We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Taste Of Madrid”

Taberna Almendro 13
Ranked #305 of 10,784 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: La Latina
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Great Taste Of Madrid”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Based on a recommendation from our travel book, my Wife and I found this little place on the back streets of Madrid and I am so glad that we did. My wife can speak Spanish, which was very handy when ordering food and drink. The waitress was very attentive, patient and gave us very good recommendations to help us with our food choices. The food was fantastic and a real experience as we had to collect our food from a hatch, when the kitchen head rang a bell. Both the food and drink were very reasonably priced, although we came here last March, which was probably out of season. I highly recommend this place and we would definitely return to Taberna Almendro 13 when we are back in Madrid.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimmyPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    220
    89
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic breads with Jamon”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not quite the tapa experience but really scrumptious. I advise at least to try one of the many breads they have a long with a fsh drink

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pedroteixeira07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad if only to try once!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant is located on the side street of Calle de la Cava Baja, so there are tons of other choice of tapas restaurants to choose from.
The drink and food in this quite friendly place are self service, you go up to the counters to place your orders and you must listen to the kitchen bell rings to get up from where you sit to pick up your foods (multiple times if your order was not all came up at the same time) then you will ask to pay for your food bill right at the counter. Before you leave don't forget to go up to the bar counter to pay for your drinks because it was not included on the food bill.
Even this restaurant is not on the main street (Cava Baja) but it was busier than most restaurants around that area. So it must had done something right.
Most tables ordered the potatoes chip (just like the potatoes chip in the states) that covered with
en fried egg, cheese and jamon or other meat toppings. It remained us of the Nacho with melded cheese from Mexican restaurants.The grilled meat . Other grilled meat dish and the Jamon Iberico plate was just OK.
The staffs were very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere quite comfortable and relax.
Not expensive but the quality of the food match the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good portions, good price, ok food.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good, but greasy food. Big portions for sure. Someplace you want to go before getting hammered. You get alot for a low price.

The place was also well filled, with a mix of tourists and Spaniards. Was not the best of places we went in Madrid though. Maybe we just picked the wrong dishes.

Staff was very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Spots in Madrid”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The food here is soooo good. I would highly recommend the Pisto Roto as well as the Roscas (especially the pastel de carne, yuuuuum). It isn't a fancy place, and it is essentially self-service: you order your drinks from the bar area, and your food from the window. They call your name/number when the food is ready, and you pick it up and bring it to your table. It is always crowded with locals who live in the La Latina neighborhood, and getting a table can be difficult at times. You basically have to wait/stalk other tables until they get up. It's totally worth it though.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaBurladdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Almendro 13 also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna Almendro 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing