The hotel was nice and pretty modern. The hotel is a good location, close to Puerta del Sol, for the metro, shopping and other attractions. We arrived around 3pm one day after having an early start to the day and our room was not yet made. However, as we left each morning we informed the front desk to have our room cleaned early and this was no problem.
The location of the hotel is very busy, always a lot of people. But never once felt unsafe.There is a cinema across the hotel. We took a taxi from the airport and cost 34 euro. We arranged with the hotel on our return trip to the airport and it only cost 30 euro. It was a nice big van as well and a friendly driver. Overall, I'd recommend others to stay here, great value and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheryllea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#47 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#91 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
La Latina
Ganivet Hotel
Ganivet Hotel
#118 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortezo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortezo

Property: Hotel Cortezo
Address: Calle Doctor Cortezo 3, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortezo 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cortezo Hotel is located in the heart of Madrid, just a few steps from Puerta del Sol. Its prime location is close to all the outstanding places in the city such as Plaza Mayor, the Prado Museum and Madrid de los Austrias (the old centre of Madrid). The hotel offers spacious, cosy rooms, solarium, gym, garage as well as a bar to relax in and regain your strength after a busy day site-seeing around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cortezo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medium Cortezo Hotel
Medium Cortezo Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing