We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of hystoric and cultural interest”
Review of Plaza de la Villa

Plaza de la Villa
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.88*
and up
Guided Walking Tour of Historical Madrid
Ranked #66 of 757 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Of hystoric and cultural interest”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It is great, great architecture, I find it more medieval. It is of hystoric and cultural interest for the building of the old City Hall, impressive building.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crissu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    186
    59
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
220 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not many visitors”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was surprised that this little Plaza was not more busy considering its central location and being on the main tourist routes around the city. The architecture is most pleasant and worth a photo or two. Come back at night for an even better shot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely piece of history”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

15th, 15th and 17th century buildings, even older history for the square itself. Don't miss the chance to visit it with a book or a guide. During the night is beautifully illuminated, quite and inspiring.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quiet plaza”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This plaza is between the Palacio Real and Plaza Mayor. Less touristy compared to Plaza Mayor, in fact we didn't see anyone at all in front of this square. We would have completely missed it if not for the tourist book we had.

Helpful?
Thank CalGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A nice quiet square”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This square was much quieter than some of the others we visited in Madrid, this certainly worked in its favour.

The square is surrounded by some of Madrid’s oldest buildings and it was nice to take in some of the architecture without it being to busy.

It was also a great place to get some photos.

Helpful?
Thank Ynysforgan_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza de la Villa also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Plaza de la Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing