We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and location. Set expectations appropriately”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cortezo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cortezo
Ranked #211 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location. Set expectations appropriately”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

For 45 Euro a night (twin) this is awesome value. Sensational location. 5 min to Plaza Mayor.1 min to shops, 10 min walk to most other highlights. Cant beat the location.8 Euro by taxi to main train station. And still rooms are quiet. Our first room had a leaky ceiling in bathroom but we are pretty tolerant. Water was hot. Wifi good.Dropped in and out sometimes but again, just reconnect. Was fast enough. Skipped the 10 euro breakfast for eating out. Better to eat out in real Madrid! Staff very helpful including posting my postcards. Beds ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    353
    181
    56
    22
See reviews for
149
331
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are a famly of 3 persons (husband, wife & teenage daughter) visited Madrid recently and a stayed in a triple room for 4 nights from 1 July 2013. he hotel was a perfect choice for our holiday being centrally located, having clean and comfortable spacious room with adequate toiletries and helpful staff at the reception. The hotel can be compared to be equal to or better than many 3 or even 4 star hotels with regards to facilities rovided, supportive staff and spacious rooms with pleasant decor. The nearest metro station is a 2 minutes walk, Plaza Mayor & Puerta del Sol are within 5 minutes walk and the Royal Palace is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. If you are having light luggage and choose to walk to the hotel from the Atocha station if arriving by train, it will be around 20-25 minutes walk.
It is really a value for money choice considering the reasonable price at which we booked our stay. Would definitely recommend to others and would come back to stay again in this hotel if visiting Madrid in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room at higher floors with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arindam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location. Right in the heart of Madrid and very close to Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol .

Staff are helpful and friendly, especially the guys at the reception.

We were pleased with the room ( 514 ) which was large and well furnished . The breakfast selection was good.


Now for the not so good bits : No English speaking channels on TV ! .
"Double bed" is in fact two singles pushed together that drift apart .

Overall it is a good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side and higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoss s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Probably my favorite thing about this hotel was its location. It's in an area that has fewer hotels and postcard shops, with an excellent bar across the street.
The bathroom was great! It's huge with a tub and two showers. Which proved very handy when we were getting ready for the airport the next morning!
My only fault was the lack of pillows. One each. But I'm sure they would have given me another had I asked.
I'm sure I will stay here again next time I'm in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannisxixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past 25 years. It seems each time it gets better. The location can't be beat... Two blocks to the Plaza Mayor; two blocks in another direction to the Puerta del Sol. Lots of places to see and things to do within walking distance. The newly remodeled hotel looks great and the price is very reasonable. The staff is friendly and accommodating, bilingual and full of helpful suggestions. I keep coming back, and always will.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Toddahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 4 night stay,the location was ideal,central & only 150m from the Metro.
It was walking distance to most of the main tourist attractions & with many bars & restaurants nearby.
The rooms were modern,clean with fridges provided & well appointed bathrooms. The staff were very helpful & the buffet breakfast was okay & served until 11am.
For the price this was excellent value & would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: If you are there at the weekend request a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeomagsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for about a week earlier this month. It is definitely as advertised - a solid 3 star hotel. Staff are responsive when you need them and has all the extras we required, such as converter for electricity for example.

Rooms are small, which is typical of hotel rooms in Europe, but clean and not dated. We did have a very odd smell in our room and never figured out what it was (harsh smelling cleaning products perhaps?). People staying next door to us seemed to smoke quite a bit and the smell would get into our room also. We heard no outside noise at any point but could hear people slamming their doors inside the hotel. Breakfast was mediocre at best. Mini bar stuff was quite pricey.

Hotel is in a great location - within a 2-minute walk from plaza mayor. There is a metro station right in front of the hotel. It is a very safe location and always bustling with people (even in the middle of the night).

Upon check out we were offered services of a shuttle to take us to the airport for a fixed price of 35 euro. Not sure why anyone would use it since there are taxis passing by the hotel at all hours of day and night. We paid 34 euro for a taxi on the way back.

To summarize, Hotel Medium Cortezo will not blow you away, but it won't disappoint and is definitely worth it if the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#45 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#90 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
La Latina
Ganivet Hotel
Ganivet Hotel
#114 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortezo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortezo

Property: Hotel Cortezo
Address: Doctor Cortezo 3, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortezo 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cortezo Hotel is located in the heart of Madrid, just a few steps from Puerta del Sol. Its prime location is close to all the outstanding places in the city such as Plaza Mayor, the Prado Museum and Madrid de los Austrias (the old centre of Madrid). The hotel offers spacious, cosy rooms, solarium, gym, garage as well as a bar to relax in and regain your strength after a busy day site-seeing around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cortezo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medium Cortezo Hotel
Medium Cortezo Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing